April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Go Get Em

by CrazyGage - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: If you want to play against yourself to get an idea of gameplay, poor programming allows you to login with your account on two separate browsers(ex. IE and Chrome) as long as you use different capitalization on your username. Interesting quirk that allows you to play against yourself locally.

--------------------

I finally completed, despite a bunch of opposition, such as a very lost puppy we had to try and find out in the country-side. "Go Get Em", a great strategy game with a very lame name, is my entry. It is fairly simple to play, like go Game and Reversi, but difficult to master. You place a piece, and any occupied squares surrounding that piece become yours. Simple as that. Go back and forth, against your opponent until the field is full. The player with the most area at the end wins it.

The general strategy is to take each turn so that you give up the minimal amount of area and take the most possible.

You will need to create an account so the game can keep track of you. Once in, click the "Find Game" button and you will be joined up with another player at random.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#923Audio2.04
#964Innovation2.54
#998Humor1.60
#1009Fun2.46
#1074Overall2.65
#1080Theme2.92
#1145Graphics2.22
#1169Mood2.11

Comments

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:19am

If you are testing and it seems no one else is online, you can always create a second account and play against yourself or a friend at home.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

Hm hm... well, don't feel like playing with myself, so...

Fnkee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13am

I tried it out, but was having trouble placing spheres.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

I'm now trapped in a game with Fnkee. I can't play someone else if I try. There's no way to quit, and Fnkee isn't even playing anymore.

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16am

yeah, sorry about that. I ran out of time to implement a reset game button.

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18am

actually, that could be considered a win condition bug. I should be able to fix it without breaking the submission rules.

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38am

that win condition/game hang bug has been fixed and you can start again now.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39am

that is a super cool game! I think the play area could be a touch smaller, as it feels like you need to hit a wall before things get super interesting. that's only after a single game though, so I guess I haven't mastered the grand strategy.

This is exactly the sort of "simple to learn but infinitely deep" game that I thin typifies properly elegant game design. I am super impressed.

Please add a chat feature!

cadin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39am

I love Reversi. I wish there were an option for a smaller board. Just trying to play a game to try it out takes forever.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39am

that is a super cool game! I think the play area could be a touch smaller, as it feels like you need to hit a wall before things get super interesting. that's only after a single game though, so I guess I haven't mastered the grand strategy.

This is exactly the sort of "simple to learn but infinitely deep" game that I thin typifies properly elegant game design. I am super impressed.

Please add a chat feature!

xyrix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50am

I may be wrong, but on an odd by odd board, if I am the first player and I play the centre square, then mirror my opponent's move (rotational symmetry), don't I always win? And if either of the sides has an even number of sqaures along it, can the second player not mirror her opponent's moves (reflectional across the centre) and always win?

I'm sure you've already thought of this, I just can't immediately see why that doesn't work.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00am

Cool thing about this: Multiplayer feature! Not everyone can pull that off during a Ludum Dare. Good Job!

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:16am

hmm.. yes, I did set it for 3 board sizes, but never got around to implementing the size request when finding a game. so we were stuck with 16x16.

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:20am

@xyrix: yes, you are probably correct. Maybe the next version will have random dead squares at game start

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:42am

Interesting game. I thought it was Go for a sec, but was quickly proven wrong. never played Othello or Reversi before. Grats on a multiplayer implementation in a LD!

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:00am

I'm Purebe - was tempted to try to go into a best of three against you CrazyGage since we tied at 1-1, but, the games take a bit of time so.. :P Super fun though, I think this is by far the most fun I've had in any of the games I've played up to this point. Probably due to the competitive nature, and I can only imagine the look on your face when you saw your final three moves in game two, I was laughing during your entire dramatic pause there :P

All in good fun! This is like the perfect game for those "social websites" or whatever, I'd really love to play some of my friends in this. Really, really, really good job! I love it :D I think you need to expand on this and get it somewhere, because seriously - this is addictive!

