April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

KiraKiraRetro

by Misfit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Collect all diamonds and be a hero.

Versions : Android (219k), Windows (166k), Wii (336k), Web (428k)

Windows version is a main version. If you play a web-version, only Firefox provides audio.

Android (touch screen support)
- left (left middle screen)
- right (right middle screen)
- up (top of the screen)
- down (bottom of the screen)

Wii : wiimote (1st) (Wii version needs "Homebrew Channel" )

Windows and Web : arrow keys

Tested :
- Windows 8 (OpenGL)
- Windows 7 (OpenGL)
- Firefox 20.0.1 (Win) (WebGl) (few problems?)
- Firefox 20.0 (Mac) (WebGl) (works fine)
- Crome (WebGl) (no sounds but works fine)
- Samsung Galaxy Mini (OpenGL ES 1)
- Samsung Galaxy XCover (OpenGL ES 1)
- Asus Nexus 7' (OpenGL ES 1)
- Wii (the Homebrew Channel)

sorry all.. i am too tired now :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#200Graphics3.67
#323Overall3.41
#351Fun3.21
#443Mood3.03
#549Humor2.23
#647Audio2.54
#679Innovation2.97
#1022Theme3.00

Comments

jijaweb says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Cool game! I like the gameplay. Challeging.

bb_buster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11am

Looks good. A nice challenge.
Good job =)

Zoidbergtron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

Really liked this game, surprisingly addictive!

Fnkee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24am

This game is great. Awesome concept with the moving display. Graphics are sweet as well.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40am

So many mechanics I already knew but in such an insane mix that it becames entirely new game which is very fun to play. Graphics are minimalistic but very nice.

daredevildave says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:33am

Ace. Very well designed puzzle game. Level 2 was a little brutal though, perhaps that could go a bit later. Audio would be good too :-)

Misfit says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:56am

Thanks all.. remember that if you play web-version, only Firefox provides audio. Windows version is a main product.

MRvanderPants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:29am

Cool and solid gameplay. Liked the graphics a lot.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:50am

Nicely polished! I like the art style.

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Clearly addictive. May lost lots of time on it.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Cool retro game, not really minimal, but still good once you know what to do... :)

triplefox says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Very nice presentation. The faux-Boulderdash graphics were making me want to play the real BD though.

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I like how you've adapted rocks and gems into more of a linear platforming type idea. Kind of awkward in places though. These are the things I noticed.

1) doesn't make sense that the rocks fall sideways off of things - at least there's no visual communication telling you to expect that because everything appears to be in a perfectly stacked grid. and also just avoiding the enemies and the rocks once you've made them fall is enough to think about (at least for an early level like that.)

2) The timer could be more obvious, at first I thought I was just doing something wrong trying to get the level to progress so I kept going to the edge of the screen and dying, took me a few levels to notice the timer tucked away in a dark corner.

That's all. Apart from that I really enjoyed it! Some sound would be nice too :)

runonthespot says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Love this. A big fan of balderdash / repton, so the nostalgia element with a twist of minimalism lacking control of screen direction felt like a win to me.

GFM says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:12pm

What, this works on Wii?
When I'll definitely try this out later!

free_napalm says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Very good work. I always preferred Dig Dug to Boulderdash, so if you feel like adding a twist to a classic digging game next time, consider Dig Dug.
It was quite a challenge to beat the whole game, but always reasonable. I did not understand what was going on at first, i.e. a NPC flying around with a lamp in the middle of the screens would have made it easier to grasp the concept. On the other hand, you went for minimalism so it works like this, too.

gizmo says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:33pm

i love it!

Make A Game says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:57am

It's a cool game, very polished.
Now it rests on my browser favourites.

HelkeGames says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Nice game, love the graphic!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]