April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Exploid

by Quarry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UP OR SPACE TO FLY AND LEFT OR RIGHT TO MOVE HORIZONTALLY!

GO THROUGH A LONG TUNNEL AND DODGE LAZORS AND BLOCKS.

COLLECT BANANAS FOR SCORE AND HEARTS FOR LIVES AND SCORE!

YOUR PRIORITY IS BANANAS; THEY AFFECT YOUR SCORE MORE, HEHE, SCORE-MORE.

P.S: IF YOU DON'T COLLECT THE GOD-DAMNED BANANAS YOU'LL SCORE A LOT LESS THAN YOU COULD WITH THE GOD-DAMNED BANANAS. THE SCORE FORMULA IS DISTANCE_TRAVELLED^2 / (BANANAS/TOTAL_BANANAS) + HEARTS_COLLECTED * 50

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#397Graphics3.26
#487Humor2.32
#817Fun2.70
#861Overall2.89
#1015Audio1.67
#1080Mood2.29
#1084Innovation2.30
#1301Theme2.38

Comments

ecool377 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22am

cool

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24am

Overall a pretty fun game. It would be nice if it didn't throw you directly into the action, though, so that you could get used to the controls first.

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27am

Fun game! Had to get into the hang of it at first. It seems a lot easier if you don't go for anything and just concentrate on staying alive... not enough desire for bananas.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

Fun little frantic game. I liked the look of it especially - pretty ufo, and the animation never felt janky.

Kom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

Aside from the lack of sound and the fact that pickups occasionally appear to spawn in an impossible to reach spot, this is a reasonably alright game.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

Fun little frantic game. I liked the look of it especially - pretty ufo, and the animation never felt janky.

Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29am

This is a great LD game! The gameplay is simple but the mechanics make it challenging enough to require some skill. Plus the graphics are simple but appealing. Good work!

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

I got stuck under a block and lost all my lives instantly the first time I played, that felt pretty lame, I would destroy all blocks on screen or make you a ghost for a second.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

What happens when you fill the green bar all the way!? TWICE I died right before it was full. ARGH

Fun game though, would really benefit from sound/music.

Cory Martin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33am

The controls are satisfying and frustrating at the same time.

Quarry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Thanks for all the nice comments everyone! Also the game is "finished" when you fill the bar completely but that doesn't have any other effect (such as increased score etc.)

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Looks great

grimpunch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:38pm

you get 5 stars for humor just for that description. :P

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

That's really hard p_p

I got to the top, but I couldn't see the message because I was taping space to not die and it started the game over.

That's really hard.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

I like the frantic gameplay. You really have to keep cool head or you die. The graphics are clean and minimal. Very nice overall.

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Music/Sounds would be great. Works (with up arrow, space was not accurate enough), but a higher display would be great, because the time is often too short to get your bananas.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Your banana computation sold it for me sir! Good job!

Stiju says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Good game. It would be nice to have some kind of ending screen when the bar filled up 100%, showing total score or so.

I might have clicked through one but I'm not sure because the game just restarted when it finished.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Except for a few bananas poping in the wall, it's good

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Cool idea, I really like the graphics style as well. However, I really missed sfx and the controls didn't feel good at all.

Quarry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Wow, really sorry for the lack of end screen. It ended up being a > rather than >= in the code!

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Was a good game but would be nice to have some kind of introductory level even if it was just slightly slower, I found myself dying almost instantly the first time I played it.
Like the idea of collecting bananas, and gameplay was fun once you got the hang of it. Good job :)

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02pm

I'm offended that the game places the blame directly on me for dying. I think whoever put those electric fields there bears at least some of the responsibility.

Quarry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07pm

You are the one that keeps hitting them, not the guy who put them there !!!!SOLELY FOR YOUR SAFETY!!!!

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55pm

WHY WOULD ALIENS NEED BANANAS SO UNREALISTIC

Quarry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:06pm

BUT IT'S SO MINIMALIST, CONSIDER THAT!

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13pm

nice game and polishing but its not minimalist its simplist

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Fun little game :)

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:20pm

good job!

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

This is a pretty nice take on one-button games.

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33am

I had fun even though it can be really difficult. Cool graphics :).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]