April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Leapings

by ben657 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Not quite as much done as I'd hoped, but it IS a game, and I think it fits the theme fairly well. Some bugs here and there that need fixing up, but nothing I can do in the time I have left.

Space to jump, Shift to flip gravity. Try and beat your high score, and have fun!

NOTE: Anyone who finds the cheat code and PM's me it, gets an extra vote when the judging is on ;D (It only uses the two keys, and has 5 presses in it)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#395Fun3.16
#428Theme3.66
#615Humor2.15
#913Audio2.06
#914Overall2.83
#990Mood2.42
#1142Innovation2.22
#1247Graphics2.05

Comments

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02am

Very nice. Very simple. It reminds me of The Helicopter Game.

rockford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04am

Yes very fun, yet very hard. Got 105 and a headache :)

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07am

It was fun. It bothered me a bit that I couldn't switch gravity without jumping. Even if I pushed shift, gravity didn't change until I jumped. Also the game starts out a bit too slow in the beginning which makes it a bit boring until it picks up some speed (especially if you play a few rounds).

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:26am

Doesn't appear to run in Safari browser.

KEFIR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35am

Nice minimalistic game :) Changing gravity is very tricky though.

mechagk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Very hard, but fun!

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

It was fun but quickly became repetitive, but overall A nice game :)

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20pm

haha, canabalt reduced to square blocks! cool..

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Can't get more minimalistic in a runner game i guess :)

atrodo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Fun even if the skill level ramps up very quickly.

miro662 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Very funny & nice game. I recommend to change background of site to other color.

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Potato !
Nice and simple, a little too simple I'd say. It's hard to use the gravity, I last 130 only by jumping regularly.

brantkings says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Simple and fun! Liked it when it gets faster.

Lots of leaps of faith though. And a tutorial in-game would be nice.

Overall, nice!

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Wow... 234!!! Beat that guys!!!! I am quite dizzy now though. :))

ben657 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Pfft, my best is 310 so far ;)

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:06am

Don't know whether I got the combination, but I became a coconut thing...? A few bugs that made it annoying, but it was good!

ben657 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07am

Well it's a badly drawn potato, but yeah, that's the one ^

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07am

It felt like I could just stay on the bottom the whole time - the risk of switching gravity wasn't worth the risk in my opinion.

Trench says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Really enjoyed the upside down mechanic, its a little slow at swapping and i found the sound effects quite annoying. If you fixed those you would have a pretty awesome game!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Potato!! :)

Ariake81 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:04pm

like the minimalist Canabalt concept. would benefit from some variety in platforms as they were all the same for me which made the game pretty simple. I also found that i could never reverse gravity as it would always throw me down/up a pit. Like Canabalt would benefit from some hectic sfx or upbeatmusic

Switchbreak says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Very simple, but it's actually really really fun. Good job!

dray says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Nice game, skill rise very quickly, a bit too difficult for me, but a cool minimalist entry

avidgamerNino says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Coooool. Theme approved. Great Job smooth this out and you got a pretty super-awesome game.

8BitPimp says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Simple little game, but nice. Quite hard with the flipping mechanic, but its a neat idea.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]