April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Schrodinger

by myachin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UP / DOWN - change state of wave function
LEFT / RIGHT - jump to neighbor energy level

Game about wave functions and their adventures in 1-dimesion world.

My first idea about minimalistic game was "game as equation system". For example, you know minimal set of parametrs (x,y,dx,dy) and you need to predicate it. Like old text games about lunar landing. But i decided that text games is hard for players and idea about parameters transformed into differential equations. And i chose Schrodinger Equation and wave function as main hero.

Game has also minimalistic size <70kb :)

I spent last night in generating sound on AS3 and coding smart algorythm of choosing chords and rythms. All game actions reflect in audio, listen...

Written in AS3/FlashDevelop on Omsk Ludum Dare Gathering.
Font from OFL Collection: "Dancing".
ModPlugTracker (for testing intervals and chords).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#4Innovation4.47
#13Overall4.17
#17Audio4.07
#21Fun3.94
#25Theme4.32
#46Mood3.86
#79Graphics4.03
#216Humor2.87

Comments

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40am

This game is beautiful.
A perfect harmony between science and art.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27am

This is the best thing I have played so far, holy crap! Spot on with everything.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31am

Amazing... The audio blends perfectly with the gameplay. The graphics are beautiful living lines. And I think it taught me something... not sure what it is yet

Tanius says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Genius.

LemonTree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Wow!!! Excellent game! Great atmosphere, effects and music!

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24pm

thanx

BortStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

I absolutely love this game. The theme was spot on, the gameplay is fun (and gets more fun the better you do), it is quite pretty, the entire thing is awesome. I can't even praise it enough.

Plus, I mean, it's schrodinger's equation!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Brilliant

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Neat! The clicking kind of hurt though

fizzics says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

That's really great

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:25am

Very great, original and interesting.

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Great game, one of the most original I've seen this time. Amazing Job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02pm

That's a beautiful entry, and I enjoyed it quite a lot. There's such a great use of audio here, it's unbelievable. The effect the black hole has on the graphics is also just amazing.

My one difficulty was that I kept wanting to press up and down to switch lines rather than to adjust my waveform, and I got really confused over time.

TheBenjaneer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Excellent!

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Love this! My favorite of the compo so far!

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Sick! After getting the controls down, I had a lot of fun, no complaints!

justin35f says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Best game this LD, simply amazing.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:57pm

I love the art direction and audio. I'm not very fond of the gameplay though, it's maybe a bit too minimal. Or too little? Why three states instead of only two?

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:34am

Simply splendid. Getting a 5 on innovation from me :)

Had a hard time getting the game mechanics at first (even with the tutorial) and then it looked like it could be "gamed" pretty easily. Maybe I just didn't play long enough to get with the hard part!

But really, this game is quite unique and was a pleaseure to play!

NuSan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Cool mood, innovating on visual and gameplay. It reminds me of vibribbon.

jacklehamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Visually very interesting, but i couldn't figure out the LEFT / RIGHT part

LizEngland says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:46pm

This is wonderful. I love the presentation, the concept, the sound, the lovely visuals. So far this is the best Ludum Dare game I've played.

JokerDen says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:22pm

It was some kind weird.
А еще я почему-то постоянно путал верх и низ и трансформировался не в ту волну, какую хотел.

Symmeteer says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:10am

This pretty awesome. The only thing that bugged me was having to press left/right to change energy levels (which I would think would be an up/down thing). Great job.

mkpictures says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:46am

That was an interresting game!! I really liked how the gameplay and the music fits together.
Good graphics too, even if simple.
Nice job!!

dick_claus says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:19am

Great game! I stuck for 10 minutes :)

Kharza says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:24am

That was really really good wow! I got around 25000ish

gerritg says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Amazing game - Especially liked the soundtrack!

MrShoestore says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Ok... so awesome idea... fun to play. But, and I dont know if was just me, but after hitting the first energy quant or whatever it was call, the audio went from cool to wicked annoying real quick. Like it just got stuck on a bitcrunched white noise. and it stayed the whole time i played.

Xanjos says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Took a while to get used to the controls but the game was very fun and addictive and those waves and spirals were just too beautiful.

Madball says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:51am

It was very fun. And very atmospheric. I really like the game over sound!
I didn`t like the energy level switching. Pressing left to go up and pressing right to go down? Maybe you should set level switching to up/down, and color switching to left/right.
...I can win? Why? I think it would be better if it is infinite...

Gremlin says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:26pm

This is awesome.

MathiO says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Really enjoyed the curving paths in this, especially when you get in the zone!

Zccc says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Wow! This is now my favorite Ludum game! It plays perfect and it's very original!

DdlyHeadshot says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Quite a complex game for such a simple idea. Takes a while to get used to it but it's really quite fun! A high-score thingy in the corner would be a welcome addition for any future development.

May 19, 2013 @ 11:11pm

That was amazing! My score ~27750. The controls were a little tricky to figure out at first, but after I got the hang of it I was flying through there. The gameplay is a bit repetitive but I think you could definitely expand on the formula to keep players interested, maybe add more particle types and random things that can happen.

Misael.K says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:24pm

The audio is broken for me, like MrShoestore described, when using Firefox. Testing in it Chrome, audio seems to work fine.
Fun game, nice job!

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:41pm

This game is fun. I especially enjoyed getting up to high speeds and the switching between energy levels.

Keast says ...
May 22, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Ok game, but I believe that you fail to understand the real tragic of black hole wave function absorption. Every year, we loose too many bosons to this phenomenum. I appeal to you to show some respect :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]