April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

INO

by Nikich - Jam Entry

Yeah, that's my first ludum dare project! I've created it in about 10 hours and I really like my game.
This is the little arcade with simple rules. You should get as much points as possible. There are 4 types of blocks: red, green, blue and pink. If you step on red or pink block, the game will be ended. Blue blocks show all red blocks on the map, when you stand on it. And that's all!
Good luck and enjoy playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#227Audio(Jam)3.05
#232Theme(Jam)3.38
#239Innovation(Jam)3.09
#326Overall(Jam)2.97
#328Fun(Jam)2.75
#350Humor(Jam)1.85
#405Mood(Jam)2.53
#429Graphics(Jam)2.62

Comments

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:14pm

I found it hard to master the controls as they are 45 degrees off, nice game though.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:16pm

I love the music! The game play is iffy though. The thing is, the mechanic necessarily leads to situations where you get killed by things that you never had a chance to see. It's the "first 5 seconds of minesweeper" problem. One thing to try might be giving the red squares a fade out instead of cutting them off the moment you get off a blue square. I never felt that I had enough time to process the information.

Also, controlling isometric games with WASD is hard p_p

Kvisle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Cool concept!

The isometric view made it a bit difficult to control for me, as I'm not used to orienting in that perspective.

dstozek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:20pm

I liked it, although it's a little bit challenging! The goal of the game was a little confusing at first.

slol7896 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:21pm

looks good but hard...

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Music is fun.

drstik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Fun, but perhaps a little frustrating by design. Catchy music! The controls were fine for me, probably due to how many years I've spent playing isometric games with the arrow keys.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:30pm

controls are a little awkward, but i love the music

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Sounds would be great, the controls are to hard (they are rotated 45 degrees) and it's way to hard.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:39pm

My memory skills are so bad :D
Nice little game

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Controls take some getting used to, and not being able to stand still makes things very difficult when you have to think about which button to press :D

cool game though, and nice music

bushmango says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

The music you used (http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Hot_Fire/La_Boite_A_Sons_-_Contest_Contributions/Them_Never_Love_No_Bans_-_DnB_Mix_Germany) wasn't made by you during the competition...

kyru says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Music is great, would've been nice to see score on the game over screen. Neat little game.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:52pm

cant play sorry
error message "excpet violation"

Colisan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

This is... haard !!! XD found the up-down-up-down on a blue block way to see the map... but when you leave the blue block your at 4865mph XD

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Is very hard! good job

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:02pm

There should be an option that follows a control scheme where pressing W makes you move upright instead of upleft.
Pretty fun otherwise

Aksami0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

It was great game.

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:18pm

The gameplay is very original and fun, but the controls really break down the experience.

Smaxx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Yeah, my biggest issue with the game are the controls I think. I'm more used to the other orientation, where "up" means "top right". Other than that, nice idea, although I think the speed should scale based on how many blocks you've uncovered as green.

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:24pm

That was an interesting concept. As "nintendoeats" said, I think it would be a good idea to have a "fade-out" timer on the blue squares.

Also, as someone mentioned, you cannot use music from "free music sites", you have to either create your own music, or use some program that automatically generates sounds.

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Nice game but maybe a little too difficult (and WASD isn't a great choice in an isometric map imho)

Nikich says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/rules/
> For Jam games, you are free to use whatever artwork or content you like (preferably something you have the legal rights to), but you must accept all responsibility for its use.
The license of this track allows everybody to use it in noncommercial projects.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Original, like minesweeper/tron

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Game does not run well under wine :(

http://i.imgur.com/mnCIuNk.png

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32pm

i like the retro style and the isometric , was difficult for me

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Interesting concept

enzo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08pm

The memory aspect of it is super cool. It's like an action version of those memory matching games

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Very minimalist, but the game seems ridiculously hard as the red squares flash up for a very short time, making it impossible to commit to memory. Otherwise a solid concept.

uprightpath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

My main issue, as a lot of people have said, is that the controls are rotated by 45. That, and it'd be nice to have your starting place surrounded by blue squares or something. I had a couple of games where I started with reds within two squares of the starting point (On easy).

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

The isometric view is nice for the graphics, but terrible for the control schema. Other than that, this has a nice pace, a neat simple mechanic, overall pretty fun to play.

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Great job. Tough, and fun! Only thing is that the controlls could have been better. Found them hard to use because of the off angle.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Can't play, don't have windows :(

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43pm

iosmetric view was annoying, controls seemed way off because of it. maybve make it so the character can stop once started. but nice game overall

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Was amusing, music was great!

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10pm

I like the real time minesweeper concept. This is a quite challenging game. The isometric view makes it even harder.

kochb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:21pm

It took me a while to even open the game because of the rar archive format but even after I did the controls were offest.

