April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stykk

by Entity2D - Jam Entry

Finished at the last minute. Collect the three coins hidden within the level, and return back to your house to to complete the game

Controls:
Arrow keys LEFT and RIGHT to move
Z key to jump
X key to dig, once you have the ability
SHIFT to sprint, once you have the ability
R to reset the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#283Theme(Jam)3.22
#297Audio(Jam)2.84
#355Mood(Jam)2.68
#360Humor(Jam)1.81
#392Graphics(Jam)2.76
#452Overall(Jam)2.66
#470Fun(Jam)2.29
#483Innovation(Jam)2.18

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:12am

The world graphics are very reminiscent of something, can't quite put my finger on it what though.

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

Fun with a neat aesthetic. The extremely limited jumping at first was kind of annoying.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07am

This game is very minimal even for the graphic, well done i like it :D

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:37am

Cool little minimal metroidvania!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13pm

The controls are kind of awkward and the jump feels very limited. I expected to be able to reach the platform all the way on the left in the underground once I had the double jump, so that was weird. I love the music though.

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13pm

the graphics style is very peculiar with big pixels mixed to small one. the atmosphere is quite creepy and the gameplay a little bit difficult. but i like this entry.

zinfandel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I like the mood a lot. I got stuck pretty quickly though - with the second dig.
And the upgraded jump is a bit too limited, which makes for a weaker control.
Overall very impressive what you got here! I like the multi-ability idea.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Controls are weird. Placing save points around the world would be nice. I Picked up spring upgrade and died and had to start all over again. Liked the graphics design. Reminds me of some atari games.

spriters2000 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Where is the C64 remake?

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:57pm

This game is pretty cool, I like how th world is tiny but longer to explore than excepted with the p-ups. Great job!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Really well made, I raged hard. It's a good job there aren't any lives. Nice game anyway..

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I really like the style - not only does it look a bit like a CGA game, it also feels like running an old CGA game on a 386 - that is, it runs a bit too fast. That probably wasn't intentional, but it brought back good memories. :-)
Exploring the world was interesting, but a bit frustrating - mainly due to the very weak jump.

It's a weird game, but in a very nice way! Good work! :-)

metalcan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:56pm

I did it! Holy crap my heart is racing now. That's one evil game. First I dug down and got stuck, then I got stuck near the end doing it backwards. After a dying a lot, I got decent at it, and I have to say, the hardest part is the bit with those damn spikes before getting to the double jump. I still get angry just thinking about those. Well the game was fun and made me want to finish it. It's maybe the second or third game I've actually finished so far this LD, and this was the most fun. I kinda felt screwed over a few times when the double jump didn't work, but it was fun. And aggravating. :) Lovely music, and graphics. I really liked the changing backgrounds.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:52am

Controls are really hard, you feel like it's slow and when trying a hard jump it's too much fast, then you have to restart all over from the house... reminds me of all those great game back then ! (+1 for graphics!)

May 2, 2013 @ 7:53am

i like the idea, of this game

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Cool music. Really liked the music.

radmars says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:34pm

super minlmal graphics, almost a mixture of NES and the original GBC.
The lack of any menu or ingame explanation makes it difficult to just jump in. I'm not a fan of having to read the description to know how to play.
The jumping doesnt feel quite right, the arc is too shallow and constrained. Getting the double jump but not having enough room to practice it left me dying immediatly upon getting it then quitting from frustration as I did not want to double back for a 5th time or so (dying a few times trying to guess controls / mechanics before searching in the description)

nathanj439 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Neat metroid style game. I wish there was a checkpoint system because it is frustrating to have to redo everything every time because of a bad jump. If the sprint was closer to the house it might be less annoying.

loxo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Nice game and quite challenging. But the controls make it particularly hard, not everyone has a qwerty keyboard layout.

May 4, 2013 @ 7:36pm

I like the music and the world graphics. I've find the jump's action a little bit tricky, but in the end i enjoyed the game!

GertJohnny says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:26am

I had a tough time with the controls, and the restarting from the beginning thing, but other than that nice game.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:45am

I love the palette changes. However, it's a bit harsh to start all the way at the beginning each time. I had a bunch of powerups but made a misstep and hit a spike! The physics feels a little off to me, like it should have more weight.

dertom says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Well, that is cool! I love the visuals! Reminds me a bit to mainc miner (sort of). music is perfect, and not annoying (which is not an easy job) Is that randomly created?
But the jump was a bit too fast. A bit less gravity would have been easier :D Good game!

Spiridios says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 2:46am

Great little platformer marred by a couple issues that kinda tanked the fun factor. The run-jump response seemed off, like if you weren't pixel-perfect in your timing, you were dead. The lack of save points made this excessively hard in that you lost all progress for one slip-up. However, the music was great, the level design felt good, and other than the annoyances above, the controls were good too.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Restarting from scratch when I die really put me off, especially when I tried to explore a jump into another screen and fell into spikes. Just reset the player with the powerups at the house instead. The sprint had a really nice speed to it, good that that one was the first powerup.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]