April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Baron von Tater: Attack of the Taters!

by mungoman1 - Jam Entry

Here's our entry! It's a game involving potatoes, LaZ0rz, and a very minimalistic control scheme. It's minimalistic because there's only one attack: Kame-Ha-Me-Hadouken! The point is to lAz0r the big potato to death while avoiding his tiny fry minions.
The golden spuds the fries drop make you stronger and heal you, you'll need to collect them in order to win! You get faster, jump higher, and your LaZ0Rs charge and fire more quickly. It's actually quite difficult, but it is definitely possible!

Controls are for Xbox remote and keyboard.
X, Left Mouse, or CTRL LAz0rs
A or Space jumps
Left stick, WASD, or Arrow keys to move.

This was made by
Mungoman1: Bradley Boothe (Code)
MarsBar: Marcel Burca (Art)

UPDATE: I re-uploaded windows version as a zip, as well as a web player.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#51Humor(Jam)3.40
#198Graphics(Jam)3.51
#217Audio(Jam)3.07
#339Fun(Jam)2.73
#355Mood(Jam)2.68
#408Overall(Jam)2.79
#425Innovation(Jam)2.44
#551Theme(Jam)2.09

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58am

For some reason I can't extract the rars for windows or osx. I'll check back later.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58am

ok, I wasn't exactly sure what this has to do with the theme but I'm really charmed by the graphics anyway. Funny. XD

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:07pm

It doesn't open in Mac 10.8 :(
Can you publish it on web?

hardycore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:32pm

I liked the game, though the attack seemed a tad long. Very difficult indeed. Liked the 3d + blood + exploding body!

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46pm

The art was really nice, but the controls were slow. I really liked the idea, and the sound.

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Haha! The potato boss looked awesome and I loved the little dude's animations. Like others have said, the attacks too took long to play out, so I usually ended up dying while it charged up.

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Good death animations. The attack took too long. I would get destroyed by a pack of fries before the lazers warm up was complete.

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Hahaha, I came back and tried the web version . Hilarious game. Was fun!

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Pressing x or ctrl does not attack (linux version) so it's impossible to play. The web version is actually a download...? Audio and gfx seem nice though.

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Well the controls are *very* awkward, even with a pad. Couldn't beat that potato! But this is fun, even your description made me laugh. I'd like to see more brainless games of this kind :)

someone says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Umm, interesting. The massive laser was satisfying. Takes way too long for your only attack though. The death sequence was bit long too, being unskipable.
Good start though.

Leginar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:02pm

I liked the idea but man that attack speed made it really hard to play, almost unplayable. If you up that bad boy you have a solid game on your hands

SonnyBone says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:05pm

SO FUNNY! Not sure what it has to do with the theme, but I love this ridiculous ass game.

Jellycakes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:23am

It was pretty cool, though the attack felt a bit clunky and it made it hard to kill things without being hurt. Also the boss seemed to have had too much health to kill within a reasonable amount of time. Other than that pretty cool

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:59am

way to difficult! but the graphics are funny :)

goerp says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:40pm

I'm not sure how and why but this is something different.
The Baron von Tater is a good villain name, but speaks pretty good English.
And I don't think it was a gentlemans fight, it was pretty dirty!

Galvesmash says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:45pm

LOL! Pretty funny! Laughed a lot!!

May 8, 2013 @ 6:59pm

lol, i hate potatoes.

DST says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Neatly done, your potato is evil ^_^

MrShoestore says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:11pm

I like that your skills (fire rate) increased along with the difficulty, thought that worked out pretty well. Did start to experience some potato lag here and there, but that may be my computers lachanophobia.

pjchardt says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:05am

Well I stopped by because of the name. I stayed because of the laser blasting ninja potato action. :)

angelk says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:41am

The character animation was hilarious. The gameplay was extremely tough; I never found a good occasion to use the laser.

kibertoad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:59pm

great art, but not much fun.

juaxix says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Reminds me of Akira :D

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Nice game, well done!

kddekadenz says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Cool game, but badly balanced. I like the graphics and the sounds a lot :D

Kvisle says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:04pm

My only question would be: Is this game beatable? I start it, I get to pull two, maybe three shots - I die.

Teejay5 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Attack took way to long to execute, but looks nice!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]