April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

tequilaJumper

by mort96 - Jam Entry

A fairly simple platformer game. You play as a green qube, and jump up on platforms. Despite the basic concept, it's surprisingly fun.

The game is written in JavaScript, and rendering is done using Canvas. It is therefore 100% cross platforms and cross browser (unless you use IE8 or below, as it doesn't support canvas), and can even be played on smartphones and tablets.

On a computer with keyboard, this is the controls:
A: move left
D: move right
W or space: jump
S: go down faster

On a phone/tablet, jump is always activated, and you steer by tilting your device.

In my experience, Google Chrome and Safari (Mac) give the best performance. Opera and Firefox tend to be quite sluggish. If you experience performance problems, I encourage you to try it in Google Chrome, as it's JavaScript engine is beast.

The game does seem to perform better on iOS than on Android-devices. Where iPad Mini and iPhone 4s run a smooth 60 FPS, people have reported that their nexuses and samsung galaxy IIIs get very bad FPS.

All feedback is highly appreciated :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#169Theme(Jam)3.56
#347Fun(Jam)2.71
#402Humor(Jam)1.54
#419Overall(Jam)2.76
#461Audio(Jam)1.33
#486Mood(Jam)2.16
#507Innovation(Jam)2.06
#529Graphics(Jam)2.05

Comments

mchaza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34am

Controls a bit stiff on keyboard, but pretty good job none the less.

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10am

nice variation on the classic jumper games
a little too basic in graphics, audio(?) and gameplay but.. this was the theme..

hnjslater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14am

Very good little game, even though it was the theme, a graphic for the protagonist would've been worth doing.

Aceria says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:15am

Surprisingly compulsive! 8900 ish was my score after a couple of tries. I nearly got stuck around 7000 where two tall, vertical platforms' movements were almost perfectly synced (rising and falling at the same time), making it nearly impossible to progress.

koblaja321 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20am

Game of the year!

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30am

The controls feel quite nice on keyboard. :) Nice job!

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35am

I actually liked it best when I held down the up key, simulating the auto-jump you have in the iOS version. maybe you could embrace that control system (ala bean's quest) in the web version too. nice work

Typedeaf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:40am

Pretty simple and actually funny game

mort96 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

Thanks for the compliments :)


@ncgames yeah, I've concidered changin it to always jumping unless you hold the jump key, as the way it's played now invites to holding down space/w 99% of the time.

@Aceria Sadly the automatic world gen lsn't perfect. There are times when it's close to impossible to proceed :/

I agree, I should maybe have a slightly more advanced main character than a green cube, but meh :P

DARKCORTEX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:50pm

nice

Komradus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

I like how the faster platforms make you bounce all over.

ElScootro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:03am

Quite fun on the iPhone

jamioflan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:38pm

13600 on my first try!
A decent game; I like the way you get a boost from going through platforms (it makes it flow really well) and I'm very impressed with iPad support (you can probably tell that I'm using one).
Can get a little annoying having to wait for the correct intersection of two moving platforms though.

kunzbe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:57pm

really clean game, i like this.

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:14pm

I found this game a little bit basic for a jam entry (the add of art or audio could be really great even if they are simple) but the gameplay is super nice. I love the physics of the jump that makes me think of Meat Boy. The difficulty is very well dosed... Seriously good entry. Congrats ;)

vilya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Not a bad idea, but needs a bit of variation in the gameplay in my opinion.

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Pretty solid. The game seemed to give a pretty steady progression of platforms, and even seemed to give the player a breather after a tough section, which is pretty good for a random platform generator if that was your intent.

pikmin4000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:50pm

wow I got a highscore of 6263, I was strangely sucked into the game even though it didn't have impressive graphics nor any music. After that first play through though, it doesn't make you have any re playability. I'd suggest perhaps adding new mechanics the player can do after a certain point or powerups of the sort to spice up the repetitive gameplay.

Krise20 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:53pm

I really enjoyed this, say and played this on the train on my laptop for like 20 minutes!

