April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super 1-Bit Space Arena

by Orni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game:
=====
There is no story - only fun!
Use three different weapons to blast away many different species of aliens from platforms in space!

Controls:
=========
WASD : Movement
Mouse : Aim & Shoot
1,2,3 : Change Weapons
M : Disable Music
N : Disable all Sound

<<< Please submit your personal high score in the comments >>

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#45Fun3.82
#110Overall3.75
#160Graphics3.76
#266Mood3.24
#271Audio3.17
#358Theme3.74
#413Humor2.45
#844Innovation2.75

Comments

meat_popsicle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29am

I dig the "1-bit"-ness of it,
I'm down with harder games, but the enemies might be a tad too difficult at the first few spawns.
I think the 1-bit-ness is minimal in the color sense, but there's a lot going on that removes me from that minimal zen i like.
I do love the camera shakes and other visual effects, whether "minimal" or no.
Overall, I think this is a great game!
Excellent Job!

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32am

It's not too bad. I like the 1-bit enemies. Not always sure what they are but they are bad and you should shoot them!

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

Super cute graphics :) I'm not good at these games, but this was fun; well done.

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14am

Really loved the look of it. Multiple weapons was also a good touch. Good pacing.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21am

Really fun! Didn't really know why weapons 2 and 3 are always available, the seem just flat out more powerful. Didn't feel like it was a perfect fit with the theme, but most fun entry I've played so far.

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

Very Nice, Very Minimal, quite good fun, possibly could of been more innovative, but to be honest, it was so nicely done, it doesn't matter. Good Job!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34am

Great, how more minimalist you can go other than a black & white game? The audio and graphics are right on mark. No to mention that the action is frantic and well balanced. However, I wish we could also control the game with the cursor keys. This is a major hurdle for people whi use the mouse with the left hand.

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36am

love the style, and it was done really well. fun game. I'm horrible at it but I had fun dying over and over.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36am

love it! great action game, nice graphics. Hard to play with my macbook's touchpad tho ;p

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

awesome uber supercool. weird request: crumble parts of the level as you play

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43am

Awesome game, a bit difficult but very fun. Great how there actually is some strategy involved with each weapon

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44am

glad to hear you guys like it :D

@pvwradtke:
thank for the tip, I'm going to add cursor button controls to my games from now on

@biscuitdough:
I thought about letting the player upgrade his weapons, but didn't implement it - so that's why you have three different weapons at all times (although I find some weapons work better again certain enemies)

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41am

Sweet! Really liked this.

svenardo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43am

Awesome!

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44am

Just lovely =) For a post-compo version, do try changing the color scheme to something more LCD-ish (silver/black), and add a slight motion blur =)

hnjslater says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:50am

Good little game, very minimal and good fun!

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01am

Great visuals! I have a hard time with WASD directions and mouse gun aiming on 2d games for some reason. Great job!

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04am

Is like judo but whit guns! :D

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

Super cool stuff here, I like that there is no concept of 'health' besides if the enemy is on the platform of not.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Really fun, although yeah, everything seemed so hard to kill at first. The visuals were really well done.

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Tricky, but very fun with awesome art and great music. Good job.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Nothing really new about the game, but it's a fun arena shooter nonetheless ! The gameplay is flawless and the bouncy tune is minimalist yet enjoyable.

The rocket/grenade launcher is a bit overpowered :]

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Awesome fun and a banging soundtrack! I love the art style, but I did keep losing my mouse cursor. I could definitely see this as a full game with collectible or upgradeable weapons (as it is, I mostly just stuck to the main gun - didn't see a reason to use the others)

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46am

Loads of fun!

Jools64 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:03pm

This game was really cool. It works well with the theme and is really fun to play. Great job, this is one of my favorite LD games that I've played!

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Good use of 1-bit color, except some enemies have the same "blackness" as the character which from time to time got me confused. Sometimes I lose track of where my cursor is amid the chaos.

I like the idea of pushing enemies off the platform to kill them, it adds more tension to the game than just blasting away.

Really cool game overall!

Sh1rogane says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Really like it!
One thing i think is little funny is that on that website you play it on, the title says LD#23 ^^

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:25pm

I really like this one. The graphics were perfect, and the game felt quite polished.

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31pm

fun game and nice art :)

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Excellent gameplay and good use of the theme. Found the shooting sfx a bit repetitive. Maybe gun pickups, instead of the option to switch, so the sound changes up occasionally.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Love it! Nice!

