April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DropPix

by AtkinsSJ - Jam Entry

Your goal is to copy a black and white pixel image. The trouble is, you can only fire pixels in from the edges. Build the image up, without accidentally cutting yourself off.

The download is a JAR file, so it should run on any desktop systems with Java installed... theoretically. :P

It should run on Android too, but I'm too tired to sort that out right now. ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#154Theme(Jam)3.62
#236Fun(Jam)3.00
#253Innovation(Jam)3.04
#301Overall(Jam)3.04
#480Graphics(Jam)2.41
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Nice, solid puzzle mechanic. It was a bit too easy for me though. Perhaps having another mechanic, like breakable blocks, could have made for more challenging puzzles.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:58am

When I looked at the rules I thought "oh this will be neat!" But the challenge just wasn't there. The 3 level (where you write an S) contained the game play elements that would have made this better,

AtkinsSJ says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07am

Thatnks, UltimateWalrus and arrogant.gamer. I'm glad you like the mechanic. :D

I was disappointed with the puzzles myself. I found them really difficult to come-up with, and only had about half an hour in which to do so. It was going to have a level editor so you could share new puzzles, but I wasted time on some code I didn't need and didn't get that done. So, overall, I managed my time poorly.

john_conder9 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Well done! Some of the buttons along the top were hard to click on but minor issue. I would agree that this could have used some more puzzle mechanics, but, overall it was nice and fun, I really enjoyed myself!

I felt like levels 4 and 5 did a good job of ramping up the difficulty, but once you figure out the mechanic it's not too hard to solve them. I really enjoyed level 3 with the two blue blocks, since it had me over-thinking the problem - clever!

I think with some more mechanics this is something I would find myself wasting a lot of otherwise productive time on, great job!

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:54pm

john_conder9: Thank you very much! I noticed myself that the top buttons are unresponsive, but I didn't manage to find what caused that.

Pabo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:57pm

A solid entry. One simple game mechanic, as the "Minimalism" theme suggests, dictates the whole game. I like puzzle games for exactly that reason, and actually believe that it's more difficult to come up with a solid puzzle game than with some already established video game genre.
The game plays well, it's all wonderfully clear. No spectacular graphics or sound, but this isn't needed anyway. Except from one minor glitch (I sometimes had to move the frame a little to make a button clickable again), the game ran very good and responsive.
What I believe your game lacks are puzzles - the supplied puzzles aren't as challenging as your gameplay idea could allow for. Should you wish to continue developing it, you'll have plenty of time to come up with great puzzles (I guess LD really is too short for these things).
Or maybe you could add a puzzle generator. I don't know how easy it is, but it might work with the following two rules:
1: Shoot tile adjacent to another tile.
2: Prefer a "shooter" that places the tile so that it creates empty space between itself and another tile.
It's the empty space between tiles that makes the game difficult, as it restricts plain stacking. This was evident in your last stages, with especially the last one being rather entertaining to solve.
All in all, a solid, focused and quite polished entry, that already offers everything it needs to improve itself with a few more maps.

PhaZ90771 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Pretty cool concept. I'd like to see this expanded upon. I feel like how the pixels are dropped is a bit unintuitive until you try it out. Also, the buttons on the sides of the board didn't work sometimes.

StMatn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Nice puzzler! I think a time-trial mode would have been great, but the relaxing feel of it is good as well. I had fun playing it :)

ashdnazg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:39pm

I thought it was a bit trivial until level 5, and then it became quite interesting!
Good job :)

mikeware says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Good puzzle game, though the buttons wouldn't always respond to my clicks. Would have been nice to see a few more levels as it was only starting to get a bit challenging near the end.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Fun and clear. :)

swizzcheez says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Nice little block puzzler. Buttons across the top seemed hard to click though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]