Well done

Holofire says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Reminds me of some of the games on the app/play store. Great job!

Diventurer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Not really too creative, as it's just yet another dull clone with no new ideas. It's also very slowpaced, which is really bad for a game like this. The vertical sliders horribly interrupted the flow of the game. I'm not trying to be mean, just honest. It's also impossible to die unless you want to. The game works fine though, so you did an alright job. The design just didn't fit in.

john_conder9 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:36pm

I love the concept of the platform velocity applying to the cube, just like you would expect it to - but it was a bit of a shock since you don't normally expect that. Pretty cool. The controls were a bit stiff, yeah, I think that's a good way to put it - but not all that bad and overall I liked it! Great job :D

May 1, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Very simple and addicting game...

Lerc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:47pm

8432. Tense.

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:00am

I like the simplicity of this design. It would have been nice to hear some audio.

lathomas64 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:01am

nice job. really did well with making a very simple set of actions fun.

atlantian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:12am

Enjoyed the game, loved how the fast platforms made you jump.

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Nice jumper. What's up with the shaking platform??

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:09am

Good idea. Congratz!

Travis Irby says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:18am

Controls were really good, I got into a good rhythm for a while :) nice job!

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Nice work. Were the walls bouncy or just my imagination?

mort96 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Thanks everyone! :)

@GranaDa Vibrating platforms are a result of the random world generation. When making a platform which moves along the X axis, it first generates a random X coordinate for the start position, then a random end coordinate. If they happen to be close, and the speed (which also is random (though dependant on some factors)) is high, it vibrates.

@Prelucid Yup, hitting the edges bounce you.

@SmilingCat No, the random generator doesn't do anything like that - it's just the randomness of the universe being awesome ;)

Felix20 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:20pm

The physics were good for the most part, but this game is a bit lacking in every other area.
The random generation is good, it has a nice variation while not making impossible jumps, as far as I can tell.
The graphics aren't bad, but they aren't good either, the game just gets boring pretty quickly.
Overall this is a nice little prototype, but as a game it's a bit lacking.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Nice game, fits in the theme.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:13pm

I like the simplicity of this game. The jumps can be a little floaty.

May 9, 2013 @ 3:46am

A little too simple for a Jam submission but that isn't a valid point of criticism honestly. I think it was pretty fun besides the fairly stiff controls.

Dans17 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:15am

The links aren't working for me :/

MaxguN says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:30am

Qwerty controls, alternative controls would have been appreciated. Game is a bit fun but the low gravity makes it too slow. Outrageously faster movements would have made it more interesting I think.

Also, link is dead, I found it there : http://mortie.tk/mort/static/webapps/tequilaJumper/

mort96 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Pardon, restructured my site and forgot to upload the post with the new paths. Should be fixed now

dansludumdare says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:03pm

I didn't get any audio.

Um, I think the controls didn't offer enough control. I'm not sure if that's what the people calling them stiff mean. And I realize that sounds weird so I'll give examples. I couldn't control my jump height, which I can totally do in real life (being unrealistic is OK (you're a cube), but what did you gain from breaking my intuition?). It was hard to reverse decisions about jumps because you moved faster on the floor than in the air (ie if you move left, jump, then hit right at the apex of your jump, you don't get back to where you started). And slipping off horizontal sliding platforms (by standing on its edge and pressing nothing while it switched directions) probably could've been interesting, but because it was so hard to hit a previous platform, it was just frustrating.

Regardless of my take on difficulty vs. frustration, this is an elegantly executed concept. And well done on the random generation.

ataxkt says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Controls are a bit tricky, its a little floaty for me. But still, really good little game!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:27pm

The jump is a bit too lunar.

May 19, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Nice little game, maybe a bit hard... Gee, I had to say that often in this LD... :)

May 19, 2013 @ 7:50pm

The controls are rather difficult to deal with, but other than that, a fun, difficult vertical platformer. The randomly generated platforms are innovative and provide replayability. I like the way the player is scored depending on how high they got, too.

I may come back to play this one more once I have more time after the voting ends.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]