December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Evil Space-Hippie

by Pope PAF - 48 Hour Compo Entry

THE SMALLEST DOWNLOAD BUTTON IS THE RIGHT ONE!!! (Sorry) :D

This was my first Ludum Dare!
Actually it was the third or fifth game I made on my own I think. I used Processing and GIMP!

Controlls:

Arrow Keys: move
Space: shoot, buy weapons, start game
and Z

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#123Mood3.29
#166Graphics3.50
#171Humor3.12
#324Fun2.91
#364Innovation2.87
#441Overall2.83
#563Theme2.73
#711Coolness47%

Comments

Sam Driver says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:36pm

Good work! The blurring effect on forward movement is particularly nice. I didn't manage to destroy humanity, and was put off trying more than a couple of times by the unskippable intro text.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:58am

I actually went and installed stuff in some Ubuntu VM after not having this work at all on either Mac or Windows. Theme usage is a bit dubious but the graphics are certainly cool and trippy. Like the other guy I only tried destroying earth twice and then quit to not have to go to the whole sequence again. Trippy effects, not much of a game.

Cat Burton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:36am

I like the art style, and the movement/blurring of the stars is great. As per the other comments - I didn't want to replay more than a couple of times due to the long intro text.

Jiddo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:44pm

The graphics are nice and trippy, but the intro sequence is a tad too long for replays.

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:49pm

Requires java to run.

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:00pm

(After installing java.)
Unskippable cutscenes makes replaying a bit of a chore, unfortunately.

kannas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:31pm

you should adjust the unskippable intro, otherwise people can' t enjoy this cool game ;)

Gazok says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:24pm

Very nice graphics. And yeah, unskippable intro text :/

dekart says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:38am

Probably it's not necessary to repeat the text again on replays, but the overall expression is good.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:29am

needs music.. and a skip button

Mieville says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:04am

Liked the attempt to tell a story, but have to agree with others always going right back to the start when you die was frustrating.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:02am

The parallax effect and the controls feel pretty good.

Beanalby says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:20pm

LOVE the star effect, totally makes the game.

FWIW, your file host (file-upload.net) sucks. Following the "Windows" link shows a page with FIVE separate "download" buttons. One is real, four of them are ads. It doesn't give any indication as to which are which. Ended up clicking every one BUT the real download button. Next time just get dropbox & make a public link or something. :)

h.attila says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 8:18pm

It's a very nice game, but you have to start over from the beginning and sit through a lot of unskippable text if you make a mistake.

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Like Beanalby said, the download page contains five download buttons. I'm a little paranoid about viruses, so I'm not comfortable clicking a random one to find out what it does. Sorry.

I do offer free Processing hosting, without all those ads, at http://StaticVoidGames.com. It might be something worth considering, just think of all the people who didn't play it because of this but didn't leave a comment about it!

Pope PAF says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:46am

Hmm... Next time I will include skippable texts ;) and use a better file host :) thanks!

Pope PAF says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:59am

PS: Actually the smallest "download" button is the right one!

Dioiminik says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:20pm

I sadly didn't feel like attempting to beat your game multiple times as the intro is unskippable. Other than that the Game is nice and I think the blurring effect for forward motion is awesome :D

Cyboot says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:15pm

To quote your game: "Strange shit man!"
But really really good shit indeed. I loved the star-blur effect and the space flowers and the radiowaves and the earth, so everything :D
But I am not sure if its a good idea to play the game after smoking some of flowers, it was hard to do beeing sober ;)

And I agree with some of the comments, that there should be a faster way to get to the end boss, because after dieing two times I was to lazy to play it again.

I am also very confused in what language its written. Its not java but it depends on it. strange... Maybe I look on it later with more time.

But great game! Great Job!

PAFdelirium says ...
Dec 3, 2014 @ 11:12pm

A few months ago I finaly defeated the randomly moving earth; with the same amount of lifepoints as there were humens on it, as the firt one I know! So I can know say clearly: the finishing sequence works! ( I did not know that for too long :D )

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]