April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Potato

by Dmitri - Jam Entry

Play as an Irish farmer who needs to collect potatoes!

Created by:
Marcel (DMITRIX)
Daniel (The Phantom Lemon)
Cosmo (Villainthropy)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#210Humor(Jam)2.38
#285Audio(Jam)2.88
#313Graphics(Jam)3.00
#397Overall(Jam)2.81
#399Theme(Jam)2.88
#408Mood(Jam)2.52
#460Fun(Jam)2.32
#526Innovation(Jam)1.95

Comments

matter123 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:32am

couldent pass the first level

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45am

You're vertical displacement when jumping is slightly affected by your lateral momentum. With this in mind the first level is much easier. (a design choice we didn't have the time to second guess. We had other things to do this weekend. only spent a total of ~14 hours on this between the two of us(bout 8 each).)

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

Haha he has quite the jump. Can't go wrong with old school platforming :)

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46am

I liked it...simple, good controls and makes me feel bad for not having a potato in my game ;)

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

I played the 4 levels. It would need a goal. But nice to collect potatoes !

Folis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Short and sweet. I enjoyed the fact that you had to explore a bit, and the music was nice too. The jumping was bit too floaty for my taste, though. Overall it is a nice entry! Good job!

savethejets1 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:55am

Little do people know... but this is how McDonalds gets the potatoes for it's french fries

Anyways Cool stuff!

May 1, 2013 @ 8:39pm

so slowly movement, crazy idea haha

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Is that the guy from all those Unity demos?

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:21pm

That was some pretty funky stuff right there. Was nice to play. Well done.

elbowroom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:37pm

This game was pretty impressive. While nothing was innovative about the gameplay, the graphics and music felt refreshing. The grassy area reminded me of the first stages of Sonic. I enjoyed it while it lasted despite it lacking any challenge which is much cause I like chllenging games and find them more engaging. Well done!

TomboFry says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Simple controls, fun little game, although the game seemed a little slow (maybe it's just me?), not dropping frames, just... slow.

TuxedoFish says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:45pm

I started this game and did the first two levels and though meh im going to leave because it felt repetitive. But the atmosphere you created in this game was really relaxing and soothing that it sucked me in and i though this was a really awesome game. The music and animation was just amazing. And the amount of levels was nice although at times the movement felt choppy but it was fine. Also i noticed a few random partly transparent pixels around the edge of the main characters animation

May 4, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Lovely music!

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Nice simple complete and solid platformer. And with potatos! What's important :) Good job!

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:54am

It looks interesting, +potatoes.

joe40001 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:27am

Liked the music, but one major complaint:

This game reinforces the well known racist stereotype that irish farmers are lanky and sluggish to control. :P

GaTechGrad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:52am

YOU WIN! Yay! I really enjoyed this game, but I am a little biased towards collect-em-up type games. This game just shows that not every LD entry has to be a brain-melter to be good. The only improvement that I would suggest would be a map or arrow showing where the remaining potatoes are. It's sort of a pain to backtrack to the beginning to get a potato missed early in the level.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]