April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Minimalistic Nuclear Space Potatoes !

by Hatscat - Jam Entry

Pheewww! What a challenge for us to make a third person space shoot (which is most a flight simulator gameplay) for the first time, for a ludum dare!
We learned a lot about quarternion physics and maths :p

Everything is not pollished, and the final result is far from our first expectations (we wished to include a true highscores leaderboard for example... maybe in a post entry), but we're pretty proud of us :)

Which tools we used :
- Game engine : Unity 3.5,
- Scripting language : C#,
- 3D art : Voxatron game + Blender (only to convert .obj into .fbx, as Unity don't read .mtl files),
- 2D art : Paint.NET,
- Sounds : usfxr (C# library),
- Music : GarageBand.

So, what will you find in this game?
- minimalistic goal,
- minimalistic obstacle,
- minimalistic story,
-minimalistic arts,
- and minimalistic potatoes!

Enjoy :D

Controls : Mouse only! But you can use your keyboard if you prefer, with arrows/WASD and ctrl/space keys (beware it's harder!).

Edit : in the "Extended release" we will include your ideas and suggestions (and ours ^^), balance the difficulty and polish this game progressively. It's not to improve our rating, only the original entry have to be rate, but we belive in the potential of this game and wish to include new elements, like explorations goals, etc. Stay tuned ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#53Mood(Jam)3.74
#102Humor(Jam)2.96
#140Graphics(Jam)3.71
#156Overall(Jam)3.44
#182Audio(Jam)3.23
#215Fun(Jam)3.05
#264Theme(Jam)3.28
#360Innovation(Jam)2.68

Comments

kingsman142 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

It says I need to install unity web player, but I have the latest version. You probably should have included more links, such as downloads for different operating systems.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:41pm

I love the lighting and the block-like constructions. Nicely done.

psychopsam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:25am

You think like me (check out Nano) - can't play as it keeps asking me to install Unity Web Player which I already have.

Hatscat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:44am

Thanks for your bug repport!
Understood, I updated the webplayer link (and move it in other folder) and included more donwload links. :)
But beware, I didn't made a quit button, it will be for the extended entry...

"Block-like constructions" are made with the Voxatron game (editor mode), in voxels, then exported in .obj ^^

psychopsam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39am

Great game but it was too hard to get anywhere. I think the problem is the ship moves too fast to shoot enough asteroids so getting potatoes becomes a suicide mission. Perhaps reduces the speed a little. music is perfect as are the graphics and flight engine despite the speed issue. Well done.

Hatscat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07am

Thank you for your feedback psychopsam! I take into consideration for the post release.
It's quick to set up, but balanced the game is hard while developping, this kind of issue become so natural ^^

delanghe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02pm

A very good game,it's a good job.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:55pm

I thought this game was fun even though its not polished as stated above. I wish the y-axis was inverted (up is down and down is up) but other then that it was fun!

Hatscat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24pm

@rustybroomhandle : Right, I never play like that but I understand your need, it's noted for the post entry ;)

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Love the graphics. Wish the controls were more like freespace though, cause then it would basically be Asteroids in 3D and done well! Would love to see this taken further!

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Great work, really inspiring !

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I am loving the Voxatron-esque graphics. You're right that the game is minimal, but who doesn't enjoy flying through space and shooting lasers?

Great work!

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Loved the voxel graphics. But the spaceship itself was too slow for me to find it very enjoying.

Hatscat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:37pm

@Cake&Code : yeah, that's what I think too ^^
@Haversack : you wish that I break the camera margins? hmm.. why not, I can try it to see if it can be fun.

Thank you all for your comments!

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Nice job! The camera placement and shading invoked an awesome feeling of actually flying through space! I'm glad you kept the camera close to the ship :D The controls were a bit weird though as they felt unresponsive when trying to aim but I understand that the ship's turning speed is part of the game :D

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:40pm

So much awesome. The addition of potatoes is an instant win. But not only that, SPACE POTATOES! Awesome sauce. handles well and works well mechanically. I noticed the voxatron visuals which was pretty neat! I wish there was a way to slow down to turn around so you could collect stuff a little easier but other than that, well done!

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:36pm

right right cool boxy spaceships. like it... but it is really hard to play... controlls a little to slow... Could be a local problem with my computer... But I like the Game ...

stromchin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:04am

How did you export the objects from voxatron? All I get is .vob.png objects, which blender doesn't recognize. Could it be that yours is an older version?, I'm currently using 0.2.5

stromchin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:12am

Nevermind, I found it. Just use "export" command in the console

Hatscat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:32am

@stromchin : yeah, here are the export commands :

export filename.obj // also saves a .mtl file. can be loaded in almost any 3d modelling program.
export filename%d.png // a set of 2d slices are saved as png files (filename0.png, filename1.png..)
export filename.txt // raw data is saved in a simple text format (see vox.txt)

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:09am

Looks like there is a whole universe inside a window :|
I love the square trail and the music, nice touch of humor, good job

mungoman1 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Pretty interesting concept!

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Wow, great game! I was impressed by the quality of the controls and the simple and effective cube graphics!

davidpeter says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Nice game! The controls were a miss for me - CTRL for shooting means that on my Mac laptop, pressing the arrow keys will change my workspace. I wish it was Space instead or something. I have a trackpad so I'd prefer not to use it for shooting games like this!

Hatscat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:30pm

@davidpeter : You are brave to play it with the keyboard ^^
It's true that I didn't specify it but we intended this game to be played with the mouse only.
For you, I added the "space" key to shoot now (in the "extended release").

Floko says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Quite interesting idea. I would like to see upgrades for the ship in the extended versions =]

keep up working guys!

ps: I really liked how your shots light up the obstacles ahead, sometimes even before you could normally see them. That was an awesome touch!

Geoege says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Pretty great game, really love graphics.

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:28am

What a cool shooter! I love the graphics!

ronsho says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:22pm

This is pretty solid (only played the first version). I feel a bit too constrained to the center of the screen, and actually pretty easy to go without shooting anything or hitting anything. Maybe steers a little too slowly.

Beldarak says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:04pm

I played the two versions. Great game. I really loved it. I think some RPG elements could be awesome: using the potatoes to buy and improve stuff like the field of attraction of potatoes (sometimes I'm super close to them but it didn't pick them up, quite frustrating), shoot power, etc

Hatscat says ...
May 22, 2013 @ 7:00am

@Floko & @Beldarak : Yes, it didn't suit the theme, but now that the competition is finished, I think this is the coolest way to continue making this game.
Thank you for your ideas, you are awesome :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]