December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Earthmination

by Dreauw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-= Description =-
You are a villains who want destroy the earth.
Destroy all the obstacles that you might encounter.
Sometimes you will get bonuses from destroying things.
Absorb the goats and cows on the ground to recover life.
Upgrade your ship at the end of a level.


-= Controls =-
Arrow keys / WASD : Ship movement
Shift / Q : Shoot
Enter / Space / E : Absorb
M : Mute


-= Tools =-
- Language : ActionScript 3
- Library : FlashPunk - Mochi Scores API
- Graphic : GIMP, MS Paint and Pyxel Edit
- Audio : FL Studio && as3sfxr


-= Tips =-
- You can recover you life by "absorbing" things on the ground, press Enter/Space/E.
- The game is more fun after the first level :)



Enjoy & thanks for playing :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#74Fun3.53
#111Overall3.51
#127Audio3.17
#224Mood3.06
#265Humor2.83
#266Graphics3.18
#510Theme2.89
#597Innovation2.37

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:20am

not bad, I liked the art style :)

syawqy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:52pm

i play till the boss appeared and died, the boss is really tough

noKid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:27pm

Great game. Even if it's kind of classic, that's perfectly done !

Cabral says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:31pm

It was fun, but it got repetitive. After a short while I had all the upgrades maxed out and more gold than I could spend, and the bosses are really easy to break once you have the vertical shots, by standing in one of the right-side corners of the screen where they can't hit you.

The regular segments were a bit more challenging, but I wish there were some more mechanics to it. The sounds and art were pretty good!

cooper6581 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:49pm

Really well done! Great job!

Alink says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:57pm

Good game. Looks too simple at first, but then the upgrade curve (slightly OP) made it more fun. I would just suggest icons instead of colors for the bonus (even if most other games do like you).

rylgh says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Cool game, more to it than it appeared at first. Took me a minute to figure out how to shoot (since I didn't read the instructions, naturally) - might want to go with Space/Z/X instead, Shift/Q don't seem to be used as buttons often.

goerp says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:08am

Quite a lot of types of enemies, weapon upgrades, graphics and music.
A pretty solid game.
I do agree with the comment for using icons for upgrades. They looked like coins. But the text revealed what the upgrades did.

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:57pm

very fun! however the boss seems to be too hard for me..

someone says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:05pm

Very nice solid game. Missed the beaming up goats to get health text on my first run. The game seems to get quite hectic fairly fast after the second level.
Couldn't buy a lot of the upgrades, they maxed out or something really early.

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:02am

Okay, the cow at the end of the third level was fabulous. I'm sad it killed me but happy it can now move on to the rest of its life, jetpackin' around light and fancy free.

The healing and upgrading added a surprising amount of depth to this. I do wish upgrades didn't max out so early, but the difficulty seemed to be pretty well balanced. I enjoyed all three levels I managed to get to. That's a lot of (fun!) gameplay for 48 hours!

Hatscat says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Really fun! it reminds me one of my own game (http://www.stencyl.com/game/play/15361) with more contents! :D

raincole says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:18pm

Very solid game. I'm surprised at that you even made the boss fights.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:14am

Classic gameplay. :) It's a little slow and repetitive at first. The different power ups were a nice addition. My favourite part was beaming up the cows and goats! I feel like that adds a nice touch to the game.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:18am

Great game, but I think there is a lack of cows / goats in the second level. :)

Neonlare says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:45pm

Good little game, this is. Lots of enemies and upgrades. :3

lotusgame says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:38pm

The number of features is incredible ! It's a complete game here, with upgrades, bosses, shop... Impressive to do the job in 48h. Bravo :)

TehSkull says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:59pm

Liked the game, and the art classic art style :) Only I would like to see is maybe a health bar for boss fights. Some of the fights felt like they would never end

AdricZero says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:30pm

Highest mood score I have given thanks to the great eerie alien music track.

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 5:19pm

I really like the difficulty curve of this game. You get a lot of powerups but the difficulty keeps up with you to keep it challenging. Really fun. The theme interpretation was solid, but if anything could be better, I would say a more creative/in-depth exploration of the theme. The goat mechanic was great.

h.attila says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Very good! Nice presentation, good gameplay, cool music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]