April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Dark Secret

by kivifreak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Dark Secret is probably one of the best game experiences i have ever made! Although i slept most time of the competition i think the game came along really really great :)
I hope you think the same thing!

There are 2 Alternative Endings!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Controls are Left and Right arrow.

About the game and myself
I am Kevin De Keyser also known as Kivifreak.
Anyways i am 15 years old and i really love gaming and making games.

The Software i used:
- Processing v.b2_8 (my coding software. More about it here: www.processing.org)
- Paintbrush for Mac (my Painting Software next to Apples Preview)
- GarageBand (to play some music)


I hope you really enjoyed playing this very special experience of a game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

kivifreak says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Controls are again right and left arrow keys :) I hope you enjoy it ^^

Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:24pm

The text speed is too slow. :/

kivifreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46am

That is interesting, my friends told me it is too fast :3

heuermh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22am

Fairly long wait for a potato joke, nice job on the sprites & map though.

Ysty says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Nice. Found the real ending first time through. :)

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Really cool game, TWIST ENDING! Made me think about life death and potatoes. Thanks for sharing this truly monumental experience.

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:16pm

I like the great graphics, sound effects and the unique idea. I don't like the red text, because it's hard to read.

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Cool sprites for the characters (so much contrast with the tiles / ui :x) and nice music. The game is wayy to slow, making this game boring

MinionStudios says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:37am

Funny and short as hell. Even with the extra content.

cardboard says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:24am

The game kept freezing on me (linux x64), but seeing the comments on the game's ending made me want to know what happened in the end. So I went through your source and figured it out :D Interesting endings and I like the epic music. I'm not going to rate because I didn't actually get to finish the game, but I did enjoy the game while it wasn't freezing on me.

May 28, 2013 @ 3:56pm

OMG That little guy is so cute

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]