April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Obnoxious Friend

by Kix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is about the relationship between OCD and minimalism. You like your stuff to not be touched and kept in the same place, perfectly organized.But then along comes your friend who is trying to 'help' by moving your things. Put it all back before you go insane.

NOTES::: Watch the Count down in the corner and remember that clicking with the mouse shows where the furniture should go but makes the countdown go faster.
P.S you can only watch in horror as your friend violates your Room. P.P.S you want your score to be as close to zero as possible(negative score is no better or worse than positive)

Controls-
Click on the start screen to begin
w,a,s,d to move and
mouse to show where the furniture should go at a cost of your time limit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#187Humor2.96
#758Innovation2.87
#923Audio2.04
#966Mood2.45
#1095Graphics2.30
#1209Overall2.43
#1211Theme2.68
#1258Fun1.97

Comments

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

I was sort confused at the start. Thought my keyboard input wasn't working. Then realize I had to wait for the npc to finish his thing.

Kix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10am

@argo15 It says about that in the description

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

Haha, this game idea is really funny. The first time I played I scored -221 but the second time I scored 1. I kind of got lucky the second time because the roommate push 3 items together into the wall so it was easy for me to move them back as a clump.

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:28am

long cutscene

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:38am

Waiting for 40 seconds is not really fun, especially when the play session has the same duration.
Some collisions were strange too, but the concept could be good. You should just tweak a little more the details.

Leginar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45am

Cute game. Good work on the characterization of the friend. I really started to hate him when, on his way out of the room, he grabbed a table and pulled it all the way to the left wall. I had trouble knowing when to begin... it wasn't until I read argo's comment that I knew it wasn't a glitch with my input... A small in-game indication might be something to look into.

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51am

A little confusing at the beginning.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36am

Cool idea! Really conveys the feeling of "obnoxiousness"

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26pm

That cutscene was obnoxiously long.

And the amount of time you're given to put the furniture back in place is obnoxiously short.

I can't say that there's much fun here, or even much potential that I see. If there was more time to get the furniture in place (right now, it seems impossible) and the cutscene wasn't so tediously long, it would still be a frustrating/dull game of clumsily pushing around blocks.

Sorry.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Allotted time for the setup and gameplay is making this hard to play. I really like the core concept though. Would work great with a little polish.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:56am

Is this really what being OCD is like? Brutal.

alts says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:34am

I don't personally see the minimalism <-> OCD connection, but I find this entry really amusing. The actual feel of pushing the furniture around feels a bit clumsy, but I feel like this game is more about the scenario than the actual mechanic, and it plays that well.

Ofursnati says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:35am

Nice and simple. Wish there were more levels.

Pinkerator says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:38am

Lol :) Funny intro! Table looks like a mooooonster ))))

free_napalm says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:29pm

It is indeed a horror to watch the friend for so long. In fact, it's so bad to watch for 40 seconds that I did not give it another try. Maybe a fast forward button could have helped to make the game more fun?

lorancou says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:01am

I scored 12 without moving anything. Somthing's broken in your scoring systemm :) Also furnitures that get put on the sides can't be moved back. I think. But that's a funny idea you had there, it just lacks a bit of polishing!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]