April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Iceberg Explorer

by kddekadenz - Jam Entry

You're an explorer on an iceberg who wants to become famous by discovering things.

"I arrived at the small iceberg I want to explore. The chance to find something here is minimal, but I'm optimistic. Hopefully I'll become a famous explorer and make my mummy proud."

Further instructions can be found ingame.

The game is avaible for both Windows and Linux (32bit & 64bit).
Windows: Double-click on 'Iceberg_Explorer_Windows.bat' to start the game
Linux: Run 'Iceberg_Explorer_Linux.sh' to start the game

Side notes:
- The maximal fame you can get without cheating is 570.
- There is a potato hidden somewhere on the iceberg.
- Even though there were a lot of technical issues in the past, the game should run now without problems, except you have weaksauce hardware.
Testing machine had 4GB Ram, 2 x 2Ghz and an Intel graphics chip.
- The game includes 2 sounds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#189Graphics(Jam)3.56
#221Humor(Jam)2.33
#283Mood(Jam)2.88
#311Fun(Jam)2.80
#320Overall(Jam)2.98
#337Innovation(Jam)2.76
#367Audio(Jam)2.43
#483Theme(Jam)2.53

Comments

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Does not run/build on Arch Linux 64 bit:
$ ./Iceberg_Explorer_Linux.sh
/tmp/iceberg/bin_unix/lamiae64.bin does not exist
Lamiae will attempt to compile one by executing the following command.
make -C src -f Makefile install

Please make sure the SDL, SDL_image, and SDL_mixer, and zlib *Development* libraries are installed.
Press Enter to proceed or Ctrl-C to abort.

make: *** src: No such file or directory. Stop.
compilation failed

kddekadenz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:29pm

@stqn: I'm sorry, I didn't think of 64bit users. I'll upload the engines source, so you can compile it.
Would you be so kind and share the 64bit binary then?

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:46pm

The engine starts for me (linux32) but crashes when starting "new game" cause of some missing files!? Log: http://pastebin.com/Qq2caTxL

Too bad, I was really curious to see Sauerbraten-Engine(?) in action! Maybe it works the next days...

kddekadenz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58pm

@dertom: It is a derivate of the Sauerbraten engine, called "Lamiae": https://github.com/Hirato/lamiae
It's still in Alpha state. I think the game crashed, because some shaders couldn't be loaded properly D:
Argh, I hate it when such things happen. I'll contact the developer of the engine for help and come back to you.

goerp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03pm

I put it on my tochecklaterlist

myachin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24pm

didnt work for me (
waiting for ports)

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Don't mind me - Haven't voted, can't run it. Just wondering if leaving a comment and hitting 'save' will take it away from my ratings page. Again, I haven't voted.

daniel2357 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Don't have linux

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:02pm

doesnt work.

output:


/home/username/Downloads/bin_unix/lamiae64.bin does not exist
Lamiae will attempt to compile one by executing the following command.
make -C src -f Makefile install

Please make sure the SDL, SDL_image, and SDL_mixer, and zlib *Development* libraries are installed.
Press Enter to proceed or Ctrl-C to abort.

make: *** src: No such file or directory. Stop.
compilation failed

"/home/username/Downloads/bin_unix/lamiae64.bin" does not exist and the program is unable to launch as a result.
This is typically due to there not being an available build for your system.

If you believe this is in error, try some combination of the --force flags or if not,
make sure that you have the sdl, sdl-image, sdl-mixer, and zlib DEVELOPMENT libraries installed.
Then execute "make -C /home/username/Downloads/src install" before trying this script again.

kddekadenz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09pm

@martijn: I did not provide a binary for 64bit Linux yet. Download the engines source (link is at the top) and put the src folder into the Iceberg_Explorer_Linux/
Now run the script again.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Ahh, the rare Linux-Only game.

Got to respect that, but alas, few people will be able to play.

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:37pm

So I built the game using the source package, then the game launches, the menu works, but it crashes after loading / generating the map:

#0 0x00007ffff0cac7a8 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libdricore9.1.1.so.1
#1 0x00007ffff0cac929 in hash_table_find () from /usr/lib/libdricore9.1.1.so.1
#2 0x00007ffff10900a3 in ?? () from /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/i965_dri.so
#3 0x00007ffff1090065 in ?? () from /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/i965_dri.so
#4 0x00007ffff107de71 in ?? () from /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/i965_dri.so
#5 0x00007ffff107e161 in ?? () from /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/i965_dri.so
#6 0x00007ffff10cc8fa in ?? () from /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/i965_dri.so
#7 0x00007ffff10cd133 in ?? () from /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/i965_dri.so
#8 0x00007ffff10a9ca2 in ?? () from /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/i965_dri.so
#9 0x00007ffff106c9af in ?? () from /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/i965_dri.so
#10 0x00007ffff0bcb55a in vbo_exec_vtx_flush ()
from /usr/lib/libdricore9.1.1.so.1
#11 0x00007ffff0bbd27f in ?? () from /usr/lib/libdricore9.1.1.so.1
#12 0x00007ffff0bc9156 in vbo_exec_FlushVertices ()
from /usr/lib/libdricore9.1.1.so.1
#13 0x00007ffff0b2394e in ?? () from /usr/lib/libdricore9.1.1.so.1
#14 0x00007ffff0b26495 in _mesa_FramebufferTexture3D ()
from /usr/lib/libdricore9.1.1.so.1
#15 0x000000000052da30 in radiancehints::renderslices() ()
#16 0x000000000052fa3a in renderradiancehints() ()
#17 0x00000000005140a7 in gl_drawframe(int, int) ()
#18 0x000000000040dddb in main ()

Maybe because of the Intel drivers / chip...

