April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gist Structure

by Evilion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Make the best possible score by dividing and reforming square, before reaching the essential structure of minimum.

Left Mouse Button to divide squares.
Arrow Keys or WASD/ZQSD to make squares of the cursor color move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Theme4.41
#75Innovation3.88
#232Graphics3.59
#323Overall3.41
#700Fun2.82
#1979Coolness10%

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

Make the squares move faster! That's a core mechanic and it gets awfully annoying to wait for them to slide across the screen. Otherwise I love it!

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:42am

flesh stove <3

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55pm

lovelovelovelove

Robotic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:57am

Not really fond of the scoring system, but I find the theme perfectly represented, and the transformations are smooth.

It's creation and destruction.

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10pm

I realy like the main mechanism but it's a little boring to wait so much time before to perform an another movement

jerombd says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:36am

Nice looking abstract puzzle game! ... but the slow moves break the gameplay :/

_Rilem says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Agree on making the squares move faster, having to wait before I could click again was pure pain, especially when moving across the entire screen. :P
But that's my only complaint, amazing concept. The minimal audio matches it perfectly.

well done!

celiacjoe says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Very beautiful game. it's zen and it make incredible visual composing.

bvanschooten says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:59am

Very original concept that works well. The sound is really atmospheric.

mrexcessive says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Nice pastime.. I like that they can recombine. Great clean presentation.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Really interesting concept. At the beginning it's hard to find a way to play well, but otherwise it's quite addictive! I liked the graphics too. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]