The music is plagiarized from http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Hot_Fire/La_Boite_A_Sons_-_Contest_Contributions/Them_Never_Love_No_Bans_-_DnB_Mix_Germany

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:58pm

way to difficult! but nice music :)

Danvil says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

The controls are strange with the 45 degree rotaion, but i like the music!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

It's fun, and the music is seriously cool. I'm guessing you might be left-handed as the controls were quite the opposite of what I'd expect for an isometric game. I think the standard would be to use the arrow keys and have "up" correspond to northeast (rather than northwest).

lucasncv says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:56am

Quite challenging! Weird controls.

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02am

Epic game!

Very nice prespective :P

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44am

Unnecessarily frustrating because of the control scheme. I'm used to isometric games being rotated 90 degrees from this.

lukedirago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52am

Reminds me a little bit too much of EDGE and a little difficult. It looks nice though :)

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:20am

Why do you die so fast?

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:10pm

very difficult game, i think it should be simplified a little bit. btw its a good effort for a 10 hours developing time.
good entry!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Its a okay game, but i find it a little boring and a hard

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Cool little game! Almost impossible is play though with the controls rotated 90 degrees.

Stiju says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Nice idea but the controls/view makes it hard to play.
Also took few tries before I understood exactly what to do, would have been helpful with some kind of introduction.

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Very stylish!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:57am

Controls are frustrating, but like the music!

BrothersT says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:38pm

very nice and very simple. mega hard.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Always love isometric games and despite the awkward controls, I liked it overall. Props for the music too!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Took me a bit to get used to the controls but its a very clever and fun premise for a game nice job!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Interesting game, but extremely hard.

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Very nice twist on the Minesweeper mechanics, with cool music. Two suggestions: instead of just changing the grid size, give options to change the player speed. It goes too fast and it's hard to make the right turns. Also, sometimes the game starts right besides a red block and it's an instant game over. Maybe clearing the starting area around the player?

radmars says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:29am

Crashes when I try to start.

blackmagic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:52am

unable to play, please arrows to control scheme.

May 3, 2013 @ 1:43am

Good idea the tilt is hard to get the hang of maybe you could add a setting that makes the game non isographic (think that word was used right).

TaleLore says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:26am

Cool, the controls are bad though.

May 3, 2013 @ 5:02am

Simple but challenging mechanics. I struggled with the controls more than anything though, making it a somewhat frustrating experience. Sleek audiovisual presentation.

Muu? says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:06am

The only bad point about this game were controls.
Good entry overall!

Zhrack says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:26pm

hard controls, but awesome game!

JawbonedHero says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Great idea, but yeah, the controls could use some work. WASD at a 45 degree angle fried my brain :)

fr_automatik says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Good idea, but since the game is isometric + my keyboard is azerty, it was hard to play.
I loved the music!

maloki says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Hard yet fun! Simple enough to lean.

Is it intended that the player can just keep going back and forth between around 3 blocks and patiently try to position themselves? Kind of breaks the frantic feel, but I guess it feels fairer though.

Nice work. :D

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:08am

Music was also made in 10hours?

mrx says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:49am

epic game, really hard sometimes but the good kind of frustration! well done! Good game

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Good stuff. At first I kept dying then I finally managed to get to a blue block and saw the mines.

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Nice arcade with interesting conception. But controls a little confising... I can't figure out where is left and where is right :)

mortl8324 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Controlling was very difficult!

mikeware says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:51pm

The main menu was a bit confusing, I was trying to use the keyboard to select options at first and nothing was happening. Also, you should make the full line select the option, I was clicking to the right so nothing was happening for me either.

The game itself is pretty interesting, but really hard. I feel like your cube needs to move a bit slower at first and also snap to the grid. It's really hard to tell exactly where you are when you're floating between squares.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:10am

wow the controls were really hard -- like the use of the theme, and the simple graphics -- nice effort.

AlexFili says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Wow this game is so hard. Even "Easy" is really really hard. Would have been better if the red squares were added gradually one by one, learning curve was a bit too steep. Good concept.

FREEZX says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:57am

It's pretty confusing since it's kinda rotated, but good game overall.

whilefun says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Very nice idea. Sort of like dynamic mine sweeper, or something. I had fun playing. I did find the controls a bit hard to grasp, as I am not used to using WASD in an isometric view like that. But overall, great. Excellent music, and nice use of the theme here.

dsoft20 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Nice concept, but at first it's a little bit difficult to get used to the controls :P

Make A Game says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:53pm

I like this idea, although it could be somewhat expanded. The isometric view is nice, but it takes some time to use the controls correctly. To make this game even better, I would add at the start of each level the possibility of visualizing the trap squares for a brief moment, so we would not begin the game completely blind. Still this concept can be worked into something even more amazing =) Kudos for the soundtrack too!

frosty says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:25am

The controls are a bit confusing, but this is a nice game for 10 hours. =)

infernet89 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:04pm

I felt a little uncomfortable with controls, and i really needed an animation for the moving cube (like edge), but apart that i really liked our game. Well done for a first entry!

dx0ne says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Great idea. It's hard as hell but I like that I constantly learn map == learn to survive.
There could be some "story" mode with non-random levels so it would be like learning Mario levels for speed runs.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]