April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cube Colors

by PabloAlexandre31 - Jam Entry

The minimalist is an art style that plays only with forms and colors. And this was exactly what we tried to do, forcing the player to use a bit of his mind. Play with the RGB color system with this nice game.

#WebPlayer

Soundtrack:
http://freesound.org/people/weaverfishable/sounds/151780/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#62Innovation(Jam)3.70
#83Theme(Jam)3.83
#192Overall(Jam)3.33
#205Fun(Jam)3.07
#222Mood(Jam)3.11
#261Humor(Jam)2.18
#293Audio(Jam)2.85
#410Graphics(Jam)2.71

Comments

fussycashew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49am

Pretty good overall. :) I like the whole color-mixing mechanic.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54am

Got stuck fairly quickly after absorbing all the blobs, death animations take the speed out of things. Like what you were going for overall, would be interesting to see a version that has a way to recover from mistakes.

Boiúna says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:49am

Really good game and good use of the theme. I liked especially of the transitions effects and details.

Phase says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:28am

This game has a lot of potential. I really liked the color mixing mechanic, but a lot of the combinations were counter-intuitive.

Fritzendugan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:53am

Fits the theme fairly well, both in the sense that the graphics are minimal, but also in a deeper sense where you're creating the most amount of gameplay you can with a simple mechanic. Unfortunately, the color mixing wasn't intuitive enough for me and I found myself struggling to get just the right shade of what I need to get through the door, especially when I have to manage about 10 different color objects that I'm carrying around, and trying to pick them up in just the right order in a cramped space....it was tedious and not very fun. Which is a shame because the game had a decent amount of atmosphere and the level design seems pretty well done. You were just one or two steps short of making the color mixing mechanic what it needed to be, but unfortunately that made me not want to continue playing the game.

atrodo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:57am

Really neat mechanic. Getting the colors just right was difficult, but it was fun.

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:58am

Clean, simple, clever, and well suited to the theme. The introduction taught me what I needed to know quickly and I enjoyed the puzzles and music as well. Great work!

aneeslol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:00am

Fun game, makes me feel like taking that color fundamentals course finally paid off!

vladimirdlc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:07am

I got stuck with gray but I enjoyed so far, really neat concept, great for the theme.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:13am

RGB has a similar mechanic: mixing colors, but Cube Colors implements that mechanic in a significantly more compelling way. This has really great potential. However, the level design was ultimately too frustrating for me to get very far in the game for a variety of reasons:
1. The acceleration-based controls made it difficult to avoid obstacles, which is a shame, because the emphasis of the game shifted from gathering colors to avoiding obstacles.
2. The reset time on death was long and unforgiving.
3. There were too many shades of colors and they were all introduced at once, much in the same way that the mechanics were all introduced very rapidly. I would have preferred a slow ramp-up of difficulty over a number of levels that introduced the mechanics and color combinations rather than an explicit tutorial level followed by a vast environment with what seemed to me an absurd amount of possible color combinations.

shiprib says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:27am

Cool mechanic. I also found the combinations were counter-intuitive, and I had to experiment to figure out what I needed to combine.

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:00am

Really nice. I wasn't able to beat it because of my terrible colorblindness, but I was actually able to muddle through pretty far. I liked the music.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:49am

Very clever puzzle game. Excellent entry!

Ismei says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:46am

I liked the idea of the colour mixing, dropping and picking them up. Found the death a little frustrating as it took a while, so I lost the flow of it a bit.

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:09am

Good music, great concept! I get a bit confused about mixing the colors though... when I'm purple and add green I become pink?

And there is a misspelling in the tutorial at the beginning (You is ready)

May 1, 2013 @ 11:00am

I like the Idea but i think the respawn time is a bit longer
(some parts are a bit hard )

fishbrain says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Nice...

TheSarcastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Awesome! Really good :)

naufr4g0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Really like the minimalism of this game and the use of colors. :)

jhrrsn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:51pm

I enjoyed working out how to make the colours

May 1, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Lovely mechanic!

Super Hamster says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:17am

Good but if those shooter things didn't shoot as often, it would be better. It was still great though, and had a very different idea than any other game I have seen.

GameNacho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Clever game mechanic, I liked it!

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Great mechanic! Some color combinations where hard ;) Music was also great.

runonthespot says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Color mixing mechanic was excellent. Skipping through bullet fire with a character with that much inertia was a little tricky though, and the moving bar dodging back and forth was really hard.

