April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

One Chance

by spacechase0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get to the top of the tower!

Timelapse: http://youtu.be/7OhOusQ0484

Controls:
* WASD or arrow keys - move
* Q - drop items
* Space - interact, use selected item
* 12345 - select an item in the hotbar

The game has a kitten and a potato. :P

Strategy: If you keep dying, try briefly turning around to attack the monster and then keep running away. Make sure to use the weapon while facing the monster!

Note: Main gameplay part of the theme is at the end.

In general, keys unlock doors. They only work once, and only on certain doors.

General progression:
* Surface -> get dagger -> go to cave
* Cave -> get key -> go to dungeon
* Dungeon -> get key, weapon -> puzzle room -> boss -> surface
* Surface -> go to tower
* Tower -> get key -> get weapon, puzzle room -> final boss

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#271Audio3.17
#725Mood2.72
#835Overall2.91
#839Humor1.86
#840Graphics2.67
#864Fun2.65
#901Theme3.17
#1034Innovation2.41

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:02am

It's hard, the monsters keep killing me somehow

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:32pm

The "briefly turning around" trick, works. I think this could have a slightly higher pace.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

I was pretty unclear what I was doing at first... when unlocking the "upper" building didn't work I went down, and then had no way of defending myself. It'd be nice if you had to pick up the knife before you went down into the cave.

Fighting seemed annoyingly difficult... it would have been much better if you could hit multiple stacked enemies with 1 swing, and if there was some sort of knockback when you hit the enemies.

Enemies that were at the doorway of a level that you left stay there when you try to go back... and kill you immediately.

The music and sounds were top-notch for a 48-hour game. Very well done!

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43pm

A fun little adventure. :) I liked the overall feel of the game; I felt it wasn't very clear what to do at the start, though. Good work, regardless. :)

TobiasL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58pm

The music and sounds were really good. Though you could probably compress the music more, 23MB feels like a little much.
I couldn't figure out how to get out of the game over screen, just restarted the whole game instead.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Really nice, couple of problems with the dagger and the boss battle but other than that a nice solid well polished game. Nice job!

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Tricky, I thought I had the hang of hit but there were not enough health powerups to keep me alive. Loved the music.

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Nice music! The game is confusing, I didn't know what to do. Only after reading the comments did I try again and find the key and knife. But then I killed a few monsters, found another key and that's it... No idea where I should be going or what the things in the scenery are.
(I played with Wine under Linux.)

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

The key is for another dungeon. I'll post some more instructions in the description.

minism says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40am

Like the item slot / drop system, and the cat follower. Game crashed for me unfortunately in the turqoise buildling. Combat could be greatly improved by implementing knockback.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:48am

Loved the visuals, mood and sound :) Pretty cool little adventure!

hgouveia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:27pm

i love "rpg" so very nice done, it reminds me a Zelda for NES,

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Nice game, well done :)

MuffinTrap says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:58pm

The gameplay was simple and fluid. The cave level had lots of empty space, I would have enjoyed more direct guidance.
The green magic cucumber was a bit strange, was it a weapon.
It was fun to find the kitten.
I did not get to the end.

lanz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Cool little game. I especially liked "hit" sound, it so cute .)

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Hard game but cool. Good job!

Prudiiarca says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Good job.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:40pm

i like the dificult, good music, i think this is real good game for play and try and try all the time hehe nice job!

HELLO23 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:43pm

I really liked the graphics, and the music. The adventure is nice and fun. The only annoying thing is that you can not heal .

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]