December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Plebs vs. Mobs

by Kurt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

DESTROY THE PLEB HOUSE C'MON DO IT
(By Pleb house I mean the house with the heart and health bar.)

Also, WASD to walk, in case that wasn't obvious.
Hold the SPACE BAR to attack! Don't tap it repeatedly, you'll embarrass yourself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#517Audio1.83
#530Graphics2.52
#530Humor2.06
#596Overall2.57
#623Fun2.24
#625Theme2.52
#639Mood2.21
#645Innovation2.25
#867Coolness39%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:47pm

Enjoyable romp! Really like the dynamic fire and the interaction between the agents, almost a puzzle-ish aspect to it. Plays super slick. Particularly like the whole "putting the fire out in water" mechanic. Sadly try as I might I couldn't seem to make it attack? Or not obviously anyway; prob just me though. Nice effort! -J

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:49pm

This game isn't particularly well explained. I never found the house with the heart and the health bar, I did get really confused about the different people. For the first few runs I couldn't tell who was on my side. And even when I could I didn't really know what I should be doing.

The graphics in the game are quite nice however.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:49pm

Very innovative, I like the idea of taking control where the AI leaves off. However, half of the time I had no idea what was going on. Also, the Plebs were very difficult to get past, and I couldn't figure out how to damage them. Fun, though!

jujule says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:53pm

I didn't really understand what was happening. I like the graphics and the atmosphere though.

Kurt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:30pm

Ah, sorry about the attacking thing; should mention it's hold down the space bar to attack; it was too tedious pressing it repeatedly! The house is in the center of the map.

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Plays rather nice, I liked the interaction between mobs and pleb. Enjoyable!

Cabral says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:07pm

This was way too confusing, I could barely play it. There's a whole lot of reasons for this; there's a whole lot of dudes running around and you can't figure out who's what, there's more than one house, there's little indication of whether you're attacking or not, you're not told what the items are for and there are empty slots, there's a gold counter but no shop... At one point the health bar of the house disappeared and I was even more confused (was it a bug?).

It's not necessarily terrible for a game to be confusing, but in this case I simply didn't have fun with it. The graphics and the sounds were nice, though.

Kurt says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:39am

@Cabral I assume the player can figure out that the guys who look like you are on your side. Gore (red dots) come out of whoever is being attacked. The house with the heart and health bar are the one to attack. The gold counter was meant to have a shop but I didn't have time to implement it. And the reason for the health bar disappearing is because the amount of health the house had was less than 10.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:05am

Somewhat confusing at first. If you require using wasd to move, you shouldn't use z to use items, it's kind of awkward. Aside from that, it's actually quite interesting, and I can tell a lot of work was put into it, especially for the 48 hour compo. Keep up the good work, but work on the intuitiveness of your gameplay and the feel of your game.

raincole says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:55am

the gameplay isn't clear. what are these items? how to get them?

SuperDisk says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:37am

No idea what I was doing. Controls say that I use space to use items, but it seems like Z and X to me.

RawBits says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:16am

I don't get what to do with the items and how to get more. Controls are very awkward!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]