Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Undercolor Agents - farmergnome - 48 Hour Compo Entry

..STORY..

Undercolor Agents is an arena shooter about an elite group of super secret Agents, dealing with a Hue invasion that is going to threaten their little desaturated world. They remove unauthorized colors with force, extreme force.

..HOW TO PLAY..

The game can be played up to 8 players, you each control a colored agent who is strong against enemies of his own color (agent red destroys red enemies easily for example) - you must cleanse the hue infection spreading across town and destroy the pylons that act as portals for the colored undesirables. Agents away!

..MULTIPLAYER..

When playing with 2 or more characters and one character gets hit by the enemies, you can "save" him by shooting the enemy off him, kind of inspired by L4D...

..CONTROLS..

Each characters controls can be customized on the main menu by clicking the text across his portrait, if a key is not being used it will have "unused" as the binding. The keys are as follows as they appear in game:

UP - up movement
DOWN - down movement
LEFT - left movement
RIGHT - right movement
SHOOT - shoots current weapon
WEAPON SWAP - cycles to next available weapon

F2 will restart the game.

ALT + ENTER will go fullscreen

..WANT MORE/UPDATES?..

Follow me on twitter for updates to the game! I will do my best to put up a post competition build around work in the next few days that addresses a few issues, follow me on twitter and I will post it there or on my website.

@farmergnome or http://www.farmergnome.com

Enjoy.

View farmergnome's journal. | View all entries by farmergnome

Ratings

Fun4.24
Coolness84%
#4Overall4.25
#5Graphics4.53
#18Audio4.06
#66Mood3.79
#135Humor3.16
#419Innovation3.29
#533Theme3.56

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09am

Beautiful, as always

saint11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26am

HOLY SHIT THIS IS GREAT!
Seriously. Best game ever, with a little more polishing (like a "back to main menu" thing) and a few configurations this would be perfect!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33am

won't work on Ubuntu under Wine. Complains about missing APF.mfx.

JoeDev_net says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:36am

Very awesome!
-The graphics are really nice and crisp.
-The audio is nice as well.
-Really good job with all the different weapons, they had a decent amount of variety and they were all enjoyable to use.

One thing that I wasn't clear on is when I came into contact with an enemy, it seemed like I had an opportunity to escape or something but I couldn't really pinpoint what to do. I managed to escape once, but I'm not sure how I did it. Really solid entry, good job!

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

I can't wait to give this a go with more friends, good thing we are having a party tomorrow :D

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34am

so fun! Great music and I love the colors (even though they're eeeevil)

JigxorAndy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

Awesome game! Great graphics and really fun gameplay. I wish I had 7 friends to play with!

Andrio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

I don't have any friends!

Graphics are very pretty and the gameplay is fun. You've got style, dude!

farmergnome says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07am

@pvwradtke try updating to Wine 1.5 , JigxorAndy managed to get it working under that.

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04am

Best so far! A little difficult, but I love the gameplay, story line, and the graphics

spiral says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35am

Excellent!

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Beautiful does not even begin to describe it. Awesome work!

luu78 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Excellent work! Will future updates support online functionality?

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24pm

reminds me of de blob fun!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Beautiful.

kannas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

It was love at first sight :D ( even if the pace of the game is a bit slow :P)

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Fantastic! Everything about it was great

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Whoa! Best entry i've seen so far.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:00am

Quite difficult on single player. I'll try to grab my bro later to try it out. (cause this was MADE for mulitplayer!)

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:51am

Bloomin' marvellous.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:28am

Really cool action game with some pleasing visuals. Had a lot of fun playing this even though I kept dying. Keep up the good work!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:00am

Great game, this definitly needs an online multiplayer version!

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:20am

Nice, are the levels random?

farmergnome says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:42am

@Prelucid sure are :)

Chman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29am

An online mode would make this game even better than it already is !

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39am

Awesome =)
But endless fight, right?