May 3, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Very interesting color mixing mechanic and graphics style. I think it will be hard for normal players to understand that red+green makes orange let alone all the subtle blending involved. My control kept getting stuck so I was constantly pushing to the right, I restarted and it happened again after I died. I got pretty far but I had to give up after that.

geckojsc says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Awesome, challenging, a great combination of puzzles, traps, exploration and plain manoeuvring skill! The music was pretty nice, the colour switching reminded me of the iOS game Chromixa.

The screen resolution was quite huge, I didn't even notice the counter and surrounding UI until after I finished the game, however the game was designed in such a way that it didn't matter. The only thing that really bugged me was the long distance between save points - when I died I seemed to respawn on the other side of the map.

Anyways, excellent job!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:01am

Nice concept, good color mixing mechanics, but the square is in a ice rink !

cadin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:05am

This is a great idea. Really neat concept. I had a hard time figuring out how to mix the colors properly. It almost seemed random, but maybe I'm just not that good with color theory.

I would have liked to see the level design focused more around color mixing puzzles rather than dodging bullets.

It would be really cool to see you develop this mechanic further.

Mesene says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:18am

Quite interesting,nice entry :)
I like the way colors became part of puzzle

May 4, 2013 @ 12:20am

Thanks for all feedbacks and for the playing a game, this is very important and satisfactory for us.

May 4, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Fun cool idea the soundtrack is nice.

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:08pm

I like these mechanics! It is really clever. But level design and controls is too difficult to me :(

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I really enjoyed the tutorial level, with this kind of game it was good to be introduced to the mechanics right off the bat. That being said, I think it would be possible to make different rooms that slowly taught the mechanics instead. Perhaps a post-LD version? :D

The game was really cool, and I loved trying to find the right colors to get through the locked doors. I was kind of sad when I accidentally stumbled into the final room without finishing the rest of the rooms (completionist here!) but it was a fun little end!

Awesome job! Really :)

May 4, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Haha' Thanks. Probably we will make the version post LD.

SmilingCat says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:49am

Pretty cool key system with the color mixing. Good job!

Xgor says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:11am

Feels kinda odd with the gravity in this game, I think it would be much more fun without it.

daniel2357 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:47pm

nice game. liked the color mechanics :)

omaromeir says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Really cool game, nice innovative mechanics, very well designed level. A bit difficult but I managed to finish it and join the cube party (I think that's what the ending was) :D.

thatwhichis says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:42pm

lol, that ending is TRIPPYYYYYY O_O

good mechanic!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Really liked the concept and matching colors to open the door. Maybe limit it to three colors to start out with, because trying to match the exact shade of a door could be frustrating sometimes. Also, maybe show the RGB triplet on the doors and player so that it would be easier to determine which combination of blocks is required to open the door. Great job on this one. Hope to see more levels soon!

JonathanG says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:59am

Some nice ideas here and sticks to the minimalism theme well on all fronts, with catchy chiptune background music and straightforward graphics. Liked playing it but got a bit stuck after a while of wandering about.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Very intelligent puzzle! It's a simple but deep game. I just believe that the difficult increased very fast and this can kick out your players. But the game has quality and this is really simple to adjust. Congratz!

nintendoeats says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:48pm

I like conceptually what is going on here, but colourblindness prevents me from progressing. Sorry :(

ceMelusine says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:44am

Cool mechanic!

May 8, 2013 @ 6:07am

Simple game that uses the theme to a good effect! Nice use of limited aesthetics and color too.

Holofire says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:34am

Nice Game.

May 8, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Not bad, but I soon got stuck beyond all hope... :( Also, the music gets on your nerves quite quickly, and the cube could move a little faster! The idea is good, however.

Rubi Bautista says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Great idea, some colors and the movement sometimes are difficult, but it is very cool!

angelk says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:34am

I love the color puzzling! Very nice concept, a pleasant surprise; I expected something else from the screenshot.

Husky says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:09am

Cool idea!
And it fit the theme! :p
Good job!

GameRespect says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Awesome game! The simple aesthetic, the mesmerizing music, the interesting and unique gameplay, a truly awesome entry!

May 11, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Very good! Nice take on the theme, the color mechanic is really interesting! The only thing i didn't like much are the controls: it could slide a little less (i made a similar mistake in my game).

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:02am

Nice and simple! I like that game. :)

saggiosoft says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:38pm

First class.

RawBits says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Interesting idea but the moving - "sliding on ice" - mechanic kills it. Level design is cool!

Harsay says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:37pm

This game reminds me Mercury from PSP.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]