December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Aximilator

by VonZippenstein - Jam Entry

Story:
The Aximilator has crossed between dimensions into a parallel universe full of peace loving light ships. Someone needs to wipe that smug look off their triangles. Launch your targeting bomb bots and destroy these lazy good for nothings.

Development:
Had a nice relaxed jam. Planned on more features, as you'll see in the options. Spent the first 40 hours making nothing but the interface. Then another good chuck of time into nothing but the particle effects. Objectives, gameplay, and enemy types need more attention. Next time.

Hope you like it and thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#72Graphics(Jam)3.85
#118Mood(Jam)3.05
#152Audio(Jam)2.87
#189Fun(Jam)2.70
#218Overall(Jam)2.79
#291Humor(Jam)1.64
#296Innovation(Jam)2.07
#301Theme(Jam)2.19

Comments

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:56am

Loved the vector graphics style and it's all slick, but like you said above - the gameplay needs more work. I wasn't real sure what was going on other than shooting bombs and letting them hit ships. Super hard to avoid running into things but it didn't seem to matter. The core here is strong, you just need the meat of things like player damage and win goals and all that stuff. Good base to continue from and come up with a solid set of rules.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:41am

Cool graphics! Simple but effective. Got quite quickly bored with the game itself though. Well, I think GeorgeBroussard spoke for all of us. :)

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57am

great game; the implementation of the theme is very settle, but once you notice it, the game takes on a whole 'nother light; very interesting

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:01am

I wish when you came near the end of the map, the transition to wrapping around was smooth, would have given a real space travel feel.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:29am

I can't believe I actually had to install a game in 2012.

And it didn't even work. The cursor just blinks at the main menu and none of the options respond.

sanderman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:41am

I really like the art style and the particles. It reminds me of Asteroids somehow, only these shoot back.

As others have pointed out, the gameplay gets old fast without extra mechanics like pickups and powerups. I also wasn't really sure if I was supposed to avoid or ram other ships on collision course.

With expanded rules, this could be great. Kind of a shame that you spent so much time on the interface when it's only 1% of the experience.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:46am

Jiggawatt you don't use the mouse. I made the mouse cursor disappear so people wouldn't use it, but then I was afraid they wouldn't be able to see it when they needed it, mainly for browsers, so I made it visible when moved. You gotta use the arrow keys and enter. About the installer, last time I gave someone an exe without an installer from GM studio this happened: http://vonzippenstein.com/imagelinks/gmstudioexe.png

Bensonance says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:05pm

Great visuals and decent gameplay. However, its relation to the theme is weak or at least needs more explanation.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:13pm

Ah, okay. Now I got to try it out.

It might be Just Another Shooter(tm), but hell if it isn't polished. An entry that does only one thing but it does it flawlessly.

So, while I appreciate the effort in the execution, its problems are design-related. I couldn't tell what LD this was from if I didn't know.

Doddler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:59pm

The vector art is really awesome, I do like it a lot. It seems a little odd that you can progress just by ramming their ships, but it is a neat core idea.

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:23am

pretty neat little asteroids-type game. i liked the look too. i agree with others that it got boring quickly, though - it would've been nice to see more mechanics introduced.

Floko says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:36am

pretty nice gameplay and vector art,but the theme was impossible to perceive unless you read the description in the page =/

nice game,tough

AyCe says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:06am

The big + were definitely the graphics. I might have played it completely wrong, but it got boring after some time to fire seeking missiles into loads of enemy ships while your own ship is close to undestroyable (and that's good, since the amount of enemies is so high, strategy is pretty much useless here. But yeah, I definitely liked the graphics. Oh, and are you connected to Tunngle in any way? (cause of your avatar) ^^

Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:06am

Thanks for the feedback everyone. Haven't heard one thing I disagree with. Next challenge I'll try to do some better gameplay and design planning.

@AyCe, avatar is from faceyourmanga.com

fishbrain says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:18pm

Very cool asteroids-ish style - fluent and fun! Just need more to do.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:18am

Very polished looking, but as previously mentioned, the gameplay is quite repetitive. I really like the star field effect!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]