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:43pm

It's a very cool entry, seems to be a finished game. I liked the variety of weapons, though I was using flamethrower most of the time.
Controls weren't very comfortable. It seems you made the player not change shoot direction while shooting, so changing it at all became difficult. Also, the initial weapon seems very weak, the first part of every level was looking for another weapon.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29pm

This is a great game! Though the menus were a bit confusing at first, I had a lot of fun playing it!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Great game, I have to play this with some friends.

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Wow, this is really fun!!! Played with my brother, I think I'll also bring this to my friends and play with 7 of them :D

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I bow to your gamemaking craft. Great work, the feel of the weapons the splash of the enemies - it's amazing. Can't wait to play it with friends.

farmergnome says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:43pm

@SaintHeiser Nah theres a ending, theres also hardcore mode if you manage to finish it :) But levels are randomly built.

Cheers guys, glad you like it.

farmergnome says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20pm

New post competition build is up with all new music and lots of difficulty and control fixes, enjoy!

May 1, 2013 @ 2:09am

Awesome game! One of the best i have played so far, congratulations!

daydalus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:55am

Solid shooter, love the style -

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:40am

Absolutely INCREDIBLE presentation. Very fun to play and looks gorgeous. Unfortunately, the music is rather lacking (though I do look forward to playing the post-production version). Seriously, I'm very impressed by this. Incredible entry!

Dmitrix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:50am

Nice and shiny. :)

oatsbarley says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:45am

Great game! Graphics/audio are perfect and so the mood is awesome. The only issues I had with this were that if you were playing 1-player there wasn't really any way to save yourself once you were caught. It got kind of annoying getting most of the way through a map and then having an enemy appear right next to you and have to restart. Other than that this is very very good.

Blizzil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:00am

Awesome game! A little more polish here and there and this would be perfect, but it is already great fun to play.

I had a little trouble when i needed to change the shooting direction fast, and it is quite unforgiving once you are caught.

frankbsad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:12am

wow

RobKat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Great game, two issues, the input system felt weird, i know it says customise you own but I was unable to find that menu. Also not too sure about the movement and shooting relationship. Much fun though, love the style.

Beldarak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Best game I played so far. It's brillant and fun as hell. Can't wait to try it out with a friend or two.

Casino Jack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:35pm

This is a fantastically polished game for 48 hours and I thoroughly enjoyed playing it. Not sure if it's a bug, feature, or just my computer, but I found it very difficult to change shooting direction: even when stopping firing entirely it would rarely change.

bompo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Nice style! A bit too repetitive and easy in single player mode but still awesome!

farmergnome says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:13pm

lol to easy? Everyone is saying it is too hard. Can't please everyone.

@Casino Jack directional shooting lock is a feature, it was too hard to play otherwise, i might allow players to turn the lock off however on the menu.

@RobKat on the character select screen when you select your agents there will be a whole pile of keys overlayed onto them, just click the key text.

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:09am

Great game. Love the variety of weapons (bouncy gun is super fun)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:14am

This is clearly something that i could buy on xbla or steam !

free_napalm says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Great game, quite elegant solution for directional shooting lock.

tankete says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Wow! Two days? Wow! I really enjoyed it. That's amazing work for 48 hours. Can't imagine how much better it'll get with a bit more time. Loved it! Well done.

TurboDindon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Wow! So polished and well balanced. Impressive

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:39pm

I love that you've got local multiplayer on the same keyboard :) Very rad game, I had a lot of fun with this!

farmergnome says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:13am

New music has been added! Also, I fixed a bug with keyboards with joypad inserts screwing out the game, just click disable joypads on the menu ;) Enjoy.

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:23am

Very fun game, super polished! Gameplay is simple fun and fluid as hell.