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:49pm

I disabled everything in the video options (red means disabled, right?) and then the game started. But the display is wrong (only a few polygons are shown) and the game is unplayable on my computer unfortunately.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:39am

"Windows cannot find 'bin\lamiae.exe'. Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again"

MRvanderPants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:53am

sorry, can't open the game.

kddekadenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:59am

@Alex Camilleri: Shame upon me, I forgot to include the exe :x I'm currently updating the download.

markusfisch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Very interesting! I really liked the setting and the graphics! Unfortunately, there seems to be a bug when you want to get out of the secret cave: I always fall through the ground under the iceberg and die :( Tried a few times. May be I'm doing something wrong?

But nonetheless, well done! Nice game!

PS: for people using a 64bit Linux, you need to make bin_unix/lamiae64.bin executable in order to start the game.

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:22pm

The linux version won't run for me and when i try to run the windows version using Wine i get the message 'Large texture support required'. :/

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:31pm

You got pretty far with so little time.

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Cool game. Looked pretty good. I have three monitors and the game magically extended the world onto all of them quite well. I think that some things might have been slightly messed up because of that, but it looked quite cool. :)

I couldn't find that many things. I don't know how many things even existed for me to find. There seemed to be a huge clusters of indicators on the minimap which I couldn't find anything at. I tried looking for some sort of cave entrance, but found nothing. I guess I must have been missing something.

Still, the game ran perfectly well for me on Linux (32 bit). No issues whatsoever. Kudos for providing a dedicated Linux build.

The download site was HORRIBLE tho. It took forever to download the game. :(

tiffi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Really cool game. loved the grafics and i had no problems running it (win 7 64). but i couldnt find the last opject (on the mountain) 460 fame, more than enough

May 1, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Very nice! I love exploring-focused games, and this one was cool.

... No pun intended.

kddekadenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37pm

@Jiddo: I'll mirror it, thank you for mention it ;)
@tiffi: One isn't an object but reaching a certain point.

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:15pm

The exploration thing is cool. Had good time hoping around the map. Sad thing I haven't found the potato.
Overall the game looks good and it is a nice piece of tech.

goerp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Ah, you also made that storybook entry. Loved that as well.
This one had a GREAT mood. It was just too short.
I also think the silence was good.

Nice way to remind me too! Now I have an award :)

uberneen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Exploration was actually pretty fun. I only had a few minor issues. In the hot springs cave I fell through the world, but with some effort I was able to get back in the cave. Beyond that the way that climbing slopes felt was a bit odd, but nothing that couldn't be overcome.

hissssssssss says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:30am

I got an error message when trying to run on Windows 7:
"Lamiae fatal error: Large texture support is required!"
Doesn't seem to point to a file I'm missing, so I don't know what to do.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:04am

I also get large texture support error on Windows. On Debian Squeeze 32-bit, I get "X Error of failed request: BadLength (poly request too large or internal xlib length error)"

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Nice to see a windows port! Working here on Win7 64 bit. Played it for quite a while. Some ambient sounds what have been nice. What's the highest possible score?

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Very good start for an exploration game, no problem running it (windows7-64)

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Cool discover game. gerat graphic. gratz.

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Definite plus for peaceful exploration of serene environment! Would've loved to see more content and perhaps some small puzzles, but this was pretty nice as is.

john_conder9 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Well done, best of reviews I can give for this game! I managed to find everything in the third screenshot, and after I did a once-around the iceberg one more time to make sure I didn't miss anything and was heading back towards my little life boat...I fell in the dreaded water. It didn't kill me instantly. Oh no. It gave me a false illusion that I could make this work, if I could just hold onto dear life long enough to make it to a part of the shore that I could climb back up on. I was going to go warm up in the hot springs to ward off frost bite. But no. I eventually perished, another life lost to the hard ways of iceberg exploreratoring. Great job, loved the ambience of this game too!

PS: I did fall under the world as I exited the hot springs, but I just swam around for a while and managed to pop back up near the lifeboat, wasn't too bad. Was rather enjoyable actually, felt like warm bath water.

Blinked says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Excellent job with the graphics :D Also, huge plus for the fully featured options menu! It was very fun and relaxing exploring the iceberg, some ambient music would have made it even better, but it was still awesome!

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Funny game, well done!

yellowlemming says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:38pm

this game is really good in virtually all aspects. all I would say is that it would be better to have some background music

MinionStudios says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Nice work! Found the potato +10

atraxgames says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:27pm

stunning graphics

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:28pm

The game doesn't work on my computer, but the graphics look great.

kddekadenz says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:50pm

@Sylvain.p: You read the specs of my testing computer, right? It is bad, but yours seem to be worse.

ahm99 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I found a bug, I fell through the map and then landed in water and had to swim to the ground. Interesting game though. Good job :)

JonathanG says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:34pm

I found this game quite relaxing. It was fun to jump around and search for stuff. The minimap made it feel a bit easy, but it was the only way of knowing you'd found everything so that was good. The game was short and sweet, and I liked the potato gag :) I played on windows and didn't have any issues.

Madball says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Cool game, I like games of this style. It was too short however, and I didn`t like that all objects are shown on the minimap.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:42am

I really really enjoyed the water effects in this game. The graphics are very good.

Also, by the way -- can you give my game another shot? I don't know what was up with it for you, but we haven't seen that problem in a while and it it's preventing people from playing it I'd like to make sure we get it right :)

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Also I added a Linux version of my game (Square Heart Flower) for you. Hope it works!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]