April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Boxy

by matter123 - Jam Entry

** Windows x64 Users Please use the x64 download link to prevent Crashes! **

OSX Users: make sure you have mono installed and run boxyrun.sh

Your a blue square you need to escape

controls left up right down

requires mono/.net 4 and opengl 2.1

Windows 64 bit is now working

WARNING:this game is hard

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#141Theme(Jam)3.65
#148Humor(Jam)2.71
#278Fun(Jam)2.87
#338Mood(Jam)2.73
#360Innovation(Jam)2.68
#387Overall(Jam)2.84
#400Audio(Jam)2.16
#481Graphics(Jam)2.40

Comments

negativeview says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02am

This immediately crashed for me on Windows 7, 64 bit. Didn't rate you because I can't play it. :(

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12am

This was a good game! It had a quick twitchy kind of addictive game-play, similar in many ways to "Three Body Problem". I played until level 4, but which time I had already activated Potato Mode.

I got quite good at hovering in place, but one must also learn to flee. While I am not convinced that a context for this was necessary, the choice of "spy avoiding capture" is pretty fitting. I hover until my cover is blown, and then I have to speed away without... touching the walls!

matter123 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19am

possiably fixed problem

Andy West says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:36am

Sorry, this also crashes right away on Windows 8 64-bit.

disease says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:48am

Crashed on my win 7 64 bit.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50am

I was like "holy potatoes, they're chasing me!". I had a laugh with this game. Main issue is that it's too hard to keep it for 30 seconds, the player increases speed too fast. However, it's not everyday you get chased by potatoes :).

TheBenjaneer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:51am

Beat Level 6 while working on Debugging.
We've tracked it down to when OpenTk loads OpenAl on x64 machines and are working to fix that. ( matter123 is a good friend of mine. )

TheDaedraArmy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47am

Highly addictive and fun as is all other similar like games. Had a blast trying to control that speed

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40am

Addictive game! Great job ;)

Jed Mayberry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:31am

Immediately crashed on my computer, sorry :(

GetFun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Potato mode!

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Crashed on open for me as well. Here's the error text:

Description:
Stopped working

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Boxy.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 517f03a5
Fault Module Name: KERNELBASE.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17965
Fault Module Timestamp: 506dcae6
Exception Code: e0434f4d
Exception Offset: 000000000000bccd
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 4105

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Didn't rate, sorry I can't play it. There's no OSX bootable file in the OSX download folder :( Maybe you can rebuild somethin'? I was really interessed by the design and the pitch ;)

nseward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35pm

64 works but 32 didn't. Great game. I ended up with a forearm cramp.

porglezomp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:53pm

The mac link appears to contain a windows build?

matter123 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59pm

@porglezomp im using mono/.net it creates .exe files but the run on all platforms

AnTiCamPr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:02pm

It is a pretty good game. I have to say that it might be a bit too hard though. I made it too level 4 and I had a good laugh at the potato mode. Good Job! (playing on Win8 64-bit, so I guess you guys worked out the bugs)

Xanjos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Really nice twist to the generic "dodge things" gameplay mechanic. The later more harder levels made it a bit more addictive as well. Also potatoes :D

Fenyx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:42pm

The potatoes were amusing. Aside from that, the controls were far too twitchy and imprecise for my taste, especially to keep up for 30 full seconds.

Rabbits... says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:07am

Wow, thats diffucult, enjoyed potato mode and the quick acceleration

oldtopman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:36am

A little floaty for my tastes, but a pretty good game! I liked it!

shawn42 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:43am

Nice work. The controls were _really_ touchy (but maybe that's the point?) Pretty fun.

Sometimes when I died, the game would crash (on OS X).
I was running mono version 2.10.9

cahman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:53am

At first, I thought the controls were too twitchy. I was about to close the game, but then the potatoes came out. I wasn't going to let some spuds make a chump out of me, so I busted out my game pad and redoubled my efforts. That's when I realized the controls were BRILLIANT! Extremely quick and precise.

I ended up doing the "IMPOSSIABLE" and beating the game. I enjoyed it thoroughly, very nicely done sir!

Jiddo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:05pm

I loved the small story and how nonsensical it actually was to have it for this gameplay. Made me chuckle :) The controls were far too twitchy and the timer far too long though, thus the game was going too fast and too slowly at the same in an unsatisfying manner.

Blinked says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:16am

Not bad, but very unfair at times. Also, lol potato mode.

May 8, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Sadly your game just crashes on my WinXP (32-bit) laptop, when I try to start it. :( No special error message though.

lorancou says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Works for me on Windows 7 64 bit.

This game is hard, indeed. It could become a bit nicer with only a few tweaks, e.g. make the screen borders wrap instead of death zones, and let the blue square rest more easily, some kind of brakes for instance.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]