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:20am

@john_conder9: Yeah, just went up against Xyrix, I will make a rev 2 on the website that includes chat, and a random set of dead squares. Chat would increase the amusement level exponentially, I think.
@xyrix: I guess your symmetry idea helped you win 146-110 against me. I will do the dead square thing.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35am

That'd be amazing, can't wait to check it out :D

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:40am

The fun started when I began to branch out a little. However I'm really bad at board games though.

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:41am

No opponent. I understand the need for simple registration, but a single player version, even if I play as the opponent too would provide a good glimpse into the gameplay.

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49am

I am online if you want to play. was in a game with someone else....

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:52am

In my opinion the grid is too big, makes games very long, but the mechanics are okay!

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:54am

yeah, I agree for testing now... It's literally a one word change in my code, but deadline is passed now. So, I can't really change it. :(

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03am

I added a second version on the site. You are not to vote on that edition, but it's there with the dead squares and a smaller board.

xyrix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:47pm

@CrazyGage - I was originally intending to play symmetry against you, but I miscounted the squares. I played a lot of symmetry against you, but not the perfect strategy as it were, and I noticed a useful trick - i.e. if there are an even number of moves left from your position you should play moves to leave empty squares isolated in pairs. When your opponent then plays in one of the two in a pair, you take the other - this guarantees an equal exchange in the worst case but gains you points most often.

To be honest, I was playing on a crappy laptop, and I kept misclicking with the mouse on it, which didn't much help :-P. Playing second in the game just happened to be a huge advantage.

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

For a 48 hour game, good multiplayer code is difficult, good job

CrazyGage says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:39am

@xyrix: yeah, I intend to add a pass button to version 2. Once both users pass, the game is scored as is. Removes being forced to taking those double pairs. I have been using them to try to trap people I play against. lol

Also, version 2 has global and in-game chat features now.

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:21am

I wanted to check it out but I don't want to create new accounts. Please add a "Play as guest" option. Thanks!

Alec Von Arx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:25am

Someone come online! lol

CrazyGage says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:37am

@MaxSzlagor: It doesn't require any identifying info to create an account, just a throwaway username and password...

alts says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:32am

Good playing you CrazyGage. I'm a big fan of strategy games like these. After playing, it seems I encountered the same strategy of empty pairs as xyrix. I really like seeing the natural development of strategies from systems like these. Good job.

CrazyGage says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:41am

@alts: good playing you too. Being the maker of the game, you would figure I would be better at beating you people. lol. A pass button, a pass each means game end as is, would help against those nothing to gain pairs at the end, just like in Go Game. That will go into v2 tomorrow probably.

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:49am

Really amazing that you implemented multiplayer. Fun, clever game, very minimal. I wish there were a computer player to play against to get used to how it works, even if he's bad/random. Nice job.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:50am

Played against biteme, won by resignation with a lead something like 60s to 40s. I'm not sure it has quite the same depth as Go or Reversi, even though it has a similar size for its state space. It would be really nice to have a computer opponent, even a bad one (maybe one that just takes the biggest number of tiles each turn, or one which looks two or three move ahead.)

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:57pm

should have made a 1 player version, i don't really feel like playing by myself -- I didn't rate it though, so no bad ratings from me

ecool377 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:22am

Good game, Just needs some music, and power ups and stuff, its kinda repetitive its fun though.

iFred_QC says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:26am

Didn't feel like creating an account...

mrexcessive says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Nice speed etc. Clean implementation of rules. Couldn't master it myself... maybe a couple more games...

YSelf Tool says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Complex. At the end I have seen some repeating patterns. Interesting.

KHANanaphone says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:03am

I respect the fact you made a multiplayer game, the game itself though is not anything new.

CrazyGage says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:08pm

@KHANanaphone: I'm not sure anything is truly a new idea anymore... :)

May 20, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Fun game. Cool to have multiplayer in a LD. Nice art and polish.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]