April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Runner

by vilya - Jam Entry

Find loot! Avoid enemies! Marvel at full-screen 3D graphics in a web browser!

This game is supposed to be a minimalist take on the action-RPG genre: no skill-trees, no inventory management, etc. - just running through a dungeon, grabbing loot as fast as you can before making it to the exit.

The controls are just the arrow keys:
- left and right to turn
- up to run
- down to walk backwards

Pick up gold coins to increase your score. The exit is a mysterious glowing blue orb which teleports you away (to the next level). There are monsters wandering around; if they see you, they'll attack. You can't fight them: they're bigger than you and you seem to have forgotten to pack a sword before teleporting in here...

The game uses WebGL & seems to run best under recent versions of Chrome or Firefox. Safari works in theory, but was very slow in my tests. IE 10 may work, IE 9 or less definitely won't (sorry).

I had some big ideas for this, but ran out of time; apologies for the rough & ready state of it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#344Mood(Jam)2.71
#347Humor(Jam)1.87
#397Theme(Jam)2.89
#414Fun(Jam)2.50
#426Overall(Jam)2.75
#435Innovation(Jam)2.39
#437Audio(Jam)1.75
#486Graphics(Jam)2.36
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

daredevildave says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Pretty frantic when you get enemies chasing you! Maybe the turning could do with some acceleration to stop it being so twitchy. Also I never found the exit :-(

If you're interested in WebGL stuff you might want to check out our engine, PlayCanvas.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:23am

I was really hoping you didn't put a jump-scare in there. XD

vilya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Thanks for the comments!

@daredevildave acceleration is a great idea - I'll add that to my post-compo version. PlayCanvas doesn't really sound like my cup of tea though, sorry - for my personal projects I prefer to stick with open source frameworks.

Trench says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Sensitive controls but great otherwise!

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:17pm

This is creepy, I jumped a bit when the first enemy ran at me from behind. As non-existent as the gameplay is, the super-sensitive controls don't really work with it.

BradleySmith says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Pretty good. :)

doos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Really enjoyed running away from the goblins(?), nice mechanic.

vilya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:22pm

@doos I was thinking Orcs... :-)

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:12pm

I wish there was a way to attack. Those evil cylinders gave me the creeps. Good job!

mtthwcmpbll says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Looks good, but as others have said, the turning controls are way too sensitive (almost to the point of making me dizzy as a spun around looking for coins). I'd also put some sort of feedback as the enemy makes contact... I almost missed the little health percentage gradually going down until my second game. Good start to a fast-paces dungeon racer though!

mort96 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:13pm

+1 star for using WebGL ;)

Neat game!

Ariake81 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Intense! scary freeking cylinders, their AI logic and the environment really add to the atmosphere. reminded me of slender in a minimalist kinda way!!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:45am

Nice WebGL stuff, controls need a bit of tweaking but globally good :)

vilya says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:54am

@Tyro not having a way to attack was deliberate and not JUST because I ran out of time. :-) I thought it might detract from the running aspect of it. But I did think about having maybe something you could throw behind you to slow down your pursuers.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:45am

Good ideia, great graphics also :)! I thought the camera turned too fast though

Neonlare says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:49am

Definitely a panic attack or two when enemies come out at you from the shadows. Very basic in terms of "characters" but that adds more to the game I feel. Certainly a fun romp for a while, plays a bit like Pac-Man in a more Labyrinthy, Scary sense :).

May 5, 2013 @ 3:31am

Cool! The commands are frustrating in some moments. Good Job!

Spiridios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:41am

Fun little chase. I think mouse control would work better. I kept finding the exit with exactly 5 gold.

MinionStudios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:10am

Yeah, runs great!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]