April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Final Journey

by Macroz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Final Journey is a mystical adventure through space and time.

Mouse or touch for controls. Learn the rest :) Enjoy! Sounds included.

Google Chrome recommended because it is fast! iOS is bugged at the moment, otherwise it's pretty multiplatform.

This was my third entry into Ludum Dare. Loved making the game! Every time is better than the last! #win

More information at the game and GitHub.

Thanks for rating the game and comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#523Mood2.92
#552Theme3.54
#742Graphics2.79
#931Audio2.00
#1084Innovation2.30
#1127Overall2.57
#1185Fun2.18
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05am

I like the style! But it feels a little slow.

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

Frankly while I understood the minimal aspect of it, I couldn't really "get" it. I just had to keep my mouse button down and stay flying. Got old quick. The audio became annoying.

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

I probably sound like a jerk too... it's okay you can rate my whole game poorly if you like, because mine sucks. :-)

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05am

Pacing could always be better, I agree. There's a bunch of different "waves" to see but depends on randomness and screen size too.

Threre's just not enough time to do everything :-) also need a fast setup so it's not too slow. Unfortunately so with JavaScript.

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

I feel the gameplay, like Kinzata, a bit slow, but hey, it was funny :)!

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

It was a little slow for me to (Firefox), bit it was still playable and enjoyable.

TheFuntastic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:37pm

I think the game loop would feel a lot better if the velocities on everything was turned up, to get the edge of your seat feeling.

For future reference, if you're having problems with html performance and fast updates perhaps look at how to implement a timed loop with a fixed update time. Can help keep physics calculations consistent even in the face of low performance.

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Thanks for the suggestions. I agree it would work better if there were more fast paced stages in the gameplay and I intend to do just that. It is using a fixed update loop already. I'm not sure why the max velocity of the objects is so limited even though there should be no limit in place. I have to look at it later. Might be a bug in the physics engine that I'm using or me using it wrong.

Also I need to profile it in again. Earlier when I did it in Chrome I noticed that it was idling for 30% of time still so not sure what the problem is.

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

I love the physics. Also, the art is pretty good for a game that perfectly suit the theme !

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12pm

I love the look of it, but the audio became a major detractor. Also, I feel I mastered the game after 30 seconds.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Good stuff! I agree with some of the other comments suggesting maybe the pace be a little higher, but honestly? Very soothing at the moment.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Audio got annoying pretty fast, game ended when I crashed into a wall, I think? I agree with others that the game could do with a bit more speeding up, as it stands it doesn't pose much of a challenge.

uberneen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I won, but it became very tedious after a short amount of time. The length of the run was a large part of it, but it might have also helped if the ship and oncoming obstacles moved more quickly.
On the bright side, this is the first game I've reviewed that made me feel like a salmon.

Switchbreak says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Hey, I won. I really liked the look and the style, though the game was too slow for me.

drkrunk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Interesting, fun to play. I liked the style.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]