April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimize This!

by CMaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fairly simple game, created after abandoning my first project at about the 24 hour mark.

The idea is to take some over-designed structures, and reduce them to minimalist perfection by removing parts without breaking the whole thing.

Click parts to remove, direction keys to rotate camera, scroll wheel to zoom in and out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#235Theme3.89
#470Fun3.08
#532Overall3.19
#573Innovation3.11
#713Mood2.73
#798Graphics2.72
#839Audio2.21
#885Humor1.81

Comments

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21am

It fits the theme well for obvious reasons, and you somewhat have to think when minimizing which is fun!

What I didn't like was the cooldown, I don't see how it's necessary.
Well done though!

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:26am

Cooldown is so that you can't just pull out all the pieces when it is falling. I'll agree it is annoying though, perhaps checking that all pieces have low velocity would work.

Winterblood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12am

Great use of theme, and a really nice puzzler - enjoyed it enough to beat all your par times :) Would be nice to have more camera control, and maybe a metagame where beating par scores earns you special moves where you can remove two bricks at once? Loads of potential for interesting problems here.

kyyninen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20am

Nice physics puzzler! I like how the levels have a mix of puzzles with definite right solution and more freeform deconstruction. One thing I felt was missing was ability to tilt the camera, I kept dragging the screen with right mouse button to no avail.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Reminds me of Jenga a little bit! Nice puzzler. :)

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Great use of the theme! May be the best use of theme yet.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Solid puzzler!

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Pretty fun, could benefit from an orbiting camera though

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Fun game, like playing with blocks. Would flow better if the timer was shorter

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48pm

I wasn't a huge fan of the cooldown. Once my structure toppled I didn't actually lose either, I just had to slowly keep removing things until the cube fell through, which took a while.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Nice game, would need some music, however... Did you make any use of the features of the UNITY PRO trial version? I didn't notice any... :)

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I like this game, very tricky and challenging! Would be nice to be able to control the pitch of the camera or have it orbit instead. I think the cooldown is a little too long.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Hmmm. Interesting implementation of minimalism =)
I like your puzzle-physics game mechanics. But it seems to impossible to "deconstruct" all level...
Anyway good job, man!

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Very addictive gameplay. I know that the cooldown is necessary, so the player doesn't click pieces away while the glowing box is falling, but it is nonetheless annoying. Perhaps make a check if pieces are moving - if so, there is a cooldown, if not, the player can progress clicking. Good work! If you make a post-compo version, add music :D

Xanjos says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Pretty nice 3d take on a physics remover puzzle game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]