April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

STL RNNR

by Siewart - Jam Entry

This game is inspired by the Minimalism movement De Stijl.

Controls: WASD (or arrows) + Mouse. Spacebar to Jump. R-Shift to sprint. R to reset.

XBOX360 Controller: X to Jump (or right bumper). A to Sprint (or left bumper). Start to reset.

Tony: Art && Programming
Siewart: Programming && Sound

Small post deadline fix:
1. lowered mouse sensitivity
2. compressed sounds (WebPlayer is ~10 times smaller, MacOSX and Windows 3 times smaller)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#83Theme(Jam)3.83
#84Fun(Jam)3.51
#118Overall(Jam)3.56
#134Graphics(Jam)3.73
#186Mood(Jam)3.22
#281Audio(Jam)2.89
#322Innovation(Jam)2.80
#340Humor(Jam)1.88

Comments

TheSheep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18am

At least in the WebPlayer on the Mac the mouse is way too sensitive. It makes it hard to navigate. Nice idea though :)

Siewart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:14pm

@TheSheep: Thanks for reporting, I fixed it. I also decreased the file size by compressing the sounds. In accordance with the rules I will call it a port to
"people with normal sensitivity settings"
and
"people with low patience"

-Siewart

Tipyx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Too sensitive, but very nice to play :D

MRvanderPants says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:36pm

The mouse is to sensitive. The graphics and the game concept are realy cool, and fit the theme well

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Love this one! Very slick and clean design. Everything works great and it is a good challenge! Awesome work!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:19pm

A good generic plataformer, fun nonetheless, it fits the theme perfectly, it also seems very well polished.

kyyninen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Didn't know I wanted to play infinite running Mirror's Edge until now! Great use of theme and solid gameplay.

Binary Gambit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:23pm

My favourite of all entries I've played so far, reminds me of defrag.

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Hey, you only used basic shapes from Unity to keep it minimalistic, just like me... hehe
I feel that some textures would have helped to give a sense of velocity, specially becaus de default character controller from Unity has a little too much of inertia to compensate every time you stop running.
Texture would have helped on those areas were the player can't stay too long, to give a fair warning to the player.

I liked that you made the levels instantiated randomly and, has you managed to build a tutorial and didn't need to progressively improve difficulty, it worked.
But it only work because there are few levels... the player might want to keep trying the same level until he gets it right.
By the way, congrats on the level design! ;)

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Non disappearing mouse cursor was a bit irritating (played in browser). The game world loked great - i liked the subltle touches like corporate-waiting-room furniture and minimalistic use of color.

Good job.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:19am

Oh! Procedural generated levels?
Looking interesting =)
Liked neon design ^_^

vapgames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:45am

This is really addictive, awesome visuals. I wish respawn delay was shorter.

Siewart says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:52am

You can use R to respawn, but your highscore won't be saved. (I should gofix, but that would not fall under the allowed fixes, so maybe later :))

@All, thanks for the comments so far :D

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:57am

This was the best game I have tried so far. gratz =)

Thijsku says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:05pm

I love parkour in games! Gameplay and graphics are great! :) Good job.

Atridas says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Awsome game overall. Graphics & sound work together to create the Theme of the game. Very tought (or may I say "challenging"?)

bbrown2 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I've definitely played this one more than any other in the competition. Very addictive; I had the high score for a while, but someone broke 1,000 today! It already feels like a complete game, but more would of course be welcome.

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Truly great game, perfect art, solid fun gameplay.
4 suggestions:
1. Find an artistic way to reduce pop-up, maybe an interestingly textured plane that hides the non-loaded section that flies back once they are loaded.

2. Somehow procedurally generate the areas or add tons more options for sub areas and then pair them with different "backgrounds"

3. Add some audio or visual HUD clue to tell the player when the blocks falling behind them are close or not. A hud graphic that gets less transparent or a simple audio noise (like a hiss) that gets louder as the falling platforms approach.

4. Put on a site like Kongregate, add high-score submission, and watch the plays skyrocket. :)

Siewart says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Good news.
We've decided to make a post-jam version (and add update to it later):

1. Lots of bug fixes, as reported.
2. Updated obstacles. (Better flow)
3. Additional obstacles.
4. Updated graphics.
5. Updated performance (reduced draw calls)
6. Kongregate version. (To save bandwidth)
7. Options: Sensitivity, Invert Axis etc.

Possible additions:
5. Difficulty scaling
6. Better visual/aural indicators (Is the world falling apart? How far from the ledge am I? etc.)
7. Pickups
8. Better music
9. Updated Tutorial

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I liked the visual style and the procedural level creation was very cool.

GranaDa says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Really nice entry! This game deserves more development for a proper full fledged release :) Too much fun, thank you!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]