April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Libelle

by Verrazano - Jam Entry

Libelle: Dragonfly
a fast-ish top down block shooter! purely mutliplayer. the green areas are safe zones. First to five kills wins the match.

Controls: wasd for movemnt, click to shoot (you can hold) press tab to look at the score.

It still has a few errors, I need to really fix the crashing on join. The best way to join a game currently is open the client and let it crash without closing it open a second client, then you should be able to join.
--
config.txt in the config for the client you can change your name, your color and the port/ip of server you are connecting to. I will be hosting a server at 67.188.172.220 port 6080 you can try hosting your own server and connecting to it at 127.0.0.1 for better success.

config.txt for the server you can set your server name and console width height, and the map to be loaded. the current default map is called center piece.
--
linux build coming soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1864Coolness20%

Comments

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:58am

Getting a 404 on the dropbox windows link?

Verrazano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15am

it should be good now sorry about that I was reuploading it, so it went off.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:44am

I really liked how the music changes to match the action. Thanks!

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Y U NO DIE??? :P Awesome, played with Verrazano for 5min :P.

Was the music made entirely in the 72h? Its pretty cool! Cheers!

Verrazano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Haha yea I saw that. That's one of the things I wish I could fix about the game. The bullets are created on the client side of whoever fired them then sent to the server and the server relays them to the other players so your bullets are a little bit behind where it actually shows them. Server doesn't bother to track bullets hitting people all done client side, which is a little bit janky, thanks for the match + you gave me a run for my money 3 to 2

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Pretty cool little multiplayer shooter. I thought the safe zone concept was neat and the music changes were pretty gnarly. Well done!

SentinelTank says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:54am

Really fun game. You can pull off some pree crazy dodges :D
Played it quite a bit, love the maps :)

May 1, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Not bad, but I think the german word is "Libelle"... ! XD

Verrazano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Thanks, I read it wrong when I was looking for names. ;)

FREEZX says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:06am

I like it, thanks for sharing!

qdowngames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Ah yeah it was fun, but I only was connected for a brief second. It was great during that second though!

kddekadenz says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:38am

Linking the Windows version, when using Linux as caption is a no-go.

mildmojo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:06am

The Linux package seems to contain the Windows version. =(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]