April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tower

by DBRalir - Jam Entry

[No audio]

Note: Linux build and source code are removed for compatibility reasons and can be re-uploaded upon request.

A simple platformer about a ninja who climbs a tower. It has a relatively nice level editor.

We didn't have time to include everything we wanted, and we couldn't really fit the theme anywhere except the graphics. However, we plan on making a post-compo version of the game that completes our original goals.

Controls:
Arrow keys to move
Z - Jump
X - Melee
C - Throw

Editor:
F1 or Click on tile icon to open tilesheet
F2 to Set player spawn point
Left-click to place tile
Middle-click to pick tile
Right-click and drag to draw a rectangle

You can edit "data/levels/campaign.txt" to change which levels appear in the main gameplay.

Dev Team:
"DBRalir" - Programmer
"Juicy" - Artist

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#99Fun(Jam)3.41
#149Overall(Jam)3.46
#193Graphics(Jam)3.54
#319Humor(Jam)1.95
#365Mood(Jam)2.66
#429Theme(Jam)2.76
#452Innovation(Jam)2.33

Comments

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41am

Sorry man. I don't have Linux. You should consider trying to port.

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45am

I didn't give a rating, but I'll just say - based on the graphics, this looks like something I'd really like to play. But, I'm on windows 7 so ah well. Good luck!

ahm99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47am

Do you know if it works on raspberry pi? I could also use my ubuntu live cd.

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55am

this game is begging for sound

DBRalir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:57am

Hey guys, sorry about not having a Windows version before, but I just ported it over. Currently there are only 64-bit versions, but 32-bit versions should come soon.

Pat Hemphill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:04am

I tried the windows version, but it wouldn't play. It did provide the following in the error.txt

Shader error:0(1) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected '(', expecting "::" at token "("
0(5) : error C5060: out can't be used with non-varying Position
0(6) : error C5060: out can't be used with non-varying Normal
0(7) : error C5060: out can't be used with non-varying TexCoord

-- SHADER CODE --
layout (location = 0) in vec3 VertexPosition;
layout (location = 1) in vec3 VertexNormal;
layout (location = 2) in vec2 VertexTexCoord;
uniform mat4 MVP;
out vec3 Position;
out vec3 Normal;
out vec2 TexCoord;
void main()
{
TexCoord = VertexTexCoord;
Normal = normalize(VertexNormal);
Position = VertexPosition;
gl_Position = MVP * vec4(VertexPosition,1.0);
}

Skulls says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:07am

Works fine on windows 7 64bit. Fun little platform game, when it ended I was left wanting more good job. I liked the wall jumping and I was expecting some level where I had to really put my wall jumping skills to the test. I also like how you have an editor so other people can make levels if they want.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:10am

I wanted sound on this so bad, so...so...so bad. It was hard to play entirely because of the lack of sound, because everything else was so good and polished and I just my brain DEMANDED sound effects. I'm super impressed - this has a very professional polish feel to it. The level editor was really nifty too, I feel like this isn't your first time 'round the rodeo. Great job!

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14am

This plays very smoothly and looks nice, though I agree with it feeling a need for sound. I'm impressed by the inclusion of a pretty functional level editor in this, that isn't something I expected. It does seem to suffer from being kind of short on levels, which are something that a game like this needs a lot of.

DBRalir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36am

We're looking into fixing that Windows error now, although we think that it's an issue with graphics hardware. Also, we're going to include sound in a later version of the game, but didn't have time the first time around.

64Mega says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

That was a fun and solid little platformer. I would have been nice if the shurikens were limited in supply though, for a bit of extra challenge. Great job!

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:25am

Amazing sprites! They remind me of old DOS games like Jetpack. Seemed to be coded very well, as far as I could tell. The level editor was a nice, professional touch as too.

Blizzil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Solid game, its a quite rough around the edges and it cries for polishing. But it really bleeds potential!

