April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ASCIIvader III

by CataclysmicKnight - Jam Entry

Hey, and thanks for checking out the game!

Controls (main mode):
WASD/arrow keys move
E/ESC/SPACE pause

Shooting happens on its own, in the spirit of minimalism!

--------------------

Controls (survival):
Space: change direction

Player DOES NOT shoot (pure evader game) and will always turn to the right. So if you're moving right and hit space, you'll move down; again and you'll move left, etc.

---------------------

Also, yes, this is the third entry, but I made EVERYTHING from scratch except the couple images that were taken from the other. I even re-did the borders and every line of code! I guess I could have simply retyped the two images in to make them "from scratch" too... The other two games were incredibly short (the original made in one day, the sequel for the Zero-Hour game compo)

Also: YOU WILL DIE!!! It'll happen! Collect money and use it for upgrades, or go back to previous levels and get bonuses too! The point of this game is to be challenging; if you breeze through it, then you must have grown up when video games were crazy difficult ;)

ENJOY!!!!!!!! I HAD A BLAST!!!! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#51Theme(Jam)4.00
#112Fun(Jam)3.36
#156Overall(Jam)3.44
#216Humor(Jam)2.36
#246Innovation(Jam)3.06
#264Mood(Jam)2.97
#282Graphics(Jam)3.15

Comments

FlashRocks says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Fun waste of time for a few minutes! ASCII art was a really nice twist (reminds me of my child game "engine," where everything was just a symbol and you could move via wasd :P). Definitely fits minimalism--I liked it!

Tyro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Lovely aesthetics, good job!

Milktoast says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52am

Takes me back to my Apple][+ days.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:42am

Nice job. I loved purchasing level-ups and the ascii art was great.

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18am

It was really awesome! It's a really good time-killer, finished the game completely with all upgrades!

Enemy bullets can be kind of hard to see when your ammo starts getting frantic

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10am

You did a great job with the ASCII art and the game itself is very fun! I can tell I've played too much Binding of Isaac when my immediate thought was the Envy boss :p

Yacodo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Very fun, the upgrade system make it addictive. Sadly, it slow down for me after lvl 5 (bad computer) so can't reach the boss (lvl8 just too slow).

brookman32k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57pm

I have to say that I am not the biggest fan of avoider type games. Basically its nicely done. It's very simplistic, which matches the theme right, but I miss some sound fx or music. Also, I found it a bit disapointing, that the graphics are in ASCII, but they flow freely on the screen. When I saw the screenshot I hoped for a "real" console game ;)

saint11 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:56am

Awesome game man! Really fun to play :)

PushmePullyu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:19am

It felt like a minimalist bullet hell... which it is I guess. Fun! :D

sharbelfs says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:04am

I like the ASCII art, try use ASCII text instead of image and will be perfect!

miotatsu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:10am

addictive

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Nice work with the ASCII art :O pretty impressive.

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Fun game. Nice level progression, and I liked the shop.

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Nice! I didn't expect to get so drawn in. :D
If I would change one thing though, it'd be to add some kind of animation or something when you get hurt - I kept not noticing!

CrazyGage says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:48am

Nice game. the ascii art was a nice touch.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:59am

Great game with upgrades on the levels. Very hard to turn away.

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:48am

Great game! I like the visual style too.l Surprisingly complete and addictive o.O

lorancou says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:43pm

One of the game I spend the more time on

lorancou says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:45pm

One of the game I spend the most time on

csanyk says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:47am

Liked the graphics, missed not having sound. My guy did not shoot? Do I have to earn that or something?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]