April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Colon Right Parentheses

by Pixelulsar - 48 Hour Compo Entry


Controls:
SPACE

A one button horizontal shooter where you play as a happy face that has trouble staying just staying in the air, and now it has to survive and onslaught of angry and sad faces. You have 5 lives to beat the game, but it is pretty short.

Goes with the theme because I used minimal effort to make the graphics and the game-play is minimal, you only use one button

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#148Humor3.10
#296Graphics3.43
#359Fun3.20
#490Mood2.97
#588Audio2.66
#674Overall3.06
#847Theme3.23
#912Innovation2.63

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:27am

pretty cool :D

Zampi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:30am

How i can vote?

DdlyHeadshot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:56am

Quite fun - like Helicopter with GUNS!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:24pm

The minimal effort graphics are great! The music is grating :p

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Good idea.

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Thanks for all the nice feedback guys, helicopter with guns is what I was going for.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Kinda difficult for me though this game is fun. I like the one button mechanic and the audio.

Tifu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Love the graphics, pretty challenging game. It got pretty hard after the purple guys, I hope I was near the end D:

Nolan C says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:43pm

For minimal effort, the graphics look pretty good. The game was fun too.

playvue says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I love one button games. Also, the fact that "minimalism" = "minimal effort on graphics" is hilarious! Good job!

_Rilem says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:55pm

It took me a few tries to figure out I was supposed to press and hold space to stay in the air. I kept spamming the button like crazy :P
Like the way you handled the theme. The game is fun to play and the graphics make it even more fun :D

magnpeas says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:06pm

I like that this game is only one button and the drawings work for the theme. Nice game!

graytest says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Good graphics and a good idea. I think the "head" feels a bit too heavy, but overall really good!

Dir3kt says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Quite difficult but fun :) I do liked the graphics! Maybe the potato (?!) should fall slower.

May 4, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Very Cool :D

tzamora says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:34am

cool, kind of simple.

oatsbarley says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Cute artstyle and a really simple mechanic, fits with the theme! Well done.

atraxgames says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Far more original than the average one-button game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:10am

perfect -- one of the best

naufr4g0 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Nice entry. Very cute graphics and fun gameplay! :)
I think player need more acceleration when space key is pressed.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]