April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

HELPME_

by Sestren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Have you ever wanted to get a high score? What if your life depended on it?

You are a researcher who has accidentally been shrunken down in size. Luckily, hidden away inside of one of your favorite classic game cartridges is an easter egg that will send out a distress beacon. But, in order to activate it, you must get a high score and enter "HELPME" at the name submission screen. That won't be easy, since using the game's controller now requires lots of extra legwork now that you're only a couple of inches tall.

Don't forget to bring your supply of shrunken experimental baseballs; they will help you hit buttons very quickly that are far away from you.

Controls for "INVADER" are as follows:

Move with the D-Pad
Shoot with the B Button
Activate your shields with the A Button. Shields last for 2 seconds, and recharge after 15 seconds.
Respawn after a death with the Start Button
Select Button (as usual) does nothing

Bug Fix (04/30/2013 1:47 PM CST): The enemy spawning time multiplier was not properly being reset after a Game Over, resulting in the game's difficulty setting remaining stuck for longer than it should be. This resulted in the need to reset the entire game in order to reset the difficulty. This has now been fixed as a potentially game-breaking bug. Since it doesn't affect anyone's playing the game the first time through, I hope fixing it doesn't disqualify my entry. Thank you, Jellycakes, for helping me find this bug.

Post-competition version: The "Web (Post-Compo)" link will always point to the latest version of the game, so check back in the coming weeks for updates or follow me on Twitter, @JshCrrgn.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Innovation4.34
#21Humor3.88
#167Overall3.64
#173Fun3.48
#309Mood3.19
#446Theme3.64
#477Graphics3.13
#662Audio2.52

Comments

nurabsal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:04am

huge cred. this had me all smiles

Kom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

I like this take on the theme, quite an amusing way to control a game within a game.

Zccc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Very nice ideia, loved the NES controller :P

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

Very interesting concept !

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51am

This is really really good.
The only complaint I have is making the cut-scene text either faster, or letting the player skip to the next part.

fussycashew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52am

Really awesome! I love your take on the theme, as well as the gameplay in general.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:53am

Ahaha, excellent! Thank you for this!

Zim the Fox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:53am

Hahaha! I loved this. That is all I have to say. I think I got an score around 70.

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54am

Haha fun and creative idea :D it take time to get used to the control, but once you're mastering it, you're back to the good'ol days when you were just a child in pajamas on a sunday morning playing the NES. Had a good time, thanks :)

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:57am

Very neat idea, my highest theme score yet. I was sorely disappointed when the game ended.

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06am

Cool way to control the game, that was a good point that you can throw balls to hit fire wile moving

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49am

Cute!

Mago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Very original and cool concept and amazingly the game itself is simple, fun and extremely attractive.

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Original idea, nice graphics and pretty hard gameplay! Now I got how gamepad in two hands make game easier ;)

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Well made, pretty interesting concept and good fun to play around with. A little bug with the difficulty but other than that a well made game. Nicely done!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Really innovative. First time I see a game like this.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:37am

I'm kinda disappointed the konami code does not work! x3

Sestren says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:07pm

@Zim: I love the idea of in-game cheat codes that work. If I can manage time to make a post-compo version, it will definitely have something like that.

GFM says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:20pm

This was really interesting! But I found the control schemes a little hard. =X

May 1, 2013 @ 11:21pm

This is an interpretation of "minimalism" I haven't seen much of. Nice work!

enzo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:43am

now I'm wondering why nobody's had this idea before! super original!

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Very funny interpretation of the them :-)

SuperDisk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:28am

Quality stuff.

However, you could kind of circumvent the system by standing on the gamepad with the scientist and clicking the button with your mouse. Then, it's almost like regular space invaders but the rocket continues on.

LTyrosine says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:29am

5/5 on innovation. The start button could work as pause =D

Amazing job.

SonnyBone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:31am

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
GENIUS!
One of the best uses of the theme I've seen. Great job!

I love how you have the select button and you can even press it but it does nothing at all like usual. HAHA

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:43am

Oh this is funny! Love the idea and it was executed pretty darn great. I almost got a highscore (38!) Awesome.

sharbelfs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:54am

Great idea of the controller.

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Nice game, i like the concept! Well done :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Awesome! love the hand-drawn look for the "real world"

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Awesome. 5 stars all the way

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:26am

speechless -- awesome effort!

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:00am

Not a bad Idea. It needs more than just this to be a complete game tho. I seemed to only half loost my highscore when I died tho. I had 99, got game over and started again with 49.

sara.mena says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I like the idea and the game is really funny to play and unusual :) Sounds are neat and the handdrawing feel is cool. I really wish you could polish this game a bit more :D

Sestren says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Work on the post-compo version has been slowed down by life events, however, for those that are interested in following my progress, I think I'll go ahead and post the link to the post-compo version for now, with the understanding that it's still a work in progress. I have a lot of ideas I'd like to implement for this game before I call it done, so I'll probably be working on it long after the voting period is over.

farmergnome says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:01am

Full Marks for Fun and Innovation and theme, fantastic idea that could definitely be furthered after, I would love to see different games being played with the same mechanics, maybe even different controls (analog sticks, flight sticks, racing wheels, real world dangers, etc) oh man, the possibilities are endless. Ether way, fantastic entry.

farmergnome says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:02am

I should probably play the post compo version now...

mildmojo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:14am

Cool mechanic! Tough with a touchpad, but that's true of most keyboard+mouse games. The lo-fi graphics felt just right, and the indirect controls felt pretty good. Miniature baseball collection was genius.

ilo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Very clever. Like farmergnome said, the idea has a lot of potential, using different genres of games to test the player in unusual ways. Imagine a two player mode (or "one man/two controllers" mode)! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]