April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Motion

by Pacifist Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Motion is a minimalistic arcade game about adaptation, memory, and control.
Will you figure it out?

Press M to mute the music if you'd like.
You can also take a screenshot with F9.

Post your high scores in the comments and I'll edit this post to display the top scores! Enjoy!

Leaderboard:
1. Wet Heads 164
2. Pacifist Games 123
3. bitbof 91
4. Colin Northway 73
5. droqen 22

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#129Fun3.58
#176Innovation3.64
#176Overall3.62
#249Theme3.88
#285Audio3.15
#352Graphics3.33
#386Mood3.11
#594Humor2.18

Comments

Thein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56am

I really enjoyed this game! I love the visual style. Gameplay reminds me a lot of the WarioWare games. After 10 minutes of play I've only managed a measly 13 points.

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24am

That was really cool, I liked the effect of going from one level to the next. The game could use a few more control variants but for 2 days that is really well done. Nice work!

droqen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:51am

22 points!

droqen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52am

That wasn't a very quality comment. I think the number of control variants were pretty good, honestly! It could do with maybe new spaces to explore, but the level swapping is great :)

Was it intentional that you put the hardest mode first :P
(is it always black first?)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Nice game well done!

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Clever gameplay mechanic and level transition system, very nice.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

14 points!
I wish there was a little more time to react to new controls sometimes; especially the one where you go in the direction opposite to your eye. Otherwise the game is a bit too focused on having to remember which color does what, instead of on dealing with the control changes.
It's still really cool tho.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Not much to add, nice game. I had appreciated an easier start, but once you get the idea it's flowing. Also like the music.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:58am

The mode switches were great, really tough to get your mind set up fast enough to translate into a new motion interface; it takes a lot of practice. Having the score screen and title all flow into one another was cool, helped emphasize motion by having everything flow. I also loved that each new level was inside the last one; it felt like diving into a fractal.

bitbof says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:27am

Nice job! I like that you can see the color of the next circle so you can prepare yourself.
It's interesting what associations build up over time with the colors, sounds and movement. Makes it feel less arbitrary.
Green - Snake
Violet - Sinewave
Blue - Underwater
Cyan - Blow dryer
Black - Roomba
Yellow - Tennis
Red - Little truck
Pink and Orange - Fuck!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Starting level is a bit unforgiving if you don't understand the controls yet. Very unique gameplay.

TurboDindon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Clever! The graphic style is simple but really efficient just as the gameplay mechanics. The game is really addictive but ... I was so bad at it. I only scored 11 points.
Very good game! Congrats

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:50pm

You evil person (and I mean that in a good way). That's very clever. I like it.

Jellycakes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:12am

Really cool, I liked how the mechanics changed each level, really made it interesting! Good job!

Alucard J says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:12am

Really catchy art style, fun gameplay and a good challenge. This is a fun game, Well Done =]

pansapiens says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:50am

You this game is evil and you are a bad person ... love it ! Scored just 7 before I threw in the towlr .. but I'LL BE BACK.

Pierrec says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:43am

it lags on my PC making it quite impossible to play (the orb react one second after I pressed the key...) But this looks beautiful and fresh! I love it anyway!

NiallM says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:04pm

I like this a lot. Changing the controls each time while retaining the same goal is a really neat idea. Aesthetics are great too :)

May 12, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Really loved the visual style and music, it made me smile. ^_^

Wet Heads says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:37pm

http://s05.radikal.ru/i178/1305/fe/e0df7eaf5a68.png
GODDAMN I DID IT

Taro Omiya says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:28am

Very innovative game, that's kind of like a minigame compilation of different controls. I kind of felt like in this case, though, instructions could have helped. I'm aware that the colors indicate the control scheme, but it was difficult to remember all of them.

csanyk says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Well done! I love the design of this. It's very simple, colorful, and discovering the play mechanics through trial and error, and adapting at each new level is very fun! I'm very impressed with this. You've really improved a lot since the last LD, too!

csanyk says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:23pm

I scored 18 by the way:)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]