Siewart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:46pm

I like how it's 1-bit with a mouse :D (in a positive way btw)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Aww yeah, right up my street! Bullets and pixels flying everywhere!

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Great visuals. Music is a bit repetitive. Great game overall.
Wish if it were more challenging though.

recursor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:44am

Nice. This reminds me of Hero Core. Great job!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:46am

Made it retro and simplistic without making it boring. good job!

Cybearg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I love this! The 1-bit graphics style is fantastic and I love the idea of not really having a life bar of any kind, but instead pushing enemies off the platform while avoiding being pushed off yourself is a great, simple idea for an intense little shooter.

Genuinely fun and very satisfying to play with everything just working very well. Huge kudos!

I only wish it was a game on a real retro console.

LizEngland says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:59pm

I am so used to one-hit kill shooters that the bumper-cars gameplay was really refreshing. I think the art is great and you still managed to get a lot of detail and variation with only the two colors. Well done!

Misfit says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Cool minimal art style. I loved it.

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Very Nice. It kind of throws you in the deep end. Maybe introducing one kind of enemy at a time and then pitting you against combinations could help to shallow out the learning curve. Fun game!

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:14pm

So fun and amazing use of black and white! Minimal in the extreme.

zeelyndz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:12pm

I freaking love the art! So good, such a cute little shooter.

bvanschooten says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Fun game! Pushing enemies off the platform is an interesting game mechanic. Like the graphics too. The bullet sound of weapon 1 is annoying though.

GarethIW says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:59pm

A whole bunch of awesome in just two colours! Reminded me a little of Cannon Fodder.

patrickward says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Cute game. Loved the artwork and music. The sound effects were spot on. My only issue is that the monotone colors got a bit confusing after awhile. It was hard to focus on the player and the enemies at the same time. A small variation in shading might have helped. Overall, great job. Fun, enjoyable, and wonderfully retro feel to it. Nice job.

May 4, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Nice shooter! Gameplay is fun, and music fits.

It feels a bit "overcrowded" though, there is way too much stuff on the screen to easily read it.

loxo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Cool black & white graphics style and simple game concept.

pereubu says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:40pm

like the art a lot :3
Also, very nice job on the design, it's fluid and really enjoyable to play, maybe it's just lacking of speed or something makin' it more nervous some times.
Loved it overall :D

bryonglass says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:52am

I loved the game, got so addictive, so far only got up to 38.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Nice entry!
2-bit graphic looking incredibly awesome. Except poor visibility of enemy bullets.

Orni says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:01pm

thx guys :D

@SaintHeiser:
it's actually only 1-bit color depth, since 2-bit would allow for four different values (00,01,10,11) which would mean four different colors. I figured I go as minimalistic as possible - hence the name 'super 1-bit space arena'

@perebu:
you're the first person telling me the game lacks speed - wow, maybe I'll introduce a 'hyper' mode in a potential post-compo version - just for you :)

@matthias_zarzecki:
yes, it is overcrowded, but that's kind of the point of it I guess

@patrickward:
the monotone (1-bit) color depth is how I interpreted the theme, since 1-bit is the lowest possible, hence minimalistic, color depth. Upgrading to even only 2-bit (like the original game boy had) would allow for 2 shades in between black and white which wouldn't seem as minimalistic as I would like it to be

@BrothersT:
yes, implementing a more shallow learning curve was my original idea - maybe even some sort of tutorial. but I figured you guys are awesome enough to not get your time wasted with such nuisances :P

@Cybearg:
Since it's based on Flash I might implement some sort of shader/filter that might modify the look of the game to something more 'real console looking', like a NTSC filter. although this might cost quite some performance I guess

@kidevil:
one of the things I've learned is that randomly chosen multiple, slightly mutated version of one sound can make a huge difference and I'll definitely implement them if I decide to release a post-compo version

for everyone interested in color depths and palettes, here's a link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_monochrome_and_RGB_palettes#Monochrome_palettes

KEFIR says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:18pm

It is incredibly fun and only with two colors! Very cool!

aquilicoco says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Good idea! love the 1-bit style.

rubna says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:38pm

YES

Hayawi says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Really nice game. Its also very nostalgic :P

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Very nice! Took me a little while to understand why things weren't dying very easily, and I didn't have a health bar. I so very much prefer the way the game works to the way I initially thought it worked. =) Awesome presentation, and super fun.

