April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SoO

by Proch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

INSTRUCTIONS:
press U, I, O, P when the notes reaches the black line.
(basically it's like guitar hero... not that difficult)

ATTENTION:
at the moment there's only the linux version, since i wasn't able to compile it on wincrap. So, if the screenshots hit you in the heart you should check the page later to see if i managed to get a winexe.

GAMEPLAY VIDEO HERE:
if i can't compile it on windows you can still check the gamplay video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PquUYzxwqqc&feature=youtu.be

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#408Graphics3.25
#580Audio2.67
#588Innovation3.09
#673Theme3.42
#679Humor2.06
#802Mood2.63
#835Overall2.91
#940Fun2.56

Comments

Fnkee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58am

Based on the design, it looks very pretty(as well as puzzly). I'll be back later to see if there's a Windows version available!

harleylaurie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

Windows port?

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22pm

I love this game! <3

Conve says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

I love it!

kddekadenz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21pm

The Linux binary didn't work for me (Linux Mint 12 - 32bit), so I tried to compile it. Here is the log:
make exe
g++ -c src/main.cpp
In file included from src/main.cpp:1:0:
src/ld26.h:10:27: fatal error: SFML/System.hpp: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.
make: *** [exe] Error 1

What are it's dependencies?

Proch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22pm

you need sfml 1.6 libraries... you grab them here http://www.sfml-dev.org/download/sfml/1.6/

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:23pm

SFML, clearly

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Looks nice, but, sadly, I don't have Linux :((

Proch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:32pm

what if i make a video of the gameplay? at least you can see how it is

bobiniki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Looks good from the screenshots, but I don't have Linux so I didn't rate.

skintkingle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Would love a windows port. :)

goerp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03pm

I put it on my tochecklaterlist

Proch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08pm

i added a gameplay video! check the description ;)

daubers says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Had to apt-get install libsfml-audio1.6 libsfml-graphics1.6 but ran fine with those installed on Ubuntu.

Graphically fantastic. Music is very peaceful :) Took me a little while to realise the bar at the bottom was effectivley health :) Good game.

AlanZucconi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I hope there will be a Windows port very soon!
The video looks so nice!

*_*

Merkoth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

It looks great, here's to hoping for a windows or mac version :)

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Linux only? That might cost you some ratings.

iFred_QC says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

You didn't upload the source first, second most users are Windows so a port would be good. Don't feel like booting Linux for only one game, sorry.

vrld says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

God, this game is hard. Very fun though!

Proch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:54pm

the source is in the archive. and i didn't choose to release it linux-only... windows compilers hate me and i didn't managed to make it work... sry for that :(

Leebo86 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:02pm

What exactly is happening in the gameplay video? It's not particularly clear. I'm guessing it's not mouse controlled, since the mouse never moves.

dotteri says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:17pm

XD it's ironic that I'm on Windows to play some games that don't works fine on Wine.

mikeware says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Would love to try this out, hope you can solve your issues with windows!

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Awesome design and art, love the concept well done!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:27pm

looks cool will come back!

someone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:28pm

It breaks after you fail: Failed to load image "data/tex1.png". It is missing.
Also the track seems impossible. Died pretty much instantly. It is a lot more complex than in your screenshots and gameplay video.
The aesthetic is really nice though.
Also something in-game to tell you which keys to use would be useful.

Proch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:13pm

@someone: i'm gonna upload a new version fixing that bug ;) thank you for reporting.
and... i didn't managed (in 48h) to display text :D i'm gonna study and implement something for later use

glbs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Too bad it's only on linux (or maybe too bad I'm not on it), it looks interesting

ThirteenWB says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:39pm

It fit the theme well. I thought it was a bit too slow paced at the beginning but it got sufficiently challenging once more blocks arrived. Nice concept :)

Morgawr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:24pm

I couldn't really understand what was going on. The game idea seems pretty good, however the game itself offers not much feedback when hitting the right "notes" or anything. Took me a while to get how it was supposed to work.

Proch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:11pm

yes you're right Morgawr... a simple tutorial/instructions was in my todo-list, but the windows problem took my last4/5 hours and i didn't managed to do it in time

May 2, 2013 @ 7:58am

Checked out the video, looks really pretty in motion.

Mesene says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Please put some gameplay video :D

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Couldn't play it but it looks nice :)

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Ha, no linux at end, will try to fin one. Tried a VM but was toooo slooow....

Proch says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:27pm

the linux foundation will make me an honorable member for converting so many people from windows to linux XD

rogueNoodle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Love the look of this - hoping for a Windows or Mac port :)

dotteri says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Just strange and hard to understand but not bad.

It seems de ultimate killer app for Linux =p.

kernel panic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I think my machine was too powerful for this game. If I didn't add in a micro sleep in the code somewhere then it gave me hoards-of-grains-of-sand to play. Fortunately, I figured that out and realised this is a fun, good game.

Proch says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:17pm

really? fps are locked to 60... dunno why it didn't worked for you :O maybe that's something wrong with your usleep library

Zed says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Can't run Linux games, I'm afraid. Looks cool, though.

DST says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:55am

Very cool and clean style! Interesting mechanic too!

lorancou says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:13pm

I managed to play it under Debian but the "notes" look much more shattered on my side than on your screenshots: http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/750/sooscreenshot.png. So unfortunately, this is not really playable.

Proch says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:52pm

that's the hardcore mode :D it's very very strange :O maybe there's something wrong with the rand() function. so strange

May 7, 2013 @ 6:08pm

It looks interesting. Wish it had a Windows version,so I could play it. :(

Smaxx says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Tried to compile it on Windows, but would have had to downgrade SFML first - well. :) Just one minor thing regarding your source: you should include SFML using <> brackets, because it's essentially a system library not included in your local source. Having a video definitely won't hurt, so people can at least look at the gameplay, it seems to be looking very interesting after all.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:22am

The design looks great...but linux...

onzephyr says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:26am

linux only , so I didn't get a chance to play. I may have to go get a live disk, real fast to try it out.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]