April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stranded

by vico87 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Small and short text adventure game. I'm not a great writer, which explains the length and quality of the text.

Runs on pretty much any PC, although Windows XP is NOT supported, you need Vista or later and .NET 4.0 Client Profile or later version.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#702Humor2.04
#976Theme3.07
#990Mood2.42
#1031Audio1.53
#1072Fun2.37
#1169Innovation2.17
#1234Overall2.38
#1259Graphics2.00

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Can't play, don't have windows :(

Nickardson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43pm

I got an IndexOutOfRangeException at TextAdventure.CommandHandlers.MoveCommandHandler.HandleCommand when I ran the command "go".

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Pretty okay, could have used a bit more humour though.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Writing a text adventure engine in two days is no joke! And the quality of the text is just fine :D Only issues I had were with the text-wrapping, which really isn't that terrible of a problem, and it also crashed when I tried to take Jen :( Great job!

Coruon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

It was an interesting game and I was enjoying it, and then it took a really sudden turn that I didn't much understand? After going to the playground. I think it could have done with potential other endings.
I also got an IndexOutOfRangeException with the command "go" which didn't seem to have any use anyway? Also, if you try to "take" something too early, you get a null exception.

bb_buster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09pm

It was... interesting =P
I liked it, though I didn't really get the ending.
Also I found a few errors. It appears that if you run the take or t command at a point that's not expecting it then the program errors with an Argument Null exception at the function TextAdventure.CommandHandlers.TakeCommandHandler.HandleCommand

Other than that it was pretty nice. Good going =)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Really nice to see a text adventure, well done! You should include command synonyms like 'look' and 'get'. Also look into a way to enable better word wrapping that doesn't cut words in half. I made it all the way to the end, it was a nice little adventure, I hope you make another one next time!

vico87 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Thank you for playing and giving feedback!

That crash is now fixed, I have uploaded a new version of the archive.

I'm sorry for non-Windows users. I used a feature of the console present from Vista onwards using PInvoke. Not sure how to port it to other platforms, even though the rest should run without much difficulty on Mono.

QXD-me says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Conceptually I do like the idea of a restricted text adventure game like this (it's essentially a twine game but without the hyperlinks) and it is minimalistic.

On the other hand I didn't think the text was all that well written or interesting. It also didn't go anywhere. I'm not trying to be negative, but it kind of seems that if a game contains only text and minimalist interactions then at least one of those should be engaging or interesting.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31pm

I played, tried to "take Jen" and it crashed :(

vico87 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Take command NullReference crash fixed.

@QXD-me: I agree. I didn't manage to spend enough time on the text, which I think shows. Next time I make a text adventure, I will be able to reuse and improve this engine.

ComicSans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Might want to replace the link with one that downloads the zip file... I had to manually reconstruct the file structure after downloading the parts.

vico87 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Thanks, I haven't noticed. Link is fixed now.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

You nailed the Theme. Good Job :)

Psytew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Nice! I did something somewhat similar, actually.

Pitzik4 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:13am

A nice break from pixelated, vibrantly colored, rectangular games. A bit short, though. It's nice having the game entirely stored in a JSON file, I've been modifying it a bit and I imagine mods of this game could be quite interesting.

vico87 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Thanks everyone!

The idea was to make it easy to make/edit the game, hence JSON.

tiffi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Finally a text adventure, waited to find one. Theme 5!

oh and nice game, well done!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:52pm

A good homage to the dystopian text adventures of yore.

Szedouu says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:40pm

interesting idea. Nice entry

Qrchack says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Don't have any PC right now to check it out, but why the heck do you need .NET for a text game?

May 6, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Sadly it just crashes when I try to start it on my Win XP 32bit laptop - no error message though. :(

vico87 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:05pm

@Qrchack I didn't have much time for making it, and .NET is the environment with which I can get things done fast. The code itself is generic and can power any text adventure, although it is lacking many features.

@SuperlevelSebastian WinXP is not supported, you need Vista or later, because there were new features introduced to the console, which I use.

DaveDobson says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:59pm

I ran through it to the end - there didn't seem to be too much story there, although I liked that the various characters had well-described personalities and quirks. I'm curious what happens now? :-) Nice work.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:38am

I got excited for this "pick a path" story. I wish I could of used some of the items in my inventory.

KEFIR says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Hey, I forgot what I can take and now I can't bring text about it back :( Need to start over :(
Anyway - I like interactive novels, so I liked this :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]