JohnnySix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Loved the graphical style, and the challenge, the wall rebound was a little off-putting when trying to scale diagonal features, as the character would jump backwards when you were least expecting it. if you work on it some more post-jam, music and sounds would be epic, and maybe a health bar - the instant-death, while challenging, diminished the replay value somewhat.

RobKat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Good game, great to see an editor in there but I found the control system a bit clunky, probably could have put jump as the up button and just have two attack keys. Good work!

naufr4g0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Love the 8x8 graphics! (I do also more minimal graphics in my entry) :D
The game is fun and challenging. Those knights on isolated blocks are really hard to knock down!
The editor is well done.
I used 64-bit version and it works fine.

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:39am

I agree with john_conder9 - the art and animations here were SO awesome and polished, it was tough to accept that there was no sound to go with it. I'll live with silence though to get fantastic visuals like this. =)

Solid platformer, nothing new there, but you nailed it.

Tom 7 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:58am

I AM WINNER!
I thought it played pretty tight and it was a good length. :) It almost seems like I might be able to jump over the castle at the beginning -- is it possible? Hidden potato??

ahm99 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:02am

Cool game. I found a glitch though. If you quickly tap an arrow key while facing a tile and jump at the same time, sometimes the player will start sliding as if there is a wall there. But other than that, it's a cool game. Good job :)

DBRalir says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:07am

@ahm99: Nice catch! I only update certain flags when the player is moving, so it's an easy fix. Thanks for playing!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:18am

Very nice !

shuall says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:49am

I liked it. I think it could have used more enemies, but I like the editor. Maybe work those wall hanging mechanics a little more

Cybearg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:23am

Loved the sprite style. Those little characters were cute and had a lot of style to them.

The gameplay itself is fairly standard, leaning on frustrating at times. I wish that you'd only cling to walls when holding a key so I don't keep rebounding when I don't want to. Also, much of the level design is either kind of tedious, with the enemies really being no challenge but still time-consuming to take out.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:40am

Screenshots look awesome, unfortunately I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:46am

Nice game, but zxc controls are impossible to play on some keyboard layouts. Could you add y as an alternate key for z?

DBRalir says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:49pm

@intripoon I added configurable controls. Details are in the game description above. Please let me know if it breaks.

burtlo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:31am

I was unable to get it to run on Windows. Though perhaps that is because I am running it through Parallels. Both 32/64 bit versions start and just crash. The log file is currently empty.

DBRalir says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:23am

@burtio I'm afraid I have absolutely no way of testing it on that platform, but the code should be fully portable, so maybe someday I'll see what I can do.

elbowroom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:30pm

It got interesting around the time the purple blocs showed up. Then it ended. I liked it and wanted another more challenging level before the ending. It is pretty good.

May 4, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Lol was that a potato that I threw anyway fun stuff

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Love this game, especially the art! Well done :)

docix says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:00am

Great game! Hits the basics really well.

dalbinblue says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:02am

That ended suddenly. the game was fun, but the last level up at the purple blocks, I died a few times while attacking the enemies then falling into the spikes below (which I could not see). Making them visible for the jumps may help make the game less frustrating. Not sure what the game had to do with the theme though.

DBRalir says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:05am

@dalbinblue Yeah, our levels were made almost last-minute, though we're working on improving the game a bit.

For the theme, we decided to make a minimal action platformer that could be used for speedruns, but we had to strip a lot out to get it done in time, so that's probably not apparent. Also, all sprites are 8x8 to fit with the theme, and the levels are meant to be "bite-sized".

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:37am

spectacular! you were able to create a game and an editor -- very impressive and the editor is so dead simple -- great job!

Maple says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Can't run. I get this written in errors.txt when I try to play it:
Shader error:Vertex shader f,キU;・

DBRalir says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:00pm

@Maple Bah, I tried to make the shaders (they're so simple) work on any system, but those errors keep popping up. If your graphics card was made in the last 3 or 4 years, I have no idea what's wrong.

If anyone gets a "Shader error" I would love to know what kind of graphics card you have.

Maple says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:45pm

@DBRalir: I apparently have an ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4300 Series, lol. This is basically the cheapest laptop I could find as of 3.5 years ago.

