April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mondrianism

by Jezzamon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A zen puzzle game, inspired by the works of Piet Mondrian.

PLEASE read the instructions in game before playing.

Your aim is to remove all colour from each art piece. To do this, you control a coloured square that moves across the piece according to the of rules of that colour. When you touch a square of a different colour, that square becomes white and you change colour. (More detailed instructions in-game).

I tried to take the theme minimalism and base my entire game around it, rather than just making a regular game with minimalistic graphics.


Coded from scratch using as3 and gskinner's seeded random number generator. No other libraries or engines. C:

Android version possibly coming soon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Theme4.54
#28Innovation4.14
#63Audio3.71
#115Mood3.58
#139Overall3.69
#247Fun3.36
#296Graphics3.43
#679Humor2.06
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00am

I like this very much. I felt the music soothing, and the Mondrian theme very well done. If you keep working on this, a small (time-delayed) shaded hint to show where the current block of color could move would be a great addition to avoid user frustration.

I didn't have any problems after I read the tutorial :)

Aaants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Very clever mechanics, well tied to the theme and very tricky in places. Great job :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Wow, super elegant!
The piano music caught me off guard, but I really liked it!
Really great job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Nice and on topic. Well done!

krangGAMES says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45am

Very innovative, though it wasn't really that much fun. A lot of problems could be solved if you introduced colors one at a time, and most importantly EXPLAINED what the "rules of that colour" are. Needs a tutorial. Loved the audio. Nice job :)

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43am

Very insteresting concept. But I couldn't finish the game, maybe I didn't understand everything... Good job.

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:08am

I play it. I like it. I don't even know why.That's minimal!

thephantom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:50pm

just awesome :)

Jezzamon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:21am

krangGAMES: There is an instruction page, which explains the rules, AND the colours are introduced one by one...

smilingrob says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:01am

Beautiful

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:03pm

The music generated by moving the blocks fits perfectly with the theme of the game.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Wooho!!
This is really great!
Simple yet brilliant, it's a good challenge.
I love all your puzzles, all levels complete :D

shuall says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:32am

Ha, after the third level I finally got how it worked, so good job. I didn't even see the tutorial, but I really like this game.

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:52am

Hi, about the question you comment me there, AS3 can listen the event of mouse middle and right after FP11.2. :D

savethejets1 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:47am

I think it might have been better if you'd put a forceable tutorial or something at the start, as it was it took till about the 3rd level to figure things out.

Really good once I did though. Good stuff :D

pansapiens says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:30am

A really innovative puzzler, and quite enjoyable to play. This is one of the better uses of the Mondrian-style painting I've seen in a game - great job, and I look forward to an Android version !

KHANanaphone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Cool idea, but the diagonal movement is a bit hard to get the hang of.

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Very very interesting idea.

gameXcore says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Fantastic, my favorite game so far. My only gripe is the 19 years it took me to read through the instructions to understand it.

Tom 7 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Very good. It's a clever setup and the graphics and sound effects are lovely. The puzzles themselves were very easy; I think you could have done some good stuff with some small constrained levels. Take on the theme was just right. Beat all the levels!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]