BNeutral says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:07am

Amazing for a compo entry.

axcho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:22am

How do I start the game? I'm guessing there's a button that doesn't show up on my 1024x768 display... :(

farmergnome says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:02am

press alt enter axcho, will allow you to go fullscreen and see everything (its off-screen because windowed res is 1280x720)

farmergnome says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:03am

ALT+ENTER that is :)

SonnyBone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:02pm

AWESOME MULTIPLAYER ACTION!!! Full marks for fun. Lost myself for a long time playing this one. Nice use of theme and rockin' music. Thanks for the rad game!

axcho says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:35am

Unfortunately going fullscreen with alt-enter didn't help. The screen is still cut off at the sides. :(

farmergnome says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:46am

Hmmm you should be able to resize the window if that isn't an option, I will add a shortcut to start the game tonight for you :)

TenTonToon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:57am

Very fun game, with a brilliantly designed and implemented look. The action is smooth and the use of the theme is ok. But, above all, the amount of contents you crammed into this one in just 48 hours is simply staggering.

Being able to destroy the walls opens some neat strategies, but also makes the game easier, as you can aim directly for the color towers using an almost straight path and completely ignore the enemies.

Playing solo became somewhat tedious after a bunch of levels, as they offered little to no variation from one another. But I'm sure playing it with some friends has to be a blast.

As a comment, I found the initial statement to be frankly brilliant, as it really sets the tone for the action. Or the hue, in this particular case.

Congratulations! :)

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Cool stuff, I like the different weapon types. Good job as always.

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:50am

Addictive and smooth. However, I didn't get how to start playing in the hardcore mode, which is said to become available at the end. Nothing new in the main menu.

farmergnome says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:00am

@HD408 hardcore mode auto plays when its unlocked, it will just amp up the enemy health and spawn rates, and will also spawn bigger enemies.

farmergnome says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:40am

I just uploaded a new post compo build that addresses the difficulty, it should be significantly more difficult in later levels now, and hardcore mode will kick your ass.

Edgy Mirrors says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:04am

Really great game. Good graphics, great music, and addictive gameplay - lots of fun. I think you could really turn this into a full game.

My wife and I stayed up late and finished it twice, together. ;) sweeeet!

It had a weird bug though - it would stop mid-level, and force us to add another player, even though we were only two. Dunno why. If we didn't add another player, it wouldn't let us click on "begin".

Great game though. Despite the annoying bug, we'd start right from the top if we had to. So fun!

blackmagic says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:09pm

über entry, world class entry !

farmergnome says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:20am

Thanks guys! @Edgy Mirrors I would love to try n debug that if you have a chance, reckon you could tweet me or email me at [email protected] or @farmergnome ? Would love to sort the bug out :)

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:33am

Controls were quite nutty.

farmergnome says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Feel free to change them superdisk, they are all rebindable.

Ditto says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:49am

I'll try this later with some friends, must be really great! Very good game! :D

LeafThief says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 10:51am

Very solid entry. It was both fun and a challenge. Good job :)

brantkings says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Fun, polished a lot, had a lot of awesome details. I only wish I could multiplayer it! Really, pat yourself in the back.

Sestren says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:20am

Love the bright colors and the particle effects on the weapons, as well as when the colors combine to form giant enemy cubes. Really cool game all around. Thanks again for making a post-compo version, I really dig the music.

May 17, 2013 @ 10:08am

I think there were two games above others in this dare ludum: Mustache Armies and Undercolor Agents. (the only 5 stars I gave )

fermcg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:43pm

One of the best!

Xanjos says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Really fun and addictive and probably best played with friends rather than by yourself. I can't seem to get my controller to work with this game (both versions) though (It's a PS2 pad connected to a usb converter).

farmergnome says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:51am

Hmm I will look into that, might have to pick myself up a PS2 controller to test it.

Kvisle says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:09pm

This was excellent! You certainly know how to juice your games. I didn't do hardcore mode, but I did play through it - although I was about to quit when I arrived at "The Final Battle", since I wasn't too sure if it would go on forever or not.

Typedeaf says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Really great game! I loved it! The music and art style was superb and the gameplay was very fun! Great job! This also probably had the best name of all the games this time

pansapiens says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:54am

This was awesome fun .. love the different weapon types. I almost just missed the judging deadline because I was having too much fun playing it :)

farmergnome says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 1:26am

Cheers guys, I am busy at work on a post compo version with a bit more content at the moment, ill post it on my twitter / website when it is ready. Adding some sidescrolling elements :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]