Jeremias says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:12pm

This game is great. Nice and interesting concept with pushing down enemies from the platform. At the later stages it gets really difficult. Sometimes the enemies stay in the air, but I think, you already saw this. I'm not sure, if weapon 2 and 3 are good enough, I just played with 1 and it worked well. Additional, you should gave the player more time to explore the level before the first wave comes or show a little graphic so he can get an idea of it. I failed a couple of times while searching for a better tactical place (distance to the stationary turret, shape and area size of the platform etc.).

Nice visuals and ...

... phew phew phew phew phew

EggDestroyer says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Fun game, may lack diversity in weapons or longer & better looping music, but works well, lovely graphics, good job ! (high score around 16 !)

May 9, 2013 @ 7:59am

I loved the B&W visual style. I could only get 4-5 waves in because I suck at these games where you have to aim with the mouse. I seemed to die easy. Maybe it should be harder to kill the player?

finefin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:53pm

like a sumo fight in space. love it :)

May 12, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Cool game, but the music does get repetitve, it's just a too short loop. Otherwise, very much fun! :)

Sestren says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:00pm

I like the black and white graphics. Reminds me of the games I used to play on my old black-and-white Macintosh as a kid.

BrothersT says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:06pm

So I replayed this and I think I got a bad experience of the game first time, it was running slightly slower on the laptop I was on, but for some reason that made me glance off of the enemies and their bullets with considerably more force (Or just much less uncontrollably). It was notably easier this time round so I officially redact my comment about the learning curve. The only thing I did find this time was that when I got onto level 3 I was holding left at the time and before I even realized the level had changed, I had strafed off the level and died.

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Loved the visual style. Quite a lot of action going on and the gameplay mechanic where you knock enemies out of the arena to score points instead of killing them with bullets was pretty cool.

MrShoestore says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:17pm

very fun. great vfx. coulda used a little longer music loop though :p

May 13, 2013 @ 12:00pm

I really liked it! Loved the art style too!
My high score was 54 after 5 or so tries.
I found that the guns weren't really different enough to justify ever changing weapons. The 2nd gun was generally the best. The enemies' attack patterns weren't terribly different from one another either, but I did like the variety in their appearances. The various level designs were really fun! I also thought it would have been a more enjoyable game if it just had directional shooting, rather than mouse aiming, but that's just my opinion.
Anyway, a really solid entry! Great job!

MathiO says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:51pm

This was really fun! At first the screens gave me a Hero Core vibe, but upon first playing it felt Robotron-esque. Only later did I realize the Smash Bros. element! (btw high score 55, with one freak-in-the-zone moment of 69 that I couldn't replicate..)

lorancou says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Not really 1-bit for me ... but great execution ... and the flow is great ... so is the fun

PixelIndigo says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Excellent! Awesome music, graphics. This game fits minimalistic style very well.

TheSheep says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Pew pew pew pew. You could have some walking animation. Nice monsters.

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Music is a bit repetative, I know the pain of finding something that works when you have no clue about music =P Nice art style by going for just 1 bit!

Mago says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Nice game with nice graphics and music it was fun to play it.

Pixelulsar says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:32am

Nice game.
I always like 1-Bit games, and it was cool that you had to knock them off the edge.

DaveDobson says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:35am

Very cool game - controls are fluid and intuitive, artwork is cute and the 1-bit part is a really fun touch. Not much to it other than shooting stuff, but there doesn't really need to be.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Nice polished game. It's fun but not totally on the theme.

Puccini says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Great game!

LemonTree says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Good game! Nice art!

Gungnir says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:42pm

It feels wonderfully complete as a vision - very playable with great roots. Excellent stuff. Wish I had a nuclear option :)

May 19, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Simply awesome!

berareu says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Really fun! I like the graphics too but in some areas I can't understand what's going on because of the colors, especially when the character is on a "grid". Good work anyway!

Misael.K says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Only two colors? Impressive.
Game is fun, but sudden level change can feel a bit unfair at times. The main game mechanic is not apparent at first, until first deaths.
Great job.

Orni says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:18pm

thanks guys

yes, the level change is really unfair. I realize that :/
I should have implemented something like a teleport effect or something that introduces 2 seconds or so as some kind of delay - so you don't move your player immediately off the level

one of the things I'll change if I ever make a more fleshed out game out of this

Dotanukii says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:20am

Really great visuals and fun gameplay. Nice job!

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:36am

Great entry. The music and mood are awesome.
What a pity, I have an AZERTY keyboard (I'm French)... I have strong difficulties to play correctly with WASD.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Zim the Fox says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Whoa. Those graphics <3 This game is amazing and really fun. Got a high score of 46.

This is a fantastic entry. Congratulations!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]