April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fight The Minimalism

by Cyboot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first 'puzzle' game so be gentle ;)
Its not very difficult and the collision detection is not perfect, but I had much fun developing it, so I hope you have fun playing.

Controls:
- Arrow keys: move
- Space: jump
- CTRL: shoot

Have fun!

#####################
Update 29.04. Fixed window-location on second Monitor (was great for debugging ;) )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#243Fun3.37
#267Audio3.18
#386Mood3.11
#487Humor2.32
#504Graphics3.10
#525Theme3.57
#563Overall3.16
#912Innovation2.63

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44am

Okay, so... there's some music? I don't see a window though.

puttputt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47am

Pretty cool. Super minimal, audio was really annoying but I'm glad there was a mute button :D

Jaus_LXXIV says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58am

For some reason, it started wayyy off the side of my monitor so I couldn't see it, had to open task manager and right-click it to maximize it. I see others had this problem too so just thought I'd say how I fixed it.

On to the actual game, it's neat how the graphics improved as you progressed. Directly opposing the theme is certainly a different take on it ;). That said, the rest of it is kinda meh; there weren't really any distinguishing features or mechanics to set it apart from other puzzle platformers. The music was quite polished, though, very pleasant to listen to especially in the later levels.

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20am

The game crash when the rockets explodes...

fogelvisch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30am

POWER JUMP!!!!

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Not bad. Decent level design, and I like the progress through different graphical styles. Just wish there was a bit more of that. Reminds me of that Evolution of Games from the evolution themed LD.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Very fun!

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Cool game!

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27pm

You've got a future in puzzle games. And any kind of games. Keep it up!

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:53pm

This is a really fun game! Some of the levels were tricky and I really enjoyed it. I loved the music as well.

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I like the game. With some more challenging levels this could be really great. Graphics, sound and music are fine. The fireworks where great.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Nice. It annoyed me that you can't jump when against a wall, but it was fine otherwise.

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:20am

that was awesome and well balanced! I bet you've played "I wanna be the guy" :)

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:25am

Very nice level design work! Conception is really grate. There is some problems with collisions though

kddekadenz says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:36am

I quit the game at level 16, because this one was too frustrating. The idea of an platformer getting more complex is good, BUT: I liked the first minimalistic levels the most.

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Nice game, i like the concept and the art! Very funny Well done :)

CollabGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Would love to see this progressed! :)

alts says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I would have liked to play more than I did, but I was blocked by what appeared to be some performance issues. As soon as the fireworks went off, my framerate dropped from ~66 to 15, after whcih things seemed not to work as expected. The blocks that have to be pushed all but refused to move. I managed to budge it just enough that I could clear a wall, but the next level asked me to do the same, and I couldn't do it.

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Fun and challenging game! Love the graphics enhancements

May 20, 2013 @ 1:52am

It seemed to progress in the opposite direction you'd expect, given the theme. That said, I really enjoyed the music. Was always pleasant to listen to, and evolved nicely. The gameplay was fairly standard, if occasionally clever. One thing I would recommend is adding WASD controls!

Zim the Fox says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Haha! I had planned to make a game similar to this but with fancy graphical effects and things that would be impossible in 48 hours.

Congratulations on the great job! Level design was lacking a bit though, bbut that is all right.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]