DBRalir says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:19pm

@Maple OK cool, so the Windows version of Tower should work on any graphics card that was made after August of 2008. 5 years seems like a reasonable compatibility window.

If anyone is insane enough to be running Linux, I'm sure you can figure out how to patch the source code.

The shader basically does nothing at this point, so the graphics might become a bit rough. It should look normal on most systems, though.

Thank you so much for your graphics card info. It was 0.5 years too old for my program to run, but it should work fine now.

(The reason shaders are kinda broken is because I'm testing my custom graphics framework.)

Maple says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:52pm

@DBRalir: This time returned Shader error:Vertex shader fGG. :/ 32-bit btw. Maybe I just have an ultra-terrible graphics card. That certainly seems plausible.

DBRalir says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:05am

@Maple: Perhaps you can redownload and try this last version? This is my first time using shaders, so I've just been dragging my face on the ground for the past few days, trying to get it working on every system. Your graphics card is not the best, but my shader does nothing more than draw unshaded flat polygons, so it's unacceptable for it to not work on any system.

Maple says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:40am

@DBRalir Oooh, ok, it didn't work, but this time I got a better error:

Shader error:Fragment shader failed to compile with the following errors:
ERROR: 0:2: '' : Declaration must include a precision qualifier or the default precision must have been previously declared.
ERROR: 0:3: '' : Declaration must include a precision qualifier or the default precision must have been previously declared.
ERROR: 0:4: '' : Declaration must include a precision qualifier or the default precision must have been previously declared.
ERROR: 0:7: '' : Declaration must include a precision qualifier or the default precision must have been previously declared.
ERROR: compilation errors. No code generated.


-- SHADER CODE --
#version 130
varying vec3 Position;
varying vec3 Normal;
varying vec2 TexCoord;
uniform sampler2D Tex0;
void main() {
vec4 texColor = texture( Tex0, TexCoord );
gl_FragColor = texColor;
}

Beldarak says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Worked fine, I like the graphical style, it's a good game you have there ;)

May 7, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Sadly your game just crashes when I try to start it (Win XP, 32-bit).

error.txt:

"Shader error:ERROR: 0:1: '' : Version number not supported by GL2
ERROR: 0:2: 'layout' : syntax error parse error


-- SHADER CODE --
#version 300
layout (location = 0) in vec3 VertexPosition;
layout (location = 1) in vec3 VertexNormal;
layout (location = 2) in vec2 VertexTexCoord;
uniform mat4 MVP;
out vec3 Position;
out vec3 Normal;
out vec2 TexCoord;
void main()
{
TexCoord = VertexTexCoord;
Normal = normalize(VertexNormal);
Position = VertexPosition;
gl_Position = MVP * vec4(VertexPosition,1.0);
}"

DBRalir says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:55am

@Maple: @SuperlevelSebastian: I believe I have truly, finally fixed the shader problem.

Solution: Remove all the shaders. It was so simple.

The Windows version was compiled and tested in Windows XP on a system with a Core 2 Duo and Intel GMA X3100. It was also tested in Windows 7 on a Phenom II x6 and Radeon HD 5700, and in CrunchBang (Linux+Wine) on an AMD A6, and on three other systems. If it still does not work on your system, there's probably nothing I can do.

Maple says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:42pm

It works now. Pretty decent game! I am a winner! At first I thought it was impossible cause I forgot you could slash, but then it was alright. The hold-jump-to-float really helped on some of those more platform-y parts. I feel like the movement could have been a tad smoother, but I didn't really have any problems with it, and also the first spikes in the game, under those slimes, I thought was a jetpack because it was next to a shaft, so I tried to collect it but died, lol. Good stuff.

dector says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Like this. Will you work on this after LD?

DBRalir says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:34pm

@dector: Yes, we are planning on making this a complete game. This page will be updated with relevant information soon.

ahm99 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:53pm

@DBRalir in the final game, I would make "up" as the default jump key :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]