December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Spare Pieces

by sauronz - Jam Entry

Credits:
- Programming: Erik Jansson (@CaffeineViking)
- Art: Sara Mena (@sara_coisa)

Intro:
You are an alien, and like all aliens your goal is to take over the small planet called Earth. Unfortunately, your ship had a few loose pieces (lol).

Leaving you, defenseless and unable to accomplish your evil task. You must find these pieces, gather matter from shops/banks/goats and then make Earth yours!

Controls:
- Move: up, down, left and right arrow keys
- Disguise: Z key
- Menu: up, down to navigate and Z to select

F.A.Q:
# What do I do?: reach the alien space ship piece at the end of every level. It's the blueish metal thingie
# How does the disguise work?: when you press the Z key it will activate (unless it's in cool down) a short disguise that lasts only a fraction of a second. It only works on the green enemies
# Green cop: walks randomly, will ignore you if you are disguised
# Sniper: does not move, changes his aim once in a while. Disguise doesn't work on him
# Arrowman: jumps over any obstacle, will always follow you. Disguise also doesn't work on him
# Where are the goats?: everywhere

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#113Graphics(Jam)3.50
#121Audio(Jam)3.11
#126Fun(Jam)3.00
#137Overall(Jam)3.13
#150Mood(Jam)2.86
#162Humor(Jam)2.60
#209Innovation(Jam)2.64
#242Theme(Jam)2.82

Comments

RobKat says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:18pm

Addictive and fun

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Great sound! Music had my head bopping, and I definetly heard goats!

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:37pm

Great title screen. Not sure what I'm supposed to do in the second level, though.

sauronz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:46pm

On every level you are supposed to pick up the alien spaceship piece, the blue metal thing. On the second level there are snipers lurking about, wait until they change their aim and run!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:01pm

Fun game. Came for the goats. Saw them. Happy.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:41pm

What a fun little stealth game! It got VERY challenging and tricky later on. I enjoyed the music and the overall feel of the game... and the main character looks awesome. :D

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:00pm

Nice! The graphics are well done, though everything is a little small. (Would have preferred the game to be about 2x the size as it is now.)

It gets hard later on, with those building-ignoring Arrowmen! Nice relaxing tune, too.

Fireblend says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:07pm

Pretty great! This game reminds me of an Inspector Gadget game I used to play on PS1. Great fun, and I love the style.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:14pm

Really nice graphics!

joyboxed says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:21pm

the game is really good, feels polished has nice mechanics and it has a badass menu screen =D

krutech says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:30pm

Nice, i liked the graphics here, so much detail on the houses. As for gameplay i, i like stealth!

good entry
cheers!
/bitslap

Master0010 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:06pm

I love stealth games, and this is a great one :D i would love to buy upgrades with the matter. The art is amazing, from the title screen to the end. Great game :)

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:21pm

I love the graphics, though the grey 'road' tiles feel a bit repeated. Doubling the screen size wouldn't be a bad idea but could pose a problem with some smaller screens. I like the stealth gameplay that makes the player wait for the right moment, but I found the Arrowmen to be a bit overpowered with being able to walk through buildings. The music is relaxing with aids with the required patience. I rarely found myself using the disguise mechanic however, and there was a bit of lag with the menus and restart screens.

~AlucardX60

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Enjoy it a lot! At the beginning I didn't know how to use the disguise, but once you get the idea gets better!

sauronz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Thanks for all the nice comments and constructive criticism! Upgrades were meant to be part of the game, but unfortunately we didn't have time to implement that. The Arrowman was meant to follow without jumping buildings, but I didn't get the AI right so it became "jumping" instead :S

iandioch says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:33pm

Really fun! It's a little hard to see if you're disguised or not, but it had some great strategy bits :D And bonus matter for visiting the goats was a great idea! Loved the art too - pixely but arty. The stone was a little bit repetitive, it might've been an idea to have a few different ground textures.

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:53am

Nice game :) hard but nice :)

Hatscat says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:06am

Cool game, nice idea

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:44pm

Simple and enjoyable. Good stuff!

dev_redant says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:10pm

Cool art style and gameplay idea. Music was cool. I enjoyed the AI a lot, by the way. Good job, you guys!

Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:33pm

Nice complete little experience. I might have added a more obvious indicator for when the disguise failed. Great art & sound.

df458 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:17pm

I really like the concept, but I think the difficulty ramps up a bit TOO quickly. The introduction of arrowmen in particular makes the game significantly harder. I would've liked to be able to use my disguise on them.

sauronz says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Thank you all for the amaiing feedback.


df458 we understand what you mean with the arrowmen, we'll have that diificult ramp in mind of future games. Thanks :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]