April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimizing Quest

by Turtle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about people get games for free, and pay to play less of them.

edit 4/29 2013: attach missing Visual Studio Runtime DLL

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#529Humor2.25
#1128Theme2.84
#1238Innovation2.04
#1246Mood1.67
#1314Graphics1.72
#1335Fun1.42
#1347Overall1.58
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Neurolabe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19am

I can't seem to download this, the page it links to seems to have nothing indicating how.

caasi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Moar coins! MOAR!!!!

VDZ says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Not much of a game. Minimalistic, sure, but there's nothing to see or do.

May 7, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Sadly it seems that I can't run it, because it's no 32-bit version. :( (Win XP, 32-bit laptop here)

wolf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:33am

Sadly there isn't much of a game aspect to this. Where is the gameplay?

May 12, 2013 @ 8:41am

I don't feel like blaming the lack of gameplay, but it for sure feels like you could have added more content to it :(

dalbinblue says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Funny, and certainly minimal, not really a game. I think it would have been more forgiving if there were additional scenarios or branching paths where you had to think a little to get to the minimal level. The idea has some goo potential but the experience ended so quickly.

May 12, 2013 @ 2:56pm

The concept of a game that becomes simplier as you play is neat, but it wasn't actually executed here.

marnaouf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Really cool concept and message.

Husky says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Interesting idea.
Good job! :p

hissssssssss says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:30am

It's an interesting idea, but not pulled together too well. More levels of minimalism would have been interesting. The money thing was a bit odd, considering that you don't lose money to pay for new games.

May 14, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Bad

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]