April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RGB

by Boiúna - Jam Entry

We focused a little in surrealism and abstraction, besides the minimalism.

In this game you live in a gray and lifeless world. Your mission is mix the colors of some objects to generate others, and then find the path.

Instructions:
Use the left mouse button to grab the objects and the right mouse button to drop them. Mix the colors in the machine.

All sounds are from http://www.freesound.org/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#116Theme(Jam)3.71
#121Mood(Jam)3.47
#151Innovation(Jam)3.33
#259Audio(Jam)2.94
#333Overall(Jam)2.96
#337Graphics(Jam)2.96
#349Humor(Jam)1.86
#444Fun(Jam)2.36

Comments

tony.pe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:49am

This is dripping with mood and atmosphere. That music with the pitch whining in contrast with the environment is wonderful. Reminds me a bit of QUBE. Well done!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Enjoyed what I played, but mousecontrol dropped out early on - I could walk around, but not look. Weird!

May 1, 2013 @ 2:47am

Very cool way to combine the colors. It would be interesting if had a aim to indicate where i'm clicking. Good Work!

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:13am

Unique, and peaceful.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:32am

I really like the concept, but felt that the gameplay got tedious after a while because of the separation between the color sources. The music worked well, but the hum didn't loop properly, and the click became jarring after a while. The ending was quite unexpected :)

Boiúna says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:48am

Thank you all for the tips and critics, it's very important to us. We are very happy that you liked our game =D

bbrown2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:31am

I like it, it might be better though if the player was prevented from getting up to the platform before the staircase/ramp is complete. Otherwise the player might think certain blocks are not necessary, and miss out on creating the pathway. Overall quite good.

May 2, 2013 @ 1:58pm

I love the idea, so crazy! i like it!!! nice job!

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:14pm

I like the mood you set in your game a lot. Good job!

May 2, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Nice mood, I love the little touch of the radio - that it can be moved around, and the music it plays. Before I go on - SPOILER ALERT don't read unless you payed through! - The game is really intriguing and engaging ,but once I got the coloured stairs ready, jumped on the platform and started jumping along the trees I felt disappointed that there is nothing left. I was expecting some hidden room in the labyrinth or something, but found nothing :(( Even a silly quote or a picture of a rainbow hidden somewhere beyond the elevated platform, would give closure, otherwise, I left confused o,O Unless I missed something...

cadin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:19am

The mouse control was way too twitchy for me. I could only play for a couple minutes because it was making me sick that every time I tried to look around the whole world would go spinning.

ahm99 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:44am

I can not make brown!!!! How do you make brown??? Other than that, good game :)

May 4, 2013 @ 7:46pm

was a little confused at first but one i got it i loved it

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:09pm

It was a nice concept.

tikilittle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I loved the atmosphere you created. The music did not quite fit the mood. I liked the mechanics though. In the future, I could see after you complete that puzzle, you could walk across the treetops to the next area.

baldwinthree says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:20pm

I really liked the mechanic of mixing colors from the environment. I couldn't get over to the labyrinth due to the treetops being the exact same color as the ground, it was hard to see the edges. Good submission!

Mesene says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Nice entry, I enjoyed the mood that radio gives.

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:03am

I liked the piano music, and it was a pretty cool concept, but very short! I hope you expand it in the future.

dalbinblue says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:33am

Good atmosphere, and certainly an interesting idea to us color mixing as a mechanic, but it doesn't seem like it went very far. As a note, when jumping from tree to tree, you can't distinguish between the top of the tree and the ground making it difficult to judge how close you are to an edge, and I kept falling through the green trees.

Cosine says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:39am

I like the game, but it was a little bit confusing at points (lever, why not you turn?) Pretty awesome mood.

Broxxar says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:25am

Not sure if the music was intentional pitch bending, or perhaps you used 3D sound and Doppler effect in Unity had some unexpected outcomes. Either way, to me, the whining pitches were detrimental to the experience.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:34am

Fascinating concept, and surprisingly good art. Did find it tedious, however.

Floko says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:47am

Unique, indeed.
The mechanics could be clearer, but its a nice iniciative anyway. Looking forward to see more!

May 6, 2013 @ 7:31am

If the controller was a bit smoother it would be quite nice. Also a hold shift to run would have made exploring more enjoyable. Overall good concept, needs a bit more explaining to really understand what's going on. Yay for color mixing!

Jan 30, 2015 @ 3:28am

Unique. This game is best than Proteus. It remember To The Moon, Braid and Bastion. Is a rare masterpiece. 10/10. This changed my life and i love the concept. Maybe the motorcycle to drive in the end would be awesome. Thanks for the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]