April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TrackSurfer

by fysx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

TrackSurfer is my entry for the 26th LD48 game jam. I tried to apply the "Minimalism" theme to various aspects of the game such as graphics, music, but most of all the controls. The whole game is controlled via the mouse. No buttons are involved.

The game increases its difficulty and can get quite tricky. So, be warned.

The game is made using the fabulouse Love2d game engine (http://love2d.org). Also I used lots of helper utilities made by (http://vrld.org).

Music was made using (http://www.warmplace.ru/soft/sunvox/).

Have fun

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#168Fun3.49
#184Overall3.59
#197Innovation3.62
#235Theme3.89
#391Graphics3.27
#562Mood2.87
#598Audio2.64
#899Humor1.79

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49am

Nice work! My one criticism is that there are certain angles that are harder than others because the mouse can leave the app window easier. Otherwise well done!

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19am

Amazing! I wish I could have thought of something like this!

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:30pm

This is simple, fun, and beautiful. Amazing job.

fysx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:50pm

@Kinzata: yes I'll look into mouse grabing or even full-screen support for future versions.

Thank you very much for playing and your comments! It means a lot to me!

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:47am

Really intuitive! It put me into a trance like daze for a lot longer than I thought it would haha. I managed to get one 'Nice surf!', which made me happy.

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

what a good idea, I feel the music could be amped up some and I think it might work a wee bit better in full screen but, having said that, I feel it's really accomplished. good stuff.

evoker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Fun! Fits the theme too. Maybe add some keyboard or gamepad controls for the next version? (Or maybe I just need to get better at the game.)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Great use of the theme! I really found it fun despite the extreme simplicity.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04pm

That was a good time !

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:08am

wow -- what a great game -- simple and is tru to the theme -- great job!

davidB says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:40am

simple, calme beautiful. with a fullscreen mode, my mouse will not go out of area.

Moist says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Love how simple, yet addictive it is. Some music would make it even nicer, but it's a great game anyway.

nilstastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Pros: Very fun and easy to get into, liked it a lot!
Cons: Hard to control with a trackpad, but i guess that is to be expected. =)

(339 with trackpad..)

fysx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:43pm

@nilstastic: impressive score for a trackpad!

@Moist: yes the music would need much more work. I hope to gain more insights into SunVox.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Very well done, I like it a lot, although I had to play it with a touchpad. Those short feedback messages the game throws at you are actually quite encouraging and a nice little touch.

Diamonde says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Very cool concept and really minimalistic and solid gameplay. I like the precise steering, but I had trouble with maximizing the speed, since I had to hold the mouse at the edge of the window. Maybe some other speed algorithm could be used to make it even more solid!
The graphical style is lovely by the way. :)

Proch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:49pm

very nice

May 2, 2013 @ 8:11am

Stylish and fun, good job! ~

dvdking says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:11am

I enjoed this game. I wish it was faster, or had different difficulties levels, so the game would be faster at the start. I liked rotation of camera, but it would be so much better at higher speed, more dynamic. It reminds me about "super hexagon" game for some reason, even though gameplay is different. Overall is 5 stars

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Not an easy game for me but i like it. Nice graphics too.

May 5, 2013 @ 1:13am

Perfectly elegant! Great job!

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:45pm

My longest distance was 982! Addictive gameplay and nice flow experience. If you plan to make a post-compo version, you should really add full-screen support at first :D

alts says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 8:42am

This is a wonderful game, well done. It isn't often that I think this, but this game would benefit a lot from a joystick/analog stick. Mouse controls in a windows setting are frustrating at best. I also felt like occasionally loops would send me backtracking, which, because of the controls, felt a bit unfair. Other than that one nitpick, I found myself really engrossed by the game. Great work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]