April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ball & Cup

by ohsqueezy - Jam Entry

Charge up! Send the ball!

Based on Balero, a cup and ball on a string game sometimes given as a party favor, my entry is like shuffleboard with a moving target. Charge your shot and time it to stop inside the target. If successful, your accuracy is measured, and the next level begins. If unsuccessful, the game restarts.

Keys:

LEFT - **charge**, next level
F11 - fullscreen
ESC - close

I ran out of time before I could add a high score list, sound and an ending. The current version resets to the beginning after level 30, so if that happens, you win!

Thank you Hegemege for making a windows version!

Notes:

- The distance between ball and cup in the game world varies between levels. Smaller balls are farther away and need more charge.
- The fruit measure accuracy and are based on a color gradient from red to green. Greener fruits are closer to the center of the cup.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#55Theme(Jam)3.98
#228Humor(Jam)2.31
#252Fun(Jam)2.96
#278Innovation(Jam)2.94
#367Overall(Jam)2.88
#443Mood(Jam)2.38
#449Audio(Jam)1.63
#453Graphics(Jam)2.50

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

If you had JUST code for your source, with like a .py file to start the game, this would be playable on Mac, I think.

ohsqueezy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:15am

I don't have a way to test myself, but you could try running "python ball-cup" in the root of the package in terminal on Mac. The launch file is pure Python, just without the extension in the file name.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Really solid game, runs well on both my Windows and Ubuntu machines, much nicer to play on a 11" netbook than 21" monitor :P

Also worth noting I used the A key to charge, found it out just randomly.

I ran the game by renaming the ball-cup file to ball-cup.py in Windows and running that from cmd. On ubuntu I just chmod u+x'd the ball-cup file and ran it.

Funny game, but greatly punishing if you fail.

May 1, 2013 @ 4:04am

Really dig this, can get into quite a zen state of mind waiting for the right momment. I also really liked how you'd get a little strip of colour during very streak of doing well. Thanks!

ohsqueezy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Hegemege: I thought about how it would be unfair if somebody played this as an arcade game and immediately died without another chance, so I'm going to try adding 3 lives and see if it makes a better experience. It'll be interesting to see how concentration changes from from life 1 to 3.

CherryNukaCola: yay! :D I wanted to save the strips each time to make a high scores table. The color is based on how close you are to the center, so you can judge your performance by how red or green it is.

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:01pm

This game is rather interesting for being so simple. It is kind of difficult to predict tho since the ball behaves quite differently (and randomly) on each new level. I couldn't figure out any good way of applying skill to the game except for just playing it over and over again, which eventually got boring.

What's with the seemingly random fruit names "awarded" to you after each level btw?

I ran this on Linux, and it worked well. The only weird thing is that it displayed a copy of the game on each of my three monitors. Was this intentional?

Great work!

lorancou says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Simple and nice, congratz! I just wish the level number was printed somewhere, I miss a feeling of progression...

Fnkee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:56pm

This stuff is really innovative! The learning curve is great, and I love the way the rules (and the fruit-thingy) aren't explained, but you have to figure them out by yourself. Would love to see som scoreboards on this.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:44am

Jiddo: The ball's behavior is based on its size. The smaller it is, the slower it seems because it's farther from the target, as if the camera zoomed out, moving the ball backward. The fruit is based on a color gradient from red to green (apple to honeydew). The closer to the target, the greener the fruit reward. I will think of how to convey this!

lorancou: +1 for level numbers. I was thinking that myself yesterday. The level number is the length of the color strip but it's hard to tell what it is specifically. Either a scoreboard would clarify or a ghost strip of your current high score behind the current score.

Fnkee: yay! and ME TOO I thought because of how simple the game is it would be easy to add every feature in time but alas this was not the case. Scoreboards are first on my to-do list!

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Lemon!

May 2, 2013 @ 6:39pm

I'm not quite sure, which is the best fruit?

Frosnite says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Game was very buggy for me and didn't respond to any button I pushed :(.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Joshua: Honeydew! (redder is farther, greener is closer)

Frosnite: :( Windows exe or source?

May 4, 2013 @ 10:20am

This is surprisingly fun for such a simple game. I love the use of fruits for... scores? levels? Either way, "plum" just sounds as disappointing as it is.

dzebna says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:14pm

I like the concept, would be better with a high-score table, because it'd keep people playing.

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:37pm

The ball charge looks a bit imprecise. Sometimes it goes far other (with the same impulse) it goes no more that "10px" ahead. Nice idea.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:57pm

GranaDa: Charge is based on the size of the ball. Sorry it's not apparent!

avidgamerNino says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:07pm

I liked the concept. The charge mechanic worked well. I think it would of been cool to have the box moving faster, to give the player more of a challenge, but it was challenging! Maybe add on a few obstacles like moving circles to go through. I didn't get too far, so I don't know if you added something like that. The theme is pretty minimal like it's suppose to be. I could see this being a fun app.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Very neat idea. I really liked it! I'm a bit puzzled by the odd decision to rate based on the color of fruits, though.

While the game is neat and addictive, I kind of wish the idea had been used in more of a puzzle game. I'm sure that some cool mechanics could have been introduces to expand the concept in later levels to add more variation and challenge. Maybe something to consider?

Still, great job!

TheSheep says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:42pm

I like the use of fruit names.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:08am

Doesn't get much simpler than Ball & Cup! I loved the fruit names, very simple game and easy to pick up.

free_napalm says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Very minimalist concept.

May 8, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Strangely addicting, I really wanted to see all the messages, but could never get a "perfect shot." I'm assuming Potato is the best score, yes? ;P

Beerman says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:30am

The fruit/colour based scoring is a stroke of genius. The game is surprisingly compulsive - would make a great mobile game with the addition of some sounds.

May 12, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Fun and simple game. I really liked the use of fruits as a scoring system. That said, there could be a little more feedback and context. It wasn't entirely clear what 'level' I was on, and I never had a chance to try and better my score as I'd move onto the next despite how I performed. More variation in speed and distance would do a great deal as well. Great job though, I could see this being a lot of fun with only some minor additions and changes (and sound)!

Misael.K says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:16am

For being just two black blocks on screen, there's a lot of creativity with the fruits and secondary colors used. Nice job.
Game is a bit hard, though. As you mentioned before, adding lives would be great. I'd also add more redundant controls (besides "A" and "Left", use spacebar, mouse click, etc).

kibertoad says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:01pm

I'd like to see a finished version of this.

cardboard says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:42am

Very interesting. I think adding sound effects would have helped to make it more immersive, but the lack of them definitely doesn't take away from how addicting it is.

QXD-me says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Non of the buttons seemed to do anything for me (tried both 'a' and 'left' as well as mashing the keyboard). I was using the .exe on windows 7 64bit.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:58pm

QXD-me: I don't know what's up with that! Maybe something to do with 64-bit. I'll see if I can fix it in an updated version

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]