April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pillow Pets

by ChevyRay - Jam Entry

DESCRIPTION:
- Play with your miniature stuffed animal friends using only the mouse. A fun interactive toy for all-ages!

CREDITS:
- Programming by Chevy Ray Johnston
- Graphics by Amora B. (studiominiboss.com)
- Music by Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com/music/royalty-free)

TOOLS:
- Unity
- Visual Studio C#
- 2D Toolkit
- BFXR
- Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.67
#17Humor(Jam)3.84
#43Mood(Jam)3.79
#47Audio(Jam)3.84
#59Overall(Jam)3.73
#115Fun(Jam)3.34
#195Innovation(Jam)3.22
#316Theme(Jam)3.16
#2059Coolness0%

Comments

saint11 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11am

<3

ChevyRay says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

Before anybody asks: Minimal = Mini Animal.
SUCK IT

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:18am

Because of minimal = mini animal, you win. The end.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:18am

*_* So CUTE! Well done chevy! :D...

If you want... here's mine if you want to try it :)

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=12398

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:20am

Why are these cute animals dying! WHYYY! :( Polished!

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:28am

This is so adorable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AlanBazan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:32am

From heaven

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14am

Adorable. I like bouncing them on each other.

erhartmikale says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35am

I love the squash animations and animals on balloons in the background. LOVE THE GAME :D

cmjd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

A pretty cool game, it was pretty well polished and fun to play around with. It took me a while to figure out that the animals did feed themselves though, but was enjoyable regardless.

PAMVllo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58am

Is really good, yeah, really good...You're the best Chevy Ray!

Tuba says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09am

Never played something so cute and macabre at the same time... I'm conflicted...

Still loved it!

Loren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49am

I approached with caution, because animals smaller than my foot startle me. Luckily, I found respite on the pillow and was pleased with their union. Thank you for making this game, it cured me and I can go to zoos now. The fact that it was fun, vibrant with a great soundtrack come secondary.

karsyf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54am

I really enjoyed this, it might be fun if you could do more with the animals like feed them yourself

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56am

When they die I has a sad.

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03am

As I mentioned on twitter, death in this game is adorable. Love the patchwork feel and overall squishiness. Everything that's in feels polished.

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03am

Until this day I had not known the pleasure of watching a cow endlessly bouncing back and forth off the backs of two elephants. :)

Andrio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:18am

Adorable!

siondream says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24am

SO simple and polished, ACE!

MetroidMan347 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49am

I love the art! Everything looks awesome! The game was interesting. It's very neat to see how the different animals interact.

Chman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:05am

Super cute toy, and I just love your theme interpretation. Nice work, very polished !

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32am

haha thats a funny one, nice animations and stuff!

ColdBrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

Cool art!

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:45am

Lol cute game, I love the stuffed elephants :D.

jijaweb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:16am

Very polished game. Great work. Awesome graphics and music.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:56am

Nice and simple game. I don't know if i did right: throwing the wolves away, i felt kind of bad, because they're also cute and stuffed and they have to eat too!

berareu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Great! After a while, I had a graveyard full of mini-animals!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Beautiful graphics and sound!

My bed is full of dead animals. D:

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Very cutesy :)

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Cool!

Axelhein says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:49pm

This game is super sad. All the animals keep dying :(
Awesome game though. It feels really complete and polished.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37pm

My cows are bouncing everywhere! There's no space man! No space! Why Chevy! Whyyyy!

Hume says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Elephants: Bouncier Than You Think.

Thanks for this. I really enjoyed it.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Corpses... corpses everywhere.

michail says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:09pm

It's beautiful, but I don't get that mood at all...

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:01am

This is so adorable, but there´s not enough food for the animals :(. We should be ale to use the wolf to balance the equilibrium and get rid of some old animals and keep feeding new ones :P.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:21am

One of the best looking games Ive seen (and def the cutest :D) physics feel really solid too nice work

Skywilly says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:13am

I renamed it "Minimal Cemetery" after my first try :) Great game !

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:04pm

The art is the biggest point on there. The music sure fits the game well.

Kinda weird at first. I think that there are way too many minimals on the screen at once.
I can't seem handle so many deaths at once :(

May 1, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Very nicely polished. Has a great feel to it. My 5 year old son played it for over 20 minutes.
Also, please check out mine:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=20873

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Very cool :)

Jan Marcano says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:29am

This = <3

Dohan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:32am

Poor cute stuffed animals! Very nice graphics and music.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:50pm

This is super adords

lotusgame says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:07pm

So cute, so original !! Too bad there is not so much to do ^^ Very well polished pro game.

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:37am

BEAUTIFUL! Simple gameplay. I guess the animals can't really be fed, or at least I didn't figure out how. Fun!

goerp says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Not only mini animal but also a minimal interaction game.
You could sit back and watch or interact if you like, but just a few actions.
Of course it was also beautiful, great matching music (that stays with you even after the game ends:)) funny, cute.
5 stars for me!

bvanschooten says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Very polished, great art. Only I think there is not enough interaction and game balance here.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Looks gorgeous and was fun to play. It all seemed a bit cute and cuddly until the battle for survival began ;)

May 13, 2013 @ 1:24pm

It's very cute, and has great music, but there just isn't that much to do...

KevinLaity says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:46am

Cute! And also depressing!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:11am

still not sure what i was doing -- but it was fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]