April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Midnight Inertia

by Michcioperz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal is to hit the terrain as fast as possible, and as often as possible. You have 30 seconds to earn your score. Your score is a sum of speeds you had while hitting the terrain, but it won't be counted if the speed was too low. You won't see your score until the game ends. Only hint is the time written in hex numbers in the upper left corner and a vector showing your velocity.

Use [Space] and [LShift] to change your altitude, [Q] to quickly get your velocity to zero, [Tab] to use the Throwback(tm) feature. Don't care about [W][A][S][D], unless you find a way to use them creatively.

The game works better at lower framerate, as Bullet physics run with unchangeabe number of 60 updates per seconds.

If you needed to see someone playing this, watch http://youtu.be/Dvbl_Wj1tWo?a featuring me. Try not to focus on how awful my voice is.

Meanwhile, if this game is too ununderstandable for you, try Puzzlem00n's # game at http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=11003

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#547Graphics3.04
#611Mood2.81
#773Innovation2.85
#822Audio2.24
#1241Theme2.62
#1284Coolness48%
#1313Overall2.11
#1327Fun1.57

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:20am

I don't quite understand how to bounce, and the "throwback" button chucked me into infinite blueness. I like the LSD-ness of the aesthetic though.

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Cool graphics.

Are says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:29pm

I wasn't able to bounce, but sure the graphics are original!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

I'm afraid I really don't understand the controls :)
All I can do is rise up into the air until the game ends.
Graphics are beautiful though.

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:24pm

As others have said, there doesn't seem to be a way to bounce, so I just enjoyed the ride. Nice aesthetic.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:25pm

sorry . i think i understand the base but after 4 tring i didtn see any difference just a arrow growing .

nice trip

Michcioperz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Throwback is actually a time slowdown to help with precision. LShift pushes you to the ground. WASD pushes left/right/forward/backward. Speed is shown as a vector.

By bouncing I meant just crashing with the terrain :)

Michcioperz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Also, gravity is minimal to give player almost full control of speed.

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Like others have said, music and visuals are really interesting, but I couldn't figure out what to do

Michcioperz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Try holding Space for a while, quickly braking with Q and then holding LShift to crash with the terrain. That should give you some points. (Score is shown after time is up)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:27pm

I am also confused. I was able to bounce, I think, but the game ended with what looked like an error message. Although that may have been a score in units I didn't understand. Looks nice though.

Michcioperz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41am

There are no errors in-game GUI shows. It was a score window, containg a 42 reference written with binary numbers, and your score written in hex numbers.

Michcioperz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:45am

Added the description and a video.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:31am

Best use of the theme so far! Maybe unintentionally though because it seems like the controls don't work. Nice visuals though.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:32am

This is one of the most confusing experiences I've had, if that was the intention, great, but yeah, some interesting graphics, even with your video, still not sure if it's a kind of joke or something.

Michcioperz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:35am

There is no joke. That's the 3rd Ludum Dare I joined, but the 1st I finished. Confusion is an unintended side effect. I hope my next game to be better.

Kix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:50am

I had no idea what was going on, but i liked the graphics

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00am

Like the others, i find this game really hard to control, even after reading everything and trying a few times ! But that's a nice overall design !

Leginar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:01am

The game looks interesting but the controls don't respond... Things seem to move very very slow...I was able to move down quickly once.... but moving any other direction has been impossible.

Michcioperz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:11am

Moving is a problem with the jME engine. Bullet physics aren't synced with graphics updates. I tried to run it in parallel thread, but it didn't work well. As these are deep bugs, I'm going to fix it for a post-compo version.

Jeremias says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:30am

As the others said: I tried to follow the instructions but I can't get the thing crash into the terrain. But I will have a look at the post-compo version if you made one and Ludum Dare rating ends :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Wish the controls were a bit easier to use.

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:10pm

I understand the instructions but controls are unresponsive. You sure can go up and down but in 30 seconds all I manage to do is to 'bounce' once. Best case.

The graphics are pretty original, to say the least. Very trippy color scheme on there.

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Nice game, i like the concept and the art! Well done :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Very strange game. I ran into 0 FPS on my decent GPU. Love the colors!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]