April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Only Winning Move Is Not To Play

by csanyk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Obviously I'm going for a high Theme and Humor score here.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#207Humor2.90
#1047Theme2.97
#1255Mood1.35
#1332Graphics1.33
#1336Innovation1.54
#1346Fun1.24
#1349Overall1.53

Comments

Crynix says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 4:34am

I demand cross-platform support!

csanyk says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 4:52am

Lol, I'd love to do that, Crynix. I bought GameMaker Studio for that very reason. Yet for some reason this project won't even build to HTML5. Well, it builds, but when I load the resulting web page in my browser it won't run anything. Very odd.

And to build to OS X or iOS or Ubuntu or Windows 8 I need a second computer that runs that OS to target. My current environment doesn't have that. But if any other GameMaker Studio developers out there want to download the source and make a build, by all means go ahead. And if you can send me the build, I'll host it and update this entry with a link to it.

csanyk says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 9:28pm

OK I managed to rebuild my project and get an HTML5 build that runs. I'm not sure, but I think the project I worked on last night may have been corrupted, resulting in the HTML5 build to fail.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55am

Cute. I like it!

Just wanted to stop in and thank you for your GM Wave Motion Tutorial. Really helped me out with my entry!

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00am

haha. You get a humor rating, that is all.

csanyk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:31am

Suese, that's really all it deserves, anyway. I hope to be more inspired by the theme next time. This was really more of a joke entry/protest of the theme. - - although if I had a freer schedule this weekend, I would have made a second, more serious attempt.

PacifistGames, you're quite welcome! I am glad my tutorials are getting popular. I worked on the wave motion problem pretty hard, as a result of the previous LD, where I had to fake it with a sprite animation. I do learn a lot from doing these compos. :-D

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:18am

Hm...I don't about the theme though...this feels more like nihilism than minimalism...You took away too much!

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Actually wanted it to be more smartass against me when I lost.

csanyk says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:15pm

@Brassawiking: Congratulation! A loser is you.


;-)

domrein says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:10am

I didn't feel like the game mechanics and the first person perspective really meshed well. Moving the jelly past the dragon was especially difficult after you got the cake, but I can appreciate the statement you were trying to make there.

Ryusui says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:39am

A strange game indeed.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:18am

I got stuck on the third level =(

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:14am

Heheh nice. Although I'm sure it cheated. I'm positive that I won!

dick_claus says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:00am

haha, ok.

May 18, 2013 @ 8:22pm

I lost the first couple times, but I'm trying a different strategy now. So far so good!

jamioflan says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:30pm

I'm impressed by your flawless support for iPads and other mobile devices; I appreciated every facet of this deep and complex project just as well as a PC gamer would have.

Koltiman says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:09pm

This will be the benchmark for future gaming

Natedog9145 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:47am

I long, compelling journey with lots of great gameplay and story twists! Great game

Zim the Fox says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:46am

I opened the link and it was a blank square, and after a few seconds it displayed 'You Win.'

Yay!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Very difficult! I eventually gave up after dying for the 7th time... You might want to give us more health and an ability to heal. Otherwise, great job!

csanyk says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:01pm

@Zim the Fox, you won my game?! That's un-possible!

rezoner says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:24pm

White is my favorite color so u get 5 in graphics.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Here didn't work. In the beginning I thought that the concept is just the blank screen with 3 texts, but reading the comments, it seems that there is something to play. I didn't rate because I didn't play :(

Rafael Sales says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Okay. Reading again the text:

Obviously I'm going for a high Theme and Humor score here.

Yep. It's only this. Rated! hahaha

Fnkee says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Haha, genious!

csanyk says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Rafael Sales, I think perhaps some of my players ended up staring at the game so long that it started giving them hallucinations, or something;-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]