April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bob the Minimalist

by braneof - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click to shoot.

The giant prize pinata exploded in the sky! Help Bob enforce a minimalist lifestyle by shooting down all the luxury items. You'll need the bare essentials though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#271Humor2.70
#954Theme3.10
#1111Fun2.30
#1239Mood1.75
#1266Graphics1.97
#1274Overall2.27
#1292Innovation1.87

Comments

WiseGAMER says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47am

nice houses!

Sayaer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00am

Got a good laugh, nice job.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36pm

I like the art style, somehow - it's so stupid, it's good again! :-) The game itself is a bit boring after a while - maybe a winning or losing condition would have spiced things up a bit. It also could use some sound effects. But not bad over all.

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:16am

Good ol' Bob, protecting us from those nasty luxuries! Fun game. :)

RARoadkill says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:32am

All you really need in life is beans and fire.

braneof says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:45am

@rwos Ya, I'd planned to add a win condition, sound effects, and explosion animations, but then I only had a few hours this weekend to work on it. Glad you liked the art!

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:44am

I'm playing via touchpad, so most games are usually harder; but after a while, I found out that not trying was giving me more points, hehe. Maybe a simple combo system (x1, x2, x3) for not letting things by would be an easy addition, and an initial screen that had all the items under a EXCESSIVE = BAD and MINIMAL = GOOD labels could really help anybody outside the jam to understand the game. (:

zazery says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:55am

At first I was shooting everything, then I read about the idea and thought it was pretty neat. It would've helped if there was a bit of feedback but I guess it's very minimal.

mattperrin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:16am

Very interesting idea. Kinda dig it.

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Nice game, i like the concept! Well done :)

Smaxx says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Where should I start, I'd say rwos said most already. It's a bit confusing at first, but overall... okay. It could Need some more feedback like sounds to make it more clear whether you did something good or bad (rather than staring at the score).

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:32pm

A few sound effects could have done such much more for this game. Still a solid take on the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]