April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

minimalistherain

by alvivar - Jam Entry

minimal is the secret to be found.


HEADPHONES is a plus.
WASD or ARROWS to move.
SPACE to JUMP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#79Theme(Jam)3.85
#85Mood(Jam)3.60
#164Audio(Jam)3.29
#273Innovation(Jam)2.96
#278Fun(Jam)2.87
#278Overall(Jam)3.12
#364Graphics(Jam)2.86
#370Humor(Jam)1.73

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:16am

The music and lightning sets a nice mood. Like the lightning visibility mechanic.

tzamora says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:32am

very nice gameplay, and nice music

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:00am

Cool gameplay mechanic, the movement was smooth and the controls were responsive.

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:06am

I definitely like the lightning mechanic. I kept having trouble with double-jump not working though on some of the later platform sections, couldn't end up finishing out of frustration which is a shame. I did want to try and finish it.

moomoo112 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:41am

occasionally I would lose my double jump, though I don't know why

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47am

Audio and lights are suitably creepy. Surprising how much of that can be done with just simple cubes. Nice job.

alvivar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38am

@hybridmind @moomoo112 yes, those platforms are difficult, but they can be jumped, i test that a lot!

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:38am

The intervals between lightning flashes are too long in my opinion. Had some fun, but I can't figure out what to do after you drop down by one block.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:38am

I have to say I wasn't quite down with the music, but I liked the lightning. There should be some way where the player can summon the lightning but has only a certain amount of summons. Great game though!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:08am

nice challenge! very simple but effective use of the theme :)

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:10am

Great idea! very minimalistic indeed.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:58am

Is there a specific end? I got to a yellowish cube, then there was nothing but a single black cube under it? When I fell again it reset the stage...

Anyway, the core idea is neat and the lighting mechanic is a great idea. I think it could be improved by randomized timing between flashes, and perhaps more frequent flashes (sometimes I felt a bit impatient waiting for them). It's a fun game in any case =]

alvivar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52pm

@hadyn, yes, there is a specific end. you almost got it. almost.

henrykun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Good concept!, I really like jumping :D

Super Hamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:41am

It was nice but it would have been really nice to get check points because I kept dieing. -_-

May 1, 2013 @ 4:51am

Awesome mechanic, and easy to build off of too. Waiting for the familiar pattern got slightly tedious, so I'd be interested in seeing some variation or complexity in how and when the platforms are made visible. Great game!

Thijsku says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Nice game! I like the lightning effects, although I think they should appear more often. (for the impatient players. :p)

qgi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:09pm

I really like the visuals and the sound. The controls are smooth and feel great. A bit too difficult for me early on. Kudos, well done!

stromchin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:37am

I'm so bad at platformers :(

May 2, 2013 @ 7:22am

It would've been cool if the frequency of the flashes was a bit higher, I found myself becoming impatient and just jumping off to die at times. (;

Otherwise cool idea, good job! ~

May 2, 2013 @ 7:45am

The controls were tight ans smooth. It was frustrating to navigate due to the flashes. A lot of time waiting or being impatient and dying in the dark. Perhaps there's some other way to tie in the lightning/dark like a timer on screen, so you rush to get far before it goes off? I wasn't really sure what the goal was or how far to keep playing. Liked the music.

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:12am

Beat the game, fun enough considering how short it was, if it would have gone on tons longer and I slipped I would have been annoyed. If the game plays out how I think it's supposed to there needs to be a slight fix, the player figuring out the secret to the end is kinda based on lightning being going at the right moment.

alvivar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:50pm

@joe thanks for beat the game :) yeah, the best use of thunders still eludes me. i'll think about this more.

karlin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I loved the audio and visuals, very simple but worked very well.

I got to the part with the yellow cube, died and quit in frustration but I've just went back and found the ending. Some excellent game design there.

May 2, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Really ambient but very difficult!

gameXcore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:55pm

I really wanted to enjoy this as soon as I realised the mechanic, however the platforming was just a little too slidy for me, which made it very frustrating, I barely got over the first few jumps.

alvivar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:07pm

@karlin your comment makes me happy :)

Spiridios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:58pm

The controls felt a bit floaty, like it was easy to slide off or over correct. Otherwise, nice mechanic. I think adding some urgency would be neat in order to try and force the player to blindly jump rather than just waiting for the next lightning flash.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:56pm

I like the lighting, but the movement physics weren't that great. Probably just me sucking at it though =p

dagothig says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:08am

Checkpoint would've been useful, the game shold have a more defined goal

alvivar says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:29am

@dagothig the game do have checkpoints, also, the goal is something that you need to discover.

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Great game idea, nicely implemented with the lighting. If I was better at platformers, I'd probably have more of an opinion. :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]