April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Burden

by wilcort - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short game about a traumatized man. Made with Game Maker 8.1 Standard.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#190Mood3.39
#540Graphics3.05
#761Audio2.35
#1014Innovation2.44
#1120Overall2.58
#1206Fun2.12
#1341Theme2.11
#1775Coolness26%

Comments

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56am

I kept getting stuck on the walls :(

wilcort says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35am

Yes, that is a problem that most of my games have, I'm still working on fixing that.

smealum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

interesting entry, but a few things :
- as has been mentioned, collision problems ! i mean it's not hugely important as you seem to be trying more to tell a story through a game than make an really fun to play game but still.
- the art is pretty neat, but for some reason I felt like the car sprite was a little out of place. maybe make it smaller or change its palette a little ?
- not a huge fan of the way the dialogues are presented. not only could the font be smaller but perhaps more importantly it should be clearer who's talking.
- finally, I'm not sure I really understood what happened to the character. maybe that's just me, but I think you should work on storytelling a little.

at any rate, it's still a nice effort, but there are a lot of things you could work on to improve !

wilcort says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Thanks, I was trying to set up a way to make the dialogue clearer but I ran out of time. Also,I do agree about the size of the font.

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:11pm

This was great at creating an intense mood and telling a story in a tiny amount of time. However, I didn't really feel the theme in this submission, which was a let down. As other people have mentioned, the collision is a bit sticky, but otherwise, the art style was oddly fitting, the gameplay was interesting. I liked it.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Nice job on setting the mood. It's a tad confusing but that suits a game like this I think.

wilcort says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:04am

thanks guys!

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:18am

This was interesting, and definitely a bit creepy. I liked the graphical style and sounds. I too got stuck on the walls a lot, but got the hang of it after a little while.

May 2, 2013 @ 8:00am

Pretty cool graphics. Looking forward to future entries.

acro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Quite an interesting entry and something different from what I've played so far this LD, although I don't think it really matches the theme. I think you did a good job of creating a creating a moody / creepy atmosphere. I agree with the comments about the way the dialogue is displayed though and the narrative could have been clearer. That aside, nice work.

wilcort says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:45am

Thanks, guys, for the positive feedback. It was really fun working on this project.

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Nice game, i like the concept and the art! Well done :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Wild game! 16-bit style and a haunting plot. I love it!

Mago says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:35pm

interesting game. Very moody. I lided art style you used in this game, but I think I didnt get the endig.

wilcort says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Thank you guys so much for the reviews. I've actually started work on a similarly-styled game just for you guys here at Ludum Dare.

Purplescape says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:50am

I found the game confusing. It looked nice, and had decent ambiance, but I didn't really understand what I